We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Boathouse

Mystic Boathouse
8 Coogan Boulevard, Mystic, CT
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 82 Restaurants in Mystic
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

While on family vacation we decided to eat here one night. The service, food, and atmosphere was all great. This is def a place we will visit again if in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticBoathouse, General Manager at Mystic Boathouse, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review! We would love to have you here again next time you're in town. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit in Mystic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    89
    40
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
markus2229
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“So happy to visit after a day at the aquarium.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I chose the Boathouse at random following a day outing to the Mystic Aquarium. We are quite happy we did. Our waitress, Katie (hope thats correct) was fabulous. I ordered a burger and fries, both were very good. My wife ordered a lobster, sans shell, she hates to shell them herself. This special request was handled beautifully and was plate presented in a humorous and wonderful manner. The side for the lobster was the fresh made chips. Awesome!! If you are in the area and hungry, stop in and check it out. A bit pricey perhaps, but worth it>

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticBoathouse, General Manager at Mystic Boathouse, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
I'm happy you chose us too! Thanks for your review, and I'm so glad you enjoyed everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“YUM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hubby ordered the grilled BBQ sandwich and I got the fish and chips. We both enjoyed our meals. The sweet potato waffle fries that I got with my thick slice of cod were delightful! The BBQ chicken was great according to my husband and he also enjoyed the homemade potato chips that came with his sandwich. Only thing I did not like was the cole slaw that came with my order. It was tasteless, gross even.

We will be back, if only for the fries and the chips! I'm sure the other dishes are good based on the ones we tried though.

Service was OK, could be better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticBoathouse, General Manager at Mystic Boathouse, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your meal here. Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. Ask for me next time you're in, I'd love to meet you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Happy find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Looking for a place for dinner that would both provide a burger for one and dinner for others, we happened on the Boathouse. We ordered the burger and prime rib which were excellent, and a turkey burger, ceasar salad, and Rhode Island (clear broth) clam chowder which were good and bread pudding which was very good. The waitress seemed nice but very inexperienced so the service was spotty. The place itself was comfortable and inviting, but I can imagine in the summer it might feel a bit chaotic. The prices were very reasonable for the area and quality.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticBoathouse, General Manager at Mystic Boathouse, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review, but this doesn't sound like us! We don't have prime rib or Rhode Island chowder or bread pudding. Sounds maybe like Riverwalk? In any case, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Mystic! We'd love to have you at The Boathouse if you're ever in town again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
1 review
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Been here twice and the food is marginal at best. Its too bad because the menu offers pretty straightforward family options that shouldn't be difficult to do well. Salad greens were rotted and the clam chowder was so thick the spoon stood upright. Service was efficient but felt like diner service with restaurant prices. We will not go back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticBoathouse, General Manager at Mystic Boathouse, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
I'm very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visits! Should you change your mind and want to visit us again, I'd love the opportunity to talk with you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystic Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to Mystic Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.