We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's no place like home, except the Whaler's Inn.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whaler's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Whaler's Inn to your Saves list
The Whaler's Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Main St, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Pequannock, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“There's no place like home, except the Whaler's Inn.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Mystic than the Whaler's Inn. For close to 20 years we've been staying at the Inn at least once a year, but usually more. We started staying in the original part of the Inn and now try to stay in the Hoxie House where the rooms have fireplaces and Jacuzzi's. Number 64 is our favorite with corner windows and great views of the town and river. What brings us back year after year? It could be the location, what is better than getting up in the morning, grabbing a cup of coffee, strolling over to the river walk to relax while sitting and watching the fishermen, birds and the boats go by? Maybe it's the continental breakfast that always has something for everyone. Maybe it's the comfortable accommodations, spotless rooms and lovely decorating. Would it be stepping out of the Inn and being able to walk right into town to enjoy the special shops and restaurants, take the river taxi to the Seaport, or grab an ice cream cone just steps away? Perhaps it's parking the car and leaving it in the lot because most things are within walking distance. Or maybe it's our favorite thing, the staff who are always welcoming, thoughtful and caring. Although we go every year with our best friends for Memorial Day weekend and the best parade ever; our favorite time of the year is the Christmas Season. Maybe you will get lucky, like we did one year, to be caught in a blizzard! The roads were closed, but at the Whaler's Inn that's no problem. We bundled up and scooted downtown through the wind and snow for a lobster roll and soup at the local Irish pub, the only restaurant brave enough to stay open. Then we stopped at the candy store (another brave store owner) to stock up on sweets to enjoy in Room 64 while sitting by the fire. At evenings end we stood looking out the window at the decorated Christmas Tree in the green by the river walk and out toward Main Street lit with its holiday lights watching as the town slowly went to sleep under a blanket of snow. Nope, no other place will do when staying in Mystic.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    139
    48
    15
    7
See reviews for
59
214
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed in the 1865 building, in a "Cozy Queen" room. the room was indeed cozy, and on the small size, but it was clean, very quiet and not expensive. The linens were very nice. The room was slighted dated, but maintained, and in a building that looks like it was once a grand old home. The building seems to be treated respectfully and is in very good condition. The staff is friendly and accomodating. If you're looking for a decent place to place at a relatively inexpensive price (we stayed in February 2011), this place will work for you. It wasn't a luxury experience, but a good deal for the price. It's in a great location and is in easy walking distance to the local shops and restaurants. We recommend Azu for breakfast and S&P Oyster Co right across the street for a wonderful dinner! NYC travellers note: Though we were on a driving trip, we noticed that the train station was a 5 minute walk away!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Everybody I interacted with at this hotel was super nice. For example, I had a bad connection when I made the reservation and the desk staffer had to take down my information several times, but she was very pleasant, patient and cheerful about it. Also, we were waffling about whether to stay an extra night (due to bad weather) and the same sweet, cheerful staff member was very helpful about rates and availability, with no pressure on us to decide -- was very understanding about our weather dilemma.

The hotel restaurant was also lovely and the staff there was extra friendly as well.

The front desk has discounted tickets to the Aquarium, and in every way they're willing to help you plan your stay. A friendly face makes such a difference. The rooms aren't super fancy, but they're clean, and they clean them promptly in the morning.

It's just a nice little place, and it's easy to walk to downtown and historic Mystic from the Inn. It's also convenient to a toy store, a health food store, and two very good restaurants across the street (and more restaurants are a short walk away, across the drawbridge on the main drag in Mystic).

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Have stayed here often and always have a wonderful time. Location and views are amazing. This has to be one of our favorite spots on our Bed and Breakfast tour.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Such a warm and inviting property. Very close to everything - right next to a cozy restaurant Bravo Bravo AND a fabulous jewelry store, Northern Light Gems!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed at The Whaler's Inn while visiting the seaport and aquarium with our 10 year old. We travel a lot, and don't like cheap chain hotels. The things we liked about the Inn-it really was right in the downtown, a stone's throw from the exciting(for kids) drawbridge and all the cute little shops and restaurants. The room was in the annex, and faced the internal courtyard parking lot. We were on the bottom floor, and I worried about noise, but didn't hear any. The linens were fresh, tho a little worn, and the bathroom, while not luxurious by any means, was freshly painted and one of the cleanest hotel bathrooms I have ever used. The staff were friendly but not effusive or outgoing. The snack/breakfast room was very clean, with fresh coffee, tea, and popcorn in the afternoon, which was another big plus from my daughter's standpoint.
The downsides: room furnishings, bedspreads, and carpet were a little worn and beaten-up looking, and the bed mattress was awful. The carpet smelled very faintly of mildew. For the price, I expected a bit better. The breakfast itself was adequate, but just packaged food like at a chain continental breakfast. The coffee and orange juice were better quality than average.
I am paranoid about bedbugs, and there were no signs of any.
The restaurant, which I also reviewed separately was outstanding. Overall, I would stay again, but I would ask for a room on the second floor.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

We loved our stay at the Whaler's Inn. We usually stay at the Steamboat Inn on the other side of the river but there was no availability. So after reading reviews we booked the Whalers Inn. We were lucky enough to get the Hoxie House and room #64 had a great view of the water. We felt relieved once we walked in and saw how beautiful and new everything was. Truly a romantic and beautiful room, right in the heart of everything. I think the rest of the inn is basic, so if you can, ask for the Hoxie House. The continental breakfast was more than continental. It was ample, with yogurt and cereal, muffins, bagels, cake, waffles, and hard boiled eggs. More than enough.
My only complaint was the bathroom, although nice to look at, it was very cold in there as there are no heaters nor any vents from the other room to heat it up. Also the tub/shower situation is ridiculous. the shower is awkardly placed in the jacuzzi tub which is about a 3 foot climb to get into. No steps, you just have to climb in. It was ok for my long legs, but someone else would have real trouble. Getting out when wet was even harder. The best way would be to sit on tub and swing legs around, but there are no handles to push up and an elderly person may have trouble. It is as if they put no thought into the logistics of the bathroom, just aesthetics.
Still, I would recommend a stay. You can not beat the location and it is really lovely, just be careful with tub!
And make sure you go to Bravo Bravo and Captain Packer's - amazing meals!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whaler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler's Inn

Address: 20 East Main St, Mystic, CT 06355
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#5 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whaler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noted for having the best location in Mystic, The Whaler’s Inn is a charming historic inn situated in the heart of Downtown. Guests can easily walk lively Main Street with its specialty shops, fine restaurants & pubs, and scenic Mystic River Park and Bascule Drawbridge. The famed Mystic Seaport is just a ten minute walk away. The Inn offers uniquely appointed guestrooms with private baths, TV, AC, Free WIFI & many more amenities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Luxury guestrooms with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs & water views are also available. Couples, business travelers, families, large groups or lonesome travelers are always welcome. Don’t forget to check our monthly specials and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Whaler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler`s Hotel Mystic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whaler's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.