We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average- a litte more detail sums it up...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaport Motor Inn

Seaport Motor Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Seaport Motor Inn
Save Saved
You added Seaport Motor Inn to your Saves list
6 Coogan Boulevard, Route 27, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
A TripAdvisor Member
“Average- a litte more detail sums it up...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2006

A long story.

We had stayed at the Saeport Inn about 5 years ago. It was your average inn. No frills, just clean basic rooms and friendly service.

To our suprise they built a Holiday Inn right in front of the old Seaport Inn. We inquired about the price, in which was outrages-!!!!. It looked quite nice, but not something I wanted to spend...

But to our suprise the Seaport Inn was still there, but in the back.

If you need a BASIC "old school room"- this is the place to go. It was at half the price that the Holiday Inn and most others cost.

To explain "basic" in more detail- bed, t.v., phone, shower/bath & a.c. That about sums it up. THough the rooms seem a bit olde,r they are kept up and spotless.

When we checked in the gentleman said we may use the pool and hot tub- looked inviting but we didnt prepare. Their breakfast in the morning was basic- so we went to the resturant- Jam i beleive- which was pretty good.

Overall our stay was good. The room was clean, and the staff friendly- expecially at the price. I cant beleive the cheapest hotel other then them was 139.00- and thats in Mystic, Groton and Montvile.

The city itself is great- we go for the casino's, but the shops, and the Seaport are close and nice to VISIT.


My advise- make sure you know what hotel you want to stay at!!! I looked online and the new hotel said seaport inn, nothing mentioned about the old hotel. - I inquired, and the housekeeper said they recently became the Holiday Inn. I'm still confused.............

We look forward to returning in July. I alreday have a room reserved- I've called every hotel in town- The highest was 259.00 !!! The lowest was 126.00. I am paying 109, plus the outragous 12% tax...

If your going to visit- you need a few days to see everything...

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    1
    18
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, RI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2006

We booked 7 rooms for a family gathering. At first we were all over the hotel; before everyone checked-in I had to demand we at least all be put on the same floor. The first night at 3am we were awaken by the next room’s television. Called the front-desk, they had them turn the TV down but not shut it off. We could still hear it. I now had 2 very awake children. That day I asked for the manager and was told she was not on duty over the weekends. Monday when we spoke with the manager we were told, "It was not a front desk problem.” It is considered disturbing the peace and we should have called the police. One of our rooms had the elevator bank in it. They paid the same price as everyone else even though they heard the elevator every time someone used it. The indoor pool had so much chlorine in it you smelled it the minute you entered the lobby. The kids all had sore eyes for hours after swimming. After, another family member addressed all of our concerns with the manager we were promised a one nights refund for one of the rooms. It was never processed. Repeated messages left on the manager’s voicemail were never answered. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2006

We have stayed at this hotel in the past and have had a very enjoyable time. This time was a nightmare!! We went to the area to visit the casinos and made reservations via the internet as always. When we arrived they put us in the back building! What a Dump! It was freezing and the rooms heating system did not work. We could see our breath in our room. Room was dark, musty damp and smoky smelling (after requesting a non smoking room). We left quickly as it was too cold to stay. It was horrible but we had no other options. We just decided to spend as little time there as possible. We returned later and were in bed watching TV and as we were getting comfortable we realized we had copany in bed- BUGS!! millipeds. I called the office @ 3:00 am and had no other rooms available. In the am they were going to offer a small discount $30.00. after much dicsussion they offered a free room at another time in the nice part of the hotel. We accepted but am uncomfortable even in that building now after reading about the rat in the pool. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. really is false advertising.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2005

All I have to say is we paid 139 dollars to see a dead rat floating in the pool. Needless to say we got a quick refund and went to the Holiday Inn in New London which was very nice. Take warning!!!!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2005

We just stayed here again, Veterans' Day weekend. It is new, clean, and beautiful. It had everything we needed to feel comfortable and happy. We preferred it to the Mystic Hilton, where we've stayed many times, so it's not that we have low standards; au contraire! At the Mystic Seaport Inn, we did request a room in and stay in the new building. We did not use the indoor pool, but were happy to have the option. A continental breakfast was provided in the lobby; nothing exciting, but cereal is all I want in the a.m., anyway. That and a cup of tea, which they provided. I recommend this well-kept secret. (Hey, I hesitated to write a good review...why not keep the secret? ;) It is a lovely gem at a reasonable price! (I do not recommend Jamm's, the restaurant next door!)

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2005

We booked our weekend trip on line and saw the beautiful new building, which we thought was where we were staying. Boy were we surprised when we were brought to the old two story tenament in the back of the new building! First off, we had old metal keys, not the credit card keys every other hotel seems to have now a days, and our friends, who booked the rooms with us only had one key! So we were wondering who would be visiting them during the night. The place was filthy, it appeared that, people were actually living in the old section with a small hibatchi on the ground outside their room, and lounge chairs on the side walk, with their laundry draped over it. The lighting was horrible, the rooms were smelly and basically 2 filthy looking beds and a bathroom. The girl at the front desk did refund our money and we got out of there in a hurry! Don't recomend at all! The front building looked fine, but the rear building resembled a "Flop" house, and did not seem too safe.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2005

My husband and I planned a weekend in Mystic with friends and our children. After looking at hotels on Expedia, our friend booked two rooms at the Mystic Seaport Inn. When we pulled up to check in, we were all thrilled with how lovely the hotel looked--so clean and newly renovated. Our rooms, however, were not connected to this building! We were given rooms behind the main hotel in a much older, delapidated building! The first thing we were upset with was how isolated this building was from the main building. We took a winding driveway around to a dark, wooded back area! We noticed that in the room next to the one we were supposed to stay in, it appeared that people were living there!! They had a small grill INSIDE their room and plastic lawn chairs right outside their door. Their curtains were wide open and they were obviously cooking dinner on the grill while drinking beers. After having much trouble with the door keys (not room cards...door keys), we opened the door to a bare basics, musty and damp smelling room! The room seemed tidy, but had none of the amenities that the Seaport advertised. Given the environment we had already seen, there was no way we were staying there!!!! It was a crime scene waiting to happen!!! We quickly ushered our children out and complained to the clerk at the desk. She was NOT surprised by our complaints in the least and refunded our money in full. This hotel is completely misrepresented on Expedia as well as in the brochures from the Mystic area! How I wished we looked at Trip Advisor before we booked a hotel!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaport Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaport Motor Inn

Address: 6 Coogan Boulevard, Route 27, Mystic, CT 06355
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Seaport Motor Hotel Mystic
Holiday Inn Mystic
Seaport Hotel Mystic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaport Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;