We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IDEAL PLACE TO STAY in MYSTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whaler's Inn

Save Saved
You added The Whaler's Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Whaler's Inn
20 East Main St, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Mystic
Cape Cod, MA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“IDEAL PLACE TO STAY in MYSTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights in Mystic at The Whaler's Inn and had a fabulous, relaxing and enjoyable visit. The staff was warm and welcoming and could not have done more to accommodate us. We were also upgraded to a king bed, which we appreciated. Our room (51) was spotless and comfortable with a great view over Main Street. Everything was in working order, we had a strong WiFi signal and a double sheeted bed, which we loved. Were it not for the amorous adventures of our next door neighbor at night, we would not have heard a peep from anyone. This property has a terrific staff, from housekeepers to front desk, all going out of their way to accommodate every request. We are not breakfast eaters, but did get coffee in the morning and, from the contented guests eating breakfast, it appeared that morning offerings were ample.

The property is located perfectly for forays to Main Street, Mystic, a quaint and enjoyable place to browse, shop and take in the vibe, which is authentic New England. It is also in close proximity to the area attractions.

I cannot imagine what more the staff could have done to make us feel more comfortable and I enjoyed meeting the lovely Nicole who was so very friendly and attentive. I've read many of the reviews here and most guests enjoyed the hotel as much as we did. From what I experienced I cannot imagine how anyone could be unhappy with anything here except that one cannot always please everyone.

Our bathroom shower was a wee bit tight, but this is a historic property and, having traveled a fair amount, we expect some compromise in order to maintain the authenticity of the building. If you could not get around in the shower, I suggest you go on a diet! I am not a small man but found it the perfect size and I did drop the soap a few times and retrieved it without any trouble at all.

I would heartily recommend Whaler's Inn to visitors to greater Mystic. It is a terrific place to stay, comfortable and well priced with a really dedicated staff of friendly people who obviously enjoy working there!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms were sold out, but from the reviews here, these seem to be the ones everyone enjoys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalersinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments and for taking the time to post this review.
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience here at the Inn and in downtown Mystic. It was a pleasure meeting you as well. I look forward to welcoming you back for future visits. Hopefully you will be able to try one of the deluxe rooms in the "Hoxie House" this next time. Happy New Year! Sincerely, Nicole - The Whaler's Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    113
    41
    14
    7
See reviews for
50
174
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a very relaxing stay. Room #64 was beautifully decorated with a fireplace which was oh so nice to relax with after a day of walking and shopping. Beautifully updated, roomy bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. It is in the center of town-very convenient to shops and restaurants. You may hear traffic, but the convenience of the location made it nice. They offer a continental breakfast which was ample in choices and afternoon snacks were available. The staff were all very warm and friendly greeting us each time they saw us. This is a place to visit in warmer weather...lots to see and do along the waterfront. We arrived late in the season, a day after the Seaport activities ended, but we enjoyed a couple of wineries, restaurants and shops. Very enjoyable weekend for our 30th anniversary!

Room Tip: Our corner room was large with 4 windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Reason for 3 Stars is the PRICE. The building is very old; you can hear everything people are doing. I could not sleep do to the noise but we stayed at the cozy queen room feeling like I was at a motel. The shower was very uncomfortably SMALL; the curtain kept on attaching itself to our bodies. Breakfast was just breakfast, nothing impressive. Again, it was way too expensive for it not to have been a great stay.

You are only paying for the location; which is perfect, walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalersinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Nicole - Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in a Cozy Queen room. Our sincerest apologies that you found your room's shower stall to be uncomfortably small. Due to the historical nature of our building (c.1910), the architecture restricts the bathroom size for some of our guest rooms. We do hope in a future visit to Mystic, you will return to the Whaler's Inn and try one of our many rooms that are larger and not as historic. Know that we are staffed 24 hours to assist our guests. In the future, if there is a problem with noise, please let the staff know and they will do their absolute best to rectify the situation for you. In regards to pricing, Saturdays are a higher price. But you will see it is very competitive with surrounding inns and hotels that do not have a “downtown location” or offer the personal service that the Whaler’s Inn can. However, we do run fantastic monthly specials and last minute deals throughout the year. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night while in Mystic. The staff was very nice. You can tell the building is old as the floors did creak and were a little uneven, but we thought that added to its charm. Our room was big and was clean and we liked how it was decorated. They do offer a continental breakfast which was decent in size and had a nice variety to choose from. There is also a restaurant attached to the hotel. This place is within walking distance to the town and all the restaurants and shops and is right next to the harbor and bridge that raises so boats can go through, which is neat to watch if you've never seen one. Overall would stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Whaler's Inn is perfectly situated at the bridge in Mystic. We stayed in a luxury room which had a lovely jacuzzi bath and fireplace. Our view was of the Mystic river and the drawbridge, but it really was a quiet room and I didn't hear any street noise. My only complaint is that the wifi signal does not really reach our room, but other than that it was absolutely lovely. The complimentary continental breakfast goes down well and the breakfast room was packed with people each morning. Mystic is such an interesting town to explore, and the Whaler's Inn has real history as well. Round off your trip with dinner at Bravo Bravo. It is superb.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the river and bridge - in October a fireplace is an absolute must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The Whaler's Inn is a charming wonderfully maintained hotel in downtown Mystic. Everything about the Inn is top notch; the thing which takes it to the top of the charts is the efficiency and friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Mystic, and the Whaler's Inn is right in the middle of the town and convenient to everything! Because of the coming storm we had to check out a day or two early, and the hosts were very helpful and considerate about that. The staff here is lovely and helpful. Our rooom was small but clean and charming. The bathrooms are great. Breakfast was more than adequate. If you do want to stayin the heart of Mystic, DO choose this Inn! We will happily revisit the Whaler's Inn on our next rip.

Room Tip: The various buildings seem to have different sorts of rooms; ask questions when you phone for a rese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Whaler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler's Inn

Also Known As:
The Whaler`s Hotel Mystic
The Whaler`s Hotel
Address: 20 East Main St, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noted for having the best location in Mystic, The Whaler’s Inn is a charming historic inn situated in the heart of Downtown. Guests can easily walk lively Main Street with its specialty shops, fine restaurants & pubs, and scenic Mystic River Park and Bascule Drawbridge. The famed Mystic Seaport is just a ten minute walk away. The Inn offers uniquely appointed guestrooms with private baths, TV, AC, Free WIFI & many more amenities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Luxury guestrooms with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs & water views are also available. Couples, business travelers, families, large groups or lonesome travelers are always welcome. Don’t forget to check our monthly specials and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Whaler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whaler's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.