We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Below Average Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Boathouse

Mystic Boathouse
8 Coogan Boulevard, Mystic, CT
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 82 Restaurants in Mystic
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Munfordville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Food, Below Average Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited the Boathouse for lunch after visiting the Aquarium. The restaurant was nearby and we were all hungry. The parking lot was nearly empty so we were unsure if they were open or not, but the sign was turned on so we went in. There was a couple at one table but the others were empty. Took a few minutes for someone to notice us and seat us. Our waitress seemed to be very flustered and confused when she brought us our drinks. Just standard sodas and iced tea.

The food was the highlight of the visit. I had the Seafood Fra Diavolo. It was delicious. We shared a bowl of the Clam Chowder. It was barely warm on the surface, but if you spooned from the bottom of the cup it was warmer. The chowder was very tasty. My husband liked his burger and fries.

To be dining in a nearly empty restaurant the service was a bit slow, but we still enjoyed our food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticBoathouse, Owner at Mystic Boathouse, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Michelle - I very sincerely apologize that you did not receive great service while you were here. Your experience is not typical, and certainly not acceptable. Thank you for taking the time to review us, and I apologize again for the subpar service. Next time you visit the Mystic area please consider dining with us again, as I would love the opportunity to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    89
    40
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Surprise, surprise surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Arrive dinnertime and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express next door. We didn't want to drive anywhere and wanted to have a few drinks too, so decided to check this place out. Did not expect much since usually places so so close to hotels/motels are sub par, but not this place..IT WAS VERY GOOD!! Th cabernet I ordered was really, really good for "house" wine. Appetizers were really good, calamari with thai sauce, juicy,not too fried nor overcooked and baked brie with fig spread,excellent. Husband had a grilled steak over salad with blue cheese and horseradish mashed potatoes, was delicious and steak cooked med as requested. I had the BEST seafood fra diablo I have had! The mussels were sweet, shrimp and calamari large and perfectly cooked, in a light plum to tomato sauce over linguini. Will go back when in Mystic.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticBoathouse, Owner at Mystic Boathouse, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks for such a nice review! I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed everything, and we look forward to seeing you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great casual eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and excellent food at this restaurant. Chicken burger was so good - moist and flavorful. Service was attentive and food was served in a reasonable amount of time. This was right next to our hotel and I'm so glad that we tried it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticBoathouse, Owner at Mystic Boathouse, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
So happy to hear you enjoyed everything. Our chicken burger is one of our newest menu items, and it has become quite a hit! Thank you for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You won't be dissapointed...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

... if you are looking for deliciously tasty food, refreshing cocktails, comfortable atmosphere, very friendly staff, good service - all at very reasonable prices!! (unlike other local overpriced places)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticBoathouse, Owner at Mystic Boathouse, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks for the nice review, Jeff! Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and we very much look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not a bad meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I find eating out in the USA more of a chore than a pleasure
I live in Cape Town and frankly we are spoilt rotten when eating out as quality and value are extremely high. Like anywhere though, you need to know where to go. Maybe I just can't find the AFFORDABLE fantastic eating experience in The USA
This resturant was ok, the food was ok and the service was ok. I

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticBoathouse, Owner at Mystic Boathouse, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
You've made us want to visit Cape Town! Sorry to hear that eating out is a chore here, but I hope you enjoyed all the other parts of your visit to the USA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystic Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to Mystic Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.