We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Oyster Club

Mystic Oyster Club
13 Water Street, Mystic, CT
(860) 415-9266
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mystic Oyster Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 82 Restaurants in Mystic
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The oysters were outstanding. The Quahog chowder was very good, thinner than what I am used to but still very good. I will order it again when I return. The Green salad with toasted pecans, Golden Delicious apple, feta and a smoked lime – maple dressing was also very good very fresh ingredients nicely done. The servers Amy and Sarah were friendly made us feel like we were regulars and were very knowledgeable on the menu. We will be back on our next trip to Mystic.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    66
    22
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A gourmet experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We came here on the recommendation of our hostess at the Steamboat Inn, who said that this was her favourite restaurant in town. It was full with a happy crowd mostly of local residents, but we managed to get a corner table with only a couple of hours notice, and from start to finish it was a meal to remember. The menu changes daily so there is not much pointing saying what we ate, but when we went there was a choice of four kinds of oyster and two of clams to start with and such a range of tempting choices that, as usual, we chose different dishes and tasted each other's choices, all mouthwateringly good. Everything is locally sourced or made, except the wines, but we tried different ales from microbreweries in Connecticut and they were outstanding. Wish we didn't live on the other side of the Atlantic from this lovely restaurant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were staying right down the street from this place and normally I would check yelp or at least google a place before I eat there, but we just walked by and liked how THE OYSTER CLUB looked -- warm and friendly, and when the sign says sea and farm to table, you can expect something good and we got something great. Oysters excellent, apple, pecan salad fresh and delicious, Coriander seared scallops with a Thai yellow curry, ginger wilted spinach, charred peanuts and jasmine rice - wonderful! My sister did not want to have desert but when I have such an amazing meal I really love to also check out the sweets. WE at the whole thing - fresh from the oven, Almond Butter cake with whipped cream and a citrus curd -- there was not a speck left in the bowl. This place is outstanding! I almost forgot to mention the great staff. Our waitress Drew (spelling??) --- friendly and knowledgeable and the other staff was nice as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield MA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good place to take a date!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were looking for a place to eat dinner, and walked right in during a recent trip in late winter to the area. Parking was a bit problematic, but we did find on street parking after driving around a bit. The ambience is really lovely, the menu pretty interesting. It was St. Patrick's Day, and the chef, cooking in this little kitchen, payed homage to the Irish in very non-traditional ways with interesting takes on some traditional dishes. We were told that everything possible is locally provided; and the late winter dishes proved that. The only objection we have is that everything was incredibly salty.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Atmospheric Oyster Club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Dinner here was very nice! Service was all one could ask for without being overbearing, and the food was just as good. The local oysters that were recommended were very good! We will add this as one of our favorite restaurants in Mystic!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mystic Oyster Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Oyster Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.