We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of 1833

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of 1833
Save
You added House of 1833 to your Saves list
72 North Stonington Road, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Absolutely Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Robert and Evan were delightful hosts. We stayed in the Ivy room and it was positively charming. The entire house being filled with antiques/collectibles gave rise to see something new and different every time you entered or rentered a room. Each morning's breakfast by Robert was different and truly "gourmet" in every sense of the word and Evan's commentaries during breakfast made for a delightful beginning of the day. One can't go wrong staying here and we look forward to staying in the future when our travels bring us to the Mystic area.

Andy and Diane R.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    17
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
106
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Evan, Robert & "Buddy" were wonderful hosts! We booked the Peach room and had a relaxing stay. The stress just melted away at the House of 1833. Evan welcomed us with gifts since my wife's b'day & my b'day had just passed. Evan made us feel right at home, Robert tickled our fancy with his wonderful offerings from the kitchen and "Buddy" is now a life long friend since he abducted our hearts with his friendly persona. The interior decor has a unique flair that made both of us stop and enjoy all of its wonder. A must stay if one is looking for a stress relieving wkend! Kudos to Evan & Robert!!

Room Tip: Peach Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Where/how do we begin to describer such a glorious weekend?

The innkeeper welcomed us at a late hour, and provide a birthday surprise as well! We settled in quickly for an amazing night's sleep - how could we not? We received the "royal" treatment - settled into bed with a topper so soft, sheets so fine and surrounded by such beautiful art!

Breakfast-- (it deserves to be called something much more - perhaps, Break"Feast") - The experience was a delight to the senses- from the ambiance in the dining room, to the gourmet food prepared to our individual preferences.

The House of 1833 decor is so interesting, the period pieces each with their own story, the lovely gardens - we simply must return!

Most importantly, we had the most our attentive hosts (and of course Buddy, to)o!

We regret that we could not have stayed longer but we plan on returning!

Room Tip: The Peach Room with its own private porch was delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Cupola room for the weekend, to celebrate our 22 anniversary. The choice of a B and B couldn't have been better. The home is charming; filled with antiques and collectibles to look at, at every turn. The bed was comfortable, and the room cozy and stocked with Sherry! The breakfast was so good we were wishing the wonderful hosts would cook us dinner. Can't say enough about how great a time we had. THe hosts, Robert and Evan are right there to meet your every need, yet they are never "in your face", they just have a quiet presence for whatever you may need. We loved it and cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

As mentioned in the other reviews, the hosts were amazing - warm, welcoming and charming. The house was great - chock full of curio's. Breakfasts were also interesting; something different each morning - from brushetta, to pineapple crumble.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stumbled across the House of 1833 via the Rough Guide to New England, while working out where we would stop off between NYC and Boston on our (still ongoing) honeymoon. And we are so glad that we did.
As some other reviewers have found, superlatives simply fail. We have travelled fairly extensively across Europe and the US and, without a shadow of a doubt, this is most positive experience either of us have had of paid accommodation. We were invited into Evan and Robert's delightful, esoteric home as friends, not as customers, from the very second we arrived. They are simply two of the most naturally hospitable and generous people we have encountered. Our room (The Oak Room) was a delight - like the house itself, full of superb period features and antiques, yet without any sense of stuffiness or formality: a place we felt immediately at home in and able to completely relax and unwind. Throughout our stay, Evan and Robert showered us with kindnesses: sherry and cookies in our room, a bottle of gorgeous white wine, a special dessert for after our 'Mystic Pizza' movie viewing on the night we stayed in - they could not have been more considerate and generous, or less imposing on our personal time together. Their signature cooked breakfasts were an exquisite start to the day. The gardens around their home are a verdant tribute to the love that has so clearly been devoted to them. It was a real wrench to leave.
We cannot speak of the House of 1833 highly enough - it was a pleasure and a privilege to be Evan and Robert (and Buddy's) guests.
Chris and Christine from Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

For the past three years, my partner and I have been using reviews on Tripadvisor to plan our holidays in the US and abroad. We have found the reviews very reliable which was why we were shocked that this B&B was rated so highly. We agree with most of the reviews about the charming personalities of the hosts. The one we had most contact with was very friendly and knowledgeable about the Mystic Conn. Area. But the place is a mess. The gardens were overgrown. The house was loaded up with a dizzying array of grimy antiques. The whole property is on the brink of decline (their website pictures must be 20 years old). Our room – the Veranda- was spacious, and the bed was comfortable; the bathroom floor and tub were clean, BUT the sheets, towels, and blankets were old and stank. If the basic necessities are substandard how can anything else be tolerable? There was also a horrible rancid smell coming from the kitchen that permeated the house. The downstairs bathroom smelled like a urinal. We didn’t stay for breakfast –as you can imagine we couldn’t wait to get out of there. We feel that we learned a lot. Usually when we read reviews if there are one or two bad ones, we overlook them – thinking they were written by rigid complainers – from here on in, we’re going to pay attention to ALL reviews. This was an expensive mistake. We paid $280 for one night. Next time we will make sure we see the room before we check in and give our credit card!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan1833, Owner at House of 1833, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We were so sorry you were disappointed with your visit to this grand landmark house. All of the photos are current and, in fact, most of the photos submitted on this site are from this past month.

These gardens have been featured in national periodicals and magazines from New York to Boston to Europe and in many books on 'English country gardens'. The creation of a 19th century fantasy English garden is a very studied one; which has taken nearly 40 years of 'select' gardening to develop (many of the featured plant material is comprised of 19th century heirloom plants and species native to Japan, Thailand, and India). This extraordinary gardening 'vision' and composition which does not depend on mulch and discrete shrub plantings and annuals is challenging to duplicate.

The home is filled with many of the original antiques; as an example, the original rosewood square grand piano in its original finish was made in 1833 and resides in the original 'music' room. This is the 'real' Mystic; filled with a rich, authentic, and vibrant history.

Fresh basil from the garden as part of a pesto cream sauce, Tuscan breakfast pie with fresh squash and tomatoes, our Catalonian 'breakfast bruschetta' lighty brushed with olive oil and primavera souffle, or our French stuffed 'French toast' with native blueberries and strawberries are only a few of the many 'kitchen garden' fragrances emanating from the master chef's kitchen as he works to create our 'glorious' full country-gourmet breakfasts

We do our best to encourage our guests to truly relax and enjoy this singular experience which is very different from a commercial hotel. We were terribly sorry these guests were not able to.

(As anecdote: the downstairs bathroom is available to all of our guests throughout the day, and although checked periodically...I can't speak to their observation at that particular moment. There has never been a complaint in this regard.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of 1833? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of 1833

Address: 72 North Stonington Road, Mystic, CT 06355
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of 1833 is A Greek Revival Mansion & National Landmark on 3 acres of gardens and fountains featuring a seasonal full-size swimming pool & including a full New England country-gourmet candlelight breakfast; all guest suites feature full private bath, working wood-burning fireplaces, air conditioning, cable, am/fm CD players, 19th c. antique furnishings...four of the suites with over-sized jacuzzi hot tubs and HD flat panel TV, two with private garden porches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of 1833 Hotel Mystic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of 1833, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.