We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cupcake heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bleu Squid

Bleu Squid
Mystic Village, 27 Coogan Blvd, Mystic, CT 06355
(860) 536-6343
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 82 Restaurants in Mystic
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Dessert
Restaurant details
Old Lyme, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cupcake heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Bleu Squid is great for lunch or a snack while visiting Old Mystic Village or Mystic Aquarium, but it's worth a detour for its cupcakes!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    39
    13
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OMG the cupcakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My daughter lost a bet and had to buy the cupcakes. $2.50 for sweet, scrumptous, soothing cake and real buttercream icing. The choices abounded.

After that, we had lunch, mac and cheese to die for, sandwiches oozing with fillings, delightful accomodating service. Quick, pleasant and delicious.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We knew this restaurant was located in Olde Mistick Village, but we still had a hard time finding it.

When we did finally locate it, we hit the jackpot! My spouse ordered the Lobster Mac & Cheese Sandwich.............yes, really!! It was served on a wonderful white bread. I decided on the Grilled Chicken Sandwich. Sounds boring, right? Not so!!! It featured lots of grilled chicken, huge slices of cheddar cheese, and sauteed apples...........all served on the most delicious multi-grain bread that I have eaten for a very long time.

Before we left Bleu Squid, we bought a loaf of that great multi-grain bread. They had several kinds of bread for sale in the shop and, based on the two breads that were featured in our sandwiches, I don't think you'd go wrong with whatever bread you decide to purchase.

The finale of our visit was standing before their cupcake display, trying to decide which goodies we needed to take home with us. We finally selected the Pina Colada, Blueberry Cheesecake, and Chocolate with White Frosting cupcakes. All were sinfully delicious!!!!!!!!!!

Bleu Squid is definitely on our "Must Visit Again" list. Between the sandwiches, homemade breads, and their wonderful cupcakes..........nothing will keep us away from returning there.

So, even if you have to take a bit of time locating this restaurant, we know that you will definitely have a great dining experience here once you find it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing cupcakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The grilled cheese was good, but the cupcakes were fantastic! My sisters and I all got different flavors and shared them around. For $2.75 you get an enormous home made cupcake in your choice of many yummy flavors. My sister felt hers was a little dry, but mine that had fruit in it was very moist.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, CT
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Awesome Cupcakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The vanilla cupcake was delicious and the coconut cupcake was very good. The Mac and Cheese was good. Nice place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bleu Squid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bleu Squid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.