We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Mystic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Mystic to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Mystic
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   253 Greenmanville Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
BROOKLYN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is our family's second time staying at this hotel. Both times we were greeted by friendly and knowledgeable staff, clean rooms, nice and helpful maids. The pool was clean, the room is spacious for our family of five, the balcony is definitely a plus. It is a place that we will be coming back to anytime we are in CT. The hotel is very conveniently located to a lot of activities, the Mystic Seaport being one of our favorite local things to do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your stay looking forward to seeing you again
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    291
    156
    44
    36
See reviews for
358
219
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I alway said to my wife , that as long as we get a clean safe room with everything working properly I Am Happy. So let me start off by saying this hotel met my criteria to the tee. First off they were very affordable compared to the surrounding area hotels. We came in early and they were very gracious about giving us an early check in. The only bump to this point was our room was on the second floor and there was no elevator in our part of the building. ( hotel only has two floors) not a game breaker . I needed the exercise lol. The room itself was spacious , clean and had all the amenities. Tv, microwave ,refrigerator,iron,wifi,and a jacuzzi.the beds were clean and comfortable and we had a balcony. The shower/jacuzzi was huge and not only had superior water pressure but the water was hot and stayed hot.( big selling point for me) the staff was extremely friendly and the hotel was located well. That said the hotel did show a little travel ware & tear. Given every thing in the plus column however this was easily overlooked. W were not in mystic to sight see the hotel but the area around it. The hotel just made sure that we had a good stay while we were doing it.
Summed up a little ware & tear, a little dated and you might want to stay on the first floor after main building. All together though a great value for a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay
we are glad the stay was a good one
hope to see you soon
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW HYDE PARK
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The furniture is warn and rooms and hotel itself in need of a renovation. They didn't replace our towel or give us new soap. We also thought they should have changed the sheets. Also Parking was an issue. We came back from dinner the first night at about 8pm and the parking lot was full , well except for maybe 2 or 3 spots in the back where there really wasn't alot of light and with a small child we didn't want to have to walk to far.
wound up parking on the other side by the the diner more towards the main road.
The only thing I can say thats positive is that its location is good. Right across the way from Mystic village and the aquarium. and not too far from the seaport.

So I would say not worth the money. Won't be staying at a Howard Johnson hotel ever again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I do apologize about the issue you had with your stay, we work hard to assure our guests have a clean and comfortable room, I am sorry we did not do this for you, I do hope you will give us another chance.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, CT, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was comfortable had a nice TV and WiFi plus the room had a porch off of it which is nice. The people were friendly and the hotel itself is very conveniently located for getting on the HWY and for getting around Mystic. There are also like three or four good restaurants nearby to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind words
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LITTLE FALLS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

For an older establishment, it was well maintained, pleasant and the jet tub was a real hit with my wife. We noticed that the place was at capacity or near capacity each of the two nights we stayed. Great location next to the Aquarium and only a short distance to Mystic Seaport. Highly recommend this Howard Johnson's! We would definetely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your stay
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARYLAND
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was a nice hotel. There is a really good Diner there and next door is a Friendly's. I easily walked across the street to Old Mistick Village.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind words.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRONX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had a few minor problems but they were cleared up right away by the friendly and efficient staff. Would recommend as the rates are reasonable and location just fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Mystic, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, I am glad we were able to make it a good one, looking forward to your next stay
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Mystic

Address: 253 Greenmanville Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Mystic 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming to Mystic, Connecticut? We have four words for you: go happy. Go hojo. Located only minutes away from the best attractions in Mystic (Exit 90 off I-95). Spacious rooms with all the amenities to make you feel at home during your travels: wireless high-speed internet, in-room safes, in-room coffee makers, hairdryers, refrigerators and microwaves. And let's not forget the indoor heated pool! Fitness Center. All you have to do is picked either one king size or two queen size beds. But why stay in your room when you're at Mystic Hojo? - Mystic is located only minutes away from some of the destinations best attractions: Olde Mistick Village (just across the street!), Mystic Seaport ( 1/2 mile) Mystic Aquarium ( 5 minute walk), Denison Pequotsepos Nature Center (10 minutes away) and more. In fact, many of our hotel packages include free tickets to some of these venues. And stay in touch with Hojo - Mystic year-round by liking us on Facebook or following us on Twitter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Mystic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.