We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Whitehall Avenue, Mystic, CT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Southington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Last minute decision to hit the shoreline...room was very clean and spacious....staff was courteous and welcoming. The free breakfast was a lot better than the typical coffee and muffins. Minutes from Mystic Village and the center of town. The bar had good music both evenings and the indoor heated pool was great. It is under new management so you can forget about all the old reviews...this place is well worth the money. We stayed in a Inn down the street which was horrible and expensive weeks earlier, we will stay here from now on.

Room Tip: Happy with our room.....really can't recommend others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnmystic, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of you recent stay at Quality Inn Mystic. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    45
    54
    34
    56
See reviews for
82
58
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Dennis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We recently stayed overnight , returning from PA, and heading home to Cape Cod ...a good chance to visit Mystic and a quick stop at Foxwood Casino. We made our reservation on-line and then decided to read the reviews, which should been in the reverse, but in a way we are now glad we did it that way. After reading the recent reviews, we thought we had made a huge mistake in staying overnight and couldn't of been more wrong! Although this hotel is under renovations due to Hurricane Sandy, we were more than pleasantly surprised. From the warm and welcoming greeting upon opening the front door when we first arrived, to the night clerk that couldn't have been helpful in directing us to the ice machine in the morning, to the most wonderful lady who prepared an extravagent, hand made, breakfast in the AM.....we were in for a great night's stay. The front desk clerk was very warm and inviting. She gave us every opportunity to ask questions and offered to help find a restaurant to satisfy our tastes and also told us of the renovations including a new "salt water" indoor pool. Our room was as requested, on the first floor, large and inviting with a micro and small refrigerator. It was clean and well appointed and everything worked! Breakfast in the AM was a feast! In a temporary location of a part of a large ballroom, there were many tables and chairs...never the feeling of being on top of each other. The biggest surprise was the assortment of choices....HOMEMADE....YES HOMEMADE from scratch cheese omelets, onion omelets, real scrambled eggs ,sausages and HOMEMADE breakfast sandwiches with either bacon OR sausages...pastries ,donuts, and the list goes on! What a fantastic way to start the day and what a professional and personable lady she is who keeps it all together and full. Thank you for such a great AM. We checked out and told the same front desk young lady how pleased we were with our stay from start to finish. She was so happy and welcoming in asking us to return again soon...especially once all renovations are complete and we will! The management and staff should be complimented on their professionalism and their ability to keep guests happy. For those who wrote and said how dissatisfied they were...we don't understand why or what they were looking for. If we had read the reviews first, we would of never seen or experienced a great overnight stay. For us it was perfect and we do plan to return...thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnmystic, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Quality Inn Mystic. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and our complimentary breakfast started your day the right way. I will pass this review on to the staff for encouragement. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I believe this hotels is under new ownership, i wish them a lot of luck and success in the near future. I know remodeling the property can be costly and need a ton of time to re-new the property. that is why i am giving this hotel a chance. The room i got was okay, but i see that they have done important things first to the room, i am glad i didn't see any mold in the bathroom, the room were very clean with fresh linen on the bed, new blankets. the Ac was quiet and the carpet was old but housekeepers did a good job vacuuming it. The price of the room was reasonable comparing to nearby hotels. Once the renovation is done, TripAdvisor needs to delete old comments and have a fresh start so the old review don't hurt new ownership. I will come back in a year from now, i will judge this hotel once more. and i like to thank the front desk for being one of the friendliest and most polite in hospitality industry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnmystic, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review about you recent stay. We are happy to hear it was enjoyable. We have been working hard to make improvements and are happy to hear it is noticed. Hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Brenda Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel should be closed. The staff was always polite but the rooms were terrible. Tilet and sink both dripped all night. Mold in the bathtub and on the ceiling over the tub. Light sockets that were hanging open. The rooms were very worned. The breakfast was so-so. Very big room, and breakfast was around 3 walls. This room was very cool temp wise. The staff keeps an outside door open and the outside air come right through the breakfast room. The pool was very nice. Just recently redone. They shuld have put the money into the rooms.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnmystic, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for you review about your recent stay. I'm sorry that your stay was less than satisfactory. Please feel free to call me to discuss further.

Sincerely,
Brenda Ball
(860)536-4281
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This property has suffered in recent years, but is striving to come back up. I organized an event for 100 people on Columbus Day weekend 2013 and the staff couldn't have been better. We used all their function rooms and booked 50 rooms, too. Everything was great. The staff was wonderful, especially Joe, the breakfast decent and our whole crew had a fine time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnmystic, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Quality Inn Mystic. We are so happy to hear that your group enjoyed their stay. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We look forward to working with you in the future.

Best,
Brenda Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Its mostly, but not all, bad. Two major good points are 1. very comfortable beds made up in the 3 sheet method with soft linens and 2. the breakfast buffet is really good with eggs, bacon and/or sausage, and the usual cold items. And all the staff were very friendly. But the place badly needs updates and repairs. The pool had just been painted and reopened, so they claim to be doing renovations. There may have been some painting done in our room as there were drips of paint on the heating unit, drapes, bathroom floor, tub, etc. The bathroom light fixture was missing its cover. Our window screen was laying on the ground outside our window. The outside doors were missing locks and there was a wire sticking out where a keyed entry had been at one time. There is a restaurant on-site, which serves good, standard Italian fare.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnmystic, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Quality Inn Mystic. I'm sorry to read that your stay had some issues. Please feel free to contact me to discuss further at (860)536-4281.

Sincerely,
Brenda Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel us badly in need of refurbishing and updating but it was in a good location, the staff was very nice and our room was clean. The breakfast was good although it moved several times but there were always signs telling us where it was.
There were a lot of people staying there including several hisses so they are doing a good business even in its sad condition!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnmystic, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Quality Inn Mystic. The hotel is under renovations to be complete in Spring 2014 so hopefully you will give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,
Brenda Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 9 Whitehall Avenue, Mystic, CT
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off I-95 in Mystic Connecticut, the Quality Inn has all the amenities to make your trip a sucessful one! We have a large indoor heated swimming pool,24 hour fitness and business center. We have La Luna restaraunt and bar. Also we have a compimentary hot breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.