We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old, but clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Mystic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Mystic to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Mystic
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   253 Greenmanville Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Painesville, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“old, but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

This hotel got pretty good reviews on TripAdvisor & I was impressed that the hotel mgr. answered each review, so my husband & I chose this hotel on that basis. While the hotel is spotless and does have some updating done to the bathrooms & the lobby, it is still an older style hotel. It has a weird smell in the hall & rooms, which I think is a cover up for the fact that these rooms used to be smoking rooms. The bed sheets were clean, but looked like they had been left in the dryer too long & were very wrinkled and the bedspread was made of a very cheap material. While I would not stay in this hotel again, it was a pretty good price for the Mystic area, it was very clean & apparently very popular, as it looked like it was fully booked.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, We work hard to present a clean and comfortable room to all of our guests. we are constantly doing updates in the hotel and we are glad you took notice of where we can improve. With all of the guest comments this helps us on a daily basis to strive for the better stay. I do hope you reconsider and stay with us again
Terry Connors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    278
    145
    42
    34
See reviews for
336
198
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Stayed in a large room with 2 queen beds, one for our young kids one for us. Great value for money, friendly staff. The pool was a surprise benefit I did not realise it had.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Thanks
We are so glad you had a good time and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Amboy, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Lots of nice surprises. On a motorcycle trip, I had forgotten my toothbrush; the desk instantly gave me a nice new one. The staff couldn't have been nicer, good local info and tips, maps, and nice loaner bicycles to tour Mystic in comfort. The heated pool is a treat and the rooms are clean, quiet and well maintained. Don't need your computer - a nice one in the lobby for your use. Excellent in-room coffee, and lobby snacks and newspapers. Several good local eateries and great shopping walking distance away.
We were treated like old friends, and even extended our stay, with a discount, an extra day, and hated to leave. Outstanding stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Thanks you made our day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

My Husband & I stayed for 2 nights, basically only got to sleep there, as we were moving our daughter to her new place. For the amount of time we spend at hotel it was pleasant.
The Room was clean, bed was comfortable and it was quiet. Upon checking in we were given a coupon for 10% off at the restaurant next door, that was a nice surprise, used it for breakfast.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, May 14, 2010
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Howard Johnson Mystic
I am very glad to hear we were just what you were looking for and were near enough to get your daughter settled in.
please give us a call on your next trip to Mystic and we wiil make sure you have a great time once again

Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

On our third annual business trip to Mystic, we decided to try this location which turned out to cost a third of the price of the place we had stayed in the year before, and provided us more ammenities and more personable staff. Room was clean, spacious, supplied with refrigerator and microwave and a small safe (a real bonus when traveling on business). Free wifi connection, although not powerful enough to download a movie, was more than adequate for e-mails, etc. If they are not too busy, HOJO's will gladly accept the discount coupons from Roomsaver. The diner attached has a great breakfast menu, friendly service without a long wait. These accomodations are well worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did with your stay, it is great to know that we made your trip a good one
please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next trip even better
looking forward to seeing you again
Terry Connors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Can't believe I forgot to review this, when we stayed there. We were there in the first week of December, 2009. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and overall nice and affordable. The whirlpool tub is worth the upgrade to me, takes it from a basic room to more of a vacation, at a real bargain. The pool was lovely and well kept, and the location is great. The customer service was great too. Zero complaints, whatsoever. Definitely staying there again. Er, unrelated to the awesome hotel, the diner was poor to mediocre, but that was a whole other review...skip it and walk across the street to Old Mystic Village for food.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
What a pleasure to find that you would take the time to review us we are happy that your memories are good one.
we look forward to your next trip
Terry Connors
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capecod
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

Find something else to spend your money on.Mystic Aquarium is way too costly for the exhibits. We did stay at Howard Johnson's Hotel for our weekend and really liked the convenient location. It was very clean and comfortable. If you're looking for some down time, the pool was great! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, Terry Connors General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, March 11, 2010
Thank you for taking the time out to post a review of your stay in Mystic Ct and our hotel. I do apologize that the Aquarium was not what you expected and hope that the rest of your time in Mystic was better.
I do thank you for the kind remarks about the hotel. we work very hard to show our guests a clean and comfortable room and I am pleased we were able to make your stay a good one. Our pool is very popular and I do hope you will come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Mystic

Address: 253 Greenmanville Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mystic
#4 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Mystic 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming to Mystic, Connecticut? We have four words for you: go happy. Go hojo. Located only minutes away from the best attractions in Mystic (Exit 90 off I-95). Spacious rooms with all the amenities to make you feel at home during your travels: wireless high-speed internet, in-room safes, in-room coffee makers, hairdryers, refrigerators and microwaves. And let's not forget the indoor heated pool! Fitness Center. All you have to do is picked either one king size or two queen size beds. But why stay in your room when you're at Mystic Hojo? - Mystic is located only minutes away from some of the destinations best attractions: Olde Mistick Village (just across the street!), Mystic Seaport ( 1/2 mile) Mystic Aquarium ( 5 minute walk), Denison Pequotsepos Nature Center (10 minutes away) and more. In fact, many of our hotel packages include free tickets to some of these venues. And stay in touch with Hojo - Mystic year-round by liking us on Facebook or following us on Twitter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Mystic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.