We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy good grilled cheese sandwiches!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bleu Squid

Bleu Squid
Mystic Village, 27 Coogan Blvd, Mystic, CT 06355
(860) 536-6343
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 83 Restaurants in Mystic
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Dessert
Restaurant details
Macungie,Pa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Crazy good grilled cheese sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stopped here for lunch because They make Grilled Cheese sandwiches and cupcakes...that's pretty much it, but who cares! My favorite was a bacon, blue cheese, caramelized onion and tomato masterpiece. If you love melty, gooey wonderful cheese, stop here while in Mistick Village.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    39
    13
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, Connecticut
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Go for the Cupcakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Pretty decent selection of cupcakes. Had the vanilla / coconut - had mine been a little warmer prob would have been better but still pretty good for $2.75. Kicks "Yellowbirds" behind, esp., for a dollar less. Looking forward to trying the cheeses and lobster grilled cheese.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Grilled Cheese ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Best grilled cheese I have ever had.

Bleu & Bacon - Bleu cheese melted with cherry-wood smoked bacon, fresh tomato & caramelized onions on sour dough bread $6.95 The bread was grilled to perfection and the cheese just oozed out with every bite. Such a great overall flavor combination.

Very friendly staff. Most expensive thing in the store was $11, Lobster Grilled Cheese. Everything else is below $7. So a good place for a family to eat cheap (they have kid sandwiches for $4)

They are only open 10-6pm, so it's a good place for lunch or take home for dinner later that night. They have tons of desserts, cupcakes, cookies cakes, cheesecake etc...

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“It wasn't that good.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stopped here to pick up some grilled cheese sandwiches for the kids as it appears to be their specialty. The workers were very nice but food was sub-par. The bread tasted old and the cheese was not melted at all inside. Hoping we hit the place on a bad day(late Sat afternoon on 4/28) where the food preparer wasn't the usual chef. We may try it again next time to see if it's better.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville PA
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Yummy Cupcakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

My wife picked up 4 cupcakes from here while she was shopping in Mystic Village. She got the malt chocolate, mexican chocolate, red velvet, and vanilla. They were all delicious! The cupcakes were moist with lots of frosting on them. We devoured the cupcakes and will definately go back again the next time we are in Mystic.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bleu Squid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bleu Squid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.