We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Inn in downtown Mystic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Whaler's Inn

Save Saved
You added The Whaler's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Whaler's Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Main St, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Paramus, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quaint Inn in downtown Mystic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at The Whaler's Inn back in August with my boyfriend and was very pleased with my overall experience. The staff there was accommodating, nice and the hotel/room was very clean. Our room was a Queen sized suite in the Main House and was wonderfully decorated. The bed was comfortable and the linens were beautiful, especially the thick quilted comforter. It was really the little touches that made our stay all the more special. The bathroom in the suite was very clean and room service was prompt and efficient with cleaning our room. I wish there was an on-site pool but we still managed to find comfort elsewhere. There also was no elevator in the building (I believe?) and so we had to carry all our luggage up several flights of stairs being that our room was on the third floor. This, of course was a bit of an inconvenience and the breakfast could have included a little more variety as well but was still quite good nonetheless and I enjoyed that the room it was held in had windows facing the street. In terms of the hotels location, I thought it was ideal because most anything & everything was within walking distance. All the restaurants and shops were a walk away and I found this to be very convenient and helped conserve some gas. This Inn is truly a gem and I recommend it to all!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    128
    44
    14
    7
See reviews for
57
201
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just returned from a weekend getaway at the Whaler's Inn. The first night we stayed in the Hoxie House in a beautiful King room with a fireplace, lovely, large bathroom equipped with a sizeable tub with jets. Our room was located on the top floor which had great views of the river and downtown Mystic. The room was clean and well equipped, but no small fridge or Ipod dock, but there is access to ice on the floor below and a radio and TV in the room. The set up of the rooms in this building are more like a traditional hotel. 4 or 5 floors with a hallway of rooms. No elevator that we could see just stairs.

Our second night we moved to the 1865 House and stayed in the Morgan Suite which is located on the first floor of the house and is street level. There are large floor to ceiling windows lining the front of the suite in the living area. You are able to block out the light and gain privacy by closing the blinds and the automatic curtains. There is also another floor to ceiling window on the side of the living area, also ground level, that looks out to the parking lot and across to the lobby of the main building. There are additional smaller windows on the same side of the room right next to the bed ground level, bordering the parking lot. There is constant car traffic on the main street in front of the room and foot and car traffic entering and exiting the parking lot on the side of the room which is right next to the bed. Even though the room decor was quite charming, the bath was very tiny and is located right next to the bed, which limits bathroom privacy. If you don't mind staying on the ground level and noise above, this room is nice, but be aware that you are right on the street and in the parking lot when you stay in this room. There is a flat screen TV which you can watch from the bed or the living space. The closet is very tiny, but there is a dresser for clothing storage if that is important to you.

The breakfast was wonderful and the staff was very accommodating. After departing we realized we left something in the room, called and they mailed it directly to us at home without charge.
There is also ample parking the in main lot with an overflow lot directly across the street. The restaurant Bravo, Bravo located in the hotel was also excellent.

We would definitely return, but I think I would make sure that our entire stay was in the Hoxie House.

Room Tip: Hoxie House rooms are great for couples. Very romantic. The views are lovely. The rooms do neighbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is centrally located in town so if you are not wanting to drive then you have found the place. We were never woken by anyone, had a great breakfast (included), friendly folks, internet to access, etc...

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and our room looked out onto the back parking lot. Not the best view, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I just recently stayed here a few months ago on columbus day weekend, And it was good. I stayed on the first floor in the nose?? i think... Anyway the room was pretty not fabulous though, I loved the breakfast and the service there was great, very friendly people. I will come back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Mystic for a wedding and stayed at the Whaler's Inn.

We were in the Main House, located above the lobby and right on Main Street. Even though Mystic is small, you could hear a constant stream of car traffic in the room. You could also hear every time some one moved upstairs, spoke loudly downstairs, went down the stairs, etc. The room was very small and uncomfortable; the mattress was too soft and worn down.

The room was also very hot. We turned off the radiator and opened the windows - in the middle of winter it took several open windows to cool the room down. The radiator also whistled throughout the day and night - waking us up over and over. That, along with the car traffic, lack of decent blinds or curtains, made for the two worst nights of sleep I've ever had in a hotel.

We spoke to the front desk about the radiator noise and they explained that just happens but they would "look into it" .. as if that meant anything.

The breakfast wasn't anything special. The restaurant next door, Bravo Bravo, was great for lunch.

The only caveat I will give to this review is - we don't typically stay in B&Bs or Inns or whatever. I would rather be in a regular hotel (both the Hyatt and Hampton Inn are located close enough to downtown) and get a good night sleep that be in a "quaint" but rickety old house. The only, only redeeming quality about this place is its location - very near downtown.

Room Tip: Not sure you can do it - but ask for a room away from Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Note: This is the same review I left on Yelp.

Having lost power due to 2013 Winter Storm Nemo, I can now write the review I have been so anxious to write since our power was restored.

What can this have to do with The Whaler's Inn? Everything!

We lost power due to the storm and being buried under many inches of snow, it wasn't easy to get out of our house, much less the street. Normally we would have toughed it out, but because my 90-year-old mother was visiting us from out of state, we felt we HAD to get somewhere warm...and at any cost.

Enter The Whaler's Inn. We learned that as a community service The Whaler's Inn was offering a special room rate of $50 per night for local residents who were without power. We booked their last two rooms and spent a very comfortable night at the hotel. The rooms were recently renovated, very clean, cozy and comfortable. The staff members were exceptionally kind, helpful and accommodating. The Continental breakfast, included in the room price, was tasty and the coffee was GOOD. There was nothing negative about our experience.

I wholeheartedly recommend The Whaler's Inn to anyone who comes to Mystic. In addition to all that I stated above, its location is outstanding. It's right downtown, within walking distance or a short drive to everything a visitor to Mystic might like to see.

My 5-star rating is based on their exceptional service and attractive rooms. I don't know what the regular room prices are, but I suspect they are competitive. Certainly they were a bargain at $50!

Room Tip: There are a few buildings that make up the Whaler's Inn. Some are more family friendly, others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Husband and I stayed here on New Year's Eve. The room was fabulous. We chose a room in Hoxie House (one of the deluxe rooms) with a massive whirlpool tub and a gas fireplace. We had a corner room so we had windows on both Cottrell St and the Mystic River, and West Main St/Holmes Street. It was quiet and perfect - we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Definitely go for Hoxie House! Best views and amazing rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whaler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler's Inn

Address: 20 East Main St, Mystic, CT 06355
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#4 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whaler's Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noted for having the best location in Mystic, The Whaler’s Inn is a charming historic inn situated in the heart of Downtown. Guests can easily walk lively Main Street with its specialty shops, fine restaurants & pubs, and scenic Mystic River Park and Bascule Drawbridge. The famed Mystic Seaport is just a ten minute walk away. The Inn offers uniquely appointed guestrooms with private baths, TV, AC, Free WIFI & many more amenities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Luxury guestrooms with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs & water views are also available. Couples, business travelers, families, large groups or lonesome travelers are always welcome. Don’t forget to check our monthly specials and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Whaler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler`s Hotel Mystic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whaler's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.