We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Mystic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Mystic to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Mystic
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   253 Greenmanville Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Modest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had tickets for the Queen concert at Mohegan Sun. Most hotels were already booked.
First the positive: Very close to 95 N. Lobby is very presentable, staff were very nice and helpful. Room had good size. Room was very clean and tidy. Wi-Fi was strong. Room had a Jacuzzi.
What could be better: carpets and wall paper are tired and should be replaced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
hello and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. It is good to know that you had a clean comfortable room and I hope the Queen concert was great.
We are in the process of updating our rooms, we have just completed putting the flat screen TV's in all rooms and we are starting to paint and update the rooms. I do hope you will keep in touch and watch us get better.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    278
    145
    42
    34
See reviews for
336
198
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northern Nj, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I was traveling here with my three children ( twin 4 year olds and a 7 year old) as part of a two week vacation. We were originally going to stay for four nights but turned it into five since the little ones were having a blast. Check in was a breeze and they accommodated my request to stay on the first floor. In the lobby they have free coffee and tea and a beautiful fish tank which my children really enjoyed watching the fish as we checked in. We had a 2 Queen size bed room which was very clean and spacious. Everything in the room was clean and free from any dust. The room came with an average sized room refrigerator and microwave, which is always nice when traveling with little ones. We used the pool everyday of our stay and it was always clean and at a good temperature for swimming. By the pool they also have towels which are always checked and replaced when needed. The staff also makes sure there are no big puddles by the pool area and come to sweep the excess water down the drains The from t desk was very helpful with advice on places to go to when it rained one day. The Wi Fi worked great there were no problems at all. The location of this place is wonderful. Mystic Aquarium is across the road, Mystic Seaport is about a mile away. If you want to go into Rhode Island...Newport is about 30 minutes away . It is also very close to other attractions such as the Groton submarine base, Dinosaur Crossing ( The Dinosaur Place) , Ocean Beach Park , Denison Nature Center, and the Casinos. This hotel is wonderful and we shall be coming back again soon. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Mystic Area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
when we get a great review like this, it makes everything worth while. thank you you have made our summer complete.
We look forward to seeing you again.
the entire staff and management of the Howard Johnson Mystic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Price was great for King Room- $87 total. Pool could be bigger and was crowded for a Wed night. The worse thing was the pool seemed too full of chemicals to me, but I am super-sensitive to odors and chemicals. The room was good size, tv channels were good for my 8 year old companion too. Overall, great price for area and bed was comfy! I plan on staying here again for sure.

Room Tip: near pool on second floor was great spot for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello and thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We are pleased it was a good one. Our indoor pool is the most popular amenity we offer and it does indeed get crowded at times.
As a result the chemicals will disperse with high usage. we do keep a very close eye on this and assure you it is at the safest level.
we do look forward to seeing you again.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel was very clean and we actually got a non smoking room! The pool was pretty warm and I loved it. Also, the wi-fi actually worked there! So don't listen to bad reviews because this hotel is awesome!!

Room Tip: Pick the hotel that has mostly 4 or 5 stars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you it is so nuce to know that you had an awesome time, we look forward to seeing you again.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Very nice rooms. They had a very reasonable walk in rate. Room was clean and comfortable. Nice indoor pool. Walking distance to four restaurants. Front desk staff were all very nice. Had a patio in our room with walk out access right to our car. Only complaint is the AC is pretty loud, other than that everything was great.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. we are very happy that you had a good stay, I do apologize about the A/C unit and will make sure they all are checked.
look forward to seeing you again.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I wanted to get away for the weekend. Mystic was our choice of destination.
I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years. It is ideally located to some of the attractions in Mystic.
The Mystic Diner is a great place to dine it adjoins the hotel. If you show the cashier your room key you get a discount.
A good visit.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have balconies. Even though they face the parking lot I did not find i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are happy that it was a good one and hope to see you again soon,
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

started our vacation at st hojo's in mystic for a week long beach excursion --we then ventured to two other hotels == we should have stayed at hojos -cleanest, newest, and most convenient to I95 and lowest price Randy

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your great review, we work hard to show our guests clean comfortable rooms.look forward to seeing you again
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Mystic

Address: 253 Greenmanville Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mystic
#4 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Mystic 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming to Mystic, Connecticut? We have four words for you: go happy. Go hojo. Located only minutes away from the best attractions in Mystic (Exit 90 off I-95). Spacious rooms with all the amenities to make you feel at home during your travels: wireless high-speed internet, in-room safes, in-room coffee makers, hairdryers, refrigerators and microwaves. And let's not forget the indoor heated pool! Fitness Center. All you have to do is picked either one king size or two queen size beds. But why stay in your room when you're at Mystic Hojo? - Mystic is located only minutes away from some of the destinations best attractions: Olde Mistick Village (just across the street!), Mystic Seaport ( 1/2 mile) Mystic Aquarium ( 5 minute walk), Denison Pequotsepos Nature Center (10 minutes away) and more. In fact, many of our hotel packages include free tickets to some of these venues. And stay in touch with Hojo - Mystic year-round by liking us on Facebook or following us on Twitter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Mystic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.