We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Steamboat Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Steamboat Inn to your Saves list
Steamboat Inn
73 Steamboat Wharf, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

Great palce to stay if you dont want to do much did shopping went to mystic pizza had great ice cream breakfast was in a room where you had a choice of bagels.muffins coffee you prepared and you were not waited on at all. a little offensive they felt they had to lock up things they had for sale in the hallway. I had good company and that made up for everything

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    81
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
272
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

My husband and I went with another couple to Mystic and stayed at the Steamboat Inn. We had adjoining rooms, each room had a fireplace (already stocked with wood) and a great view of the river. Very convenient location (we walked to dinner both nights and it was a quick drive to the casino for a few hours, the aquarium, and the seaport). Great place for a quiet and romantic getaway!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We booked the Steamboat Inn after being scared off another Inn by horrible reviews..(And after my husband called the Chamber of Commerce for recommendations). We had just a little trouble finding the Inn,,,and were kind of surprised at how tiny it appeared and almost "run-down" looking, but the outward looks are a bit deceiving. We got there about 1:00 after a 6 hour drive on Friday 10/23 and our room (Harmony) was ready. We were shown to the room by a very gracious woman and it was just lovely! The room is large with a comfortable seating area, the king bed, a nice sized closet, a cute little "kitchen" area hidden behind doors, a LARGE bathroom with a shower and the 2-person jacuzzi. (To be comfortable, you need to be 2 not very large people, but that's OUR fault not the Inn's) Housekeeping was impeccible We came back each day to find the room totally vacuumed, all supplies replenished in the bathroom, everything was spotless. The bed is VERY high, so if you were short statured, a stool may have been helpful, but we just LOVED it - very comfy, very clean linens smelling just ever so slightly of bleach (just enough to smell "clean") The room had a few little idiosyncracies, which might bother some people, though they didn't bother us....There was a loud noise in the bathroom - possibly from another jacuzzi? But we just shut the door and it was no big deal....There is a support beam near the door, and it is right in the viewing path between the couch and tv. But we really only watched TV on Sunday (football does not take a weekend break, in season), and we just moved the TV cabinet around - it was on casters and moved very easily. Also, there were not a lot of electrical outlets, so we ended up unplugging a lamp and unplugging the dvd player in order to plug in our cell phone chargers and the laptop... Other than the creaks and groans of an older building, and the very occasional footsteps from the common room upstairs, we found the room very quiet, very cozy, and extremely comfortable. We loved that we could walk to almost everything - restaurants, shops, views. We only took the car back out a couple times, to drive to Mohegan Sun for the day and to go over to Olde Mystick Village and the Aquarium. Thank you for a wonderful weekend in New England, Steamboat Inn!! We can not wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Steamboat Inn this past weekend for a quick getaway. We stayed in the Harmony Room which was very nice. The bed was big and cozy, the whirlpool was great and the room was very spacious. The only complaint we had was there was a loud noise - which sounded like a piping issue either upstairs or in the walls - which was VERY bothersome. It was on and off all weekend - but the worst was when it kept us up at 3am on Saturday night - we did not get a good night's sleep at all. We mentioned the problem when we checked out, so hopefully they will fix the issue. The breakfast was OK - tasty, but not what I was expecting from a "bed and breakfast". It consisted of a small table with a display of cereal, fruit, juice, bagels, etc.... all buffet style and no "hot" food. The location couldn't be better - walking distance to shopping, the river, and the draw bridge. All in all, a great stay!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Great place to stay when in Mystic. In walking distance from area attractions. beautiful accommodations and very friendly staff.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Steamboat Inn for our anniversary. The staff was extremely accommodating & friendly, the rooms were very clean and spacious, and breakfast in the morning was delicious. There are a few really great restaurants in walking distance, as well as some cute shops, and beautiful views overall. We hope to go back and visit very soon!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

This beautiful little B&B is right on the water overlooking the bridge over the Mystic River. The accomodations are superb and the staff made us feel very welcome. We'd go back in a flash!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Address: 73 Steamboat Wharf, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steamboat Inn, offers eleven elegant rooms overlooking the beautiful Mystic River. Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Mystic, Steamboat Inn is just steps from fabulous shopping and fine dining; just minutes away are The Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, Foxwoods Resort, Mohegan Sun plus four wineries within 15 minutes of the Inn. Each of our rooms are uniquely decorated with antiques and individually climate controlled. The rooms have private baths with single or double whirlpool tubs. Six of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces. Enjoy breathtaking river views from ten of our rooms. Complimentary wireless internet is offered throughout the Inn. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning in our common room or stop by in the evening for our delicious cookies and sherry! Awarded "most unique setting" two years in a row by Llannier Bed and Breakfast - chosen by the guests of over 8,500 B&B's worldwide. Be among the guests who visit Steamboat year after year, what are you waiting for come explore Steamboat Inn today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Steamboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Mystic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steamboat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.