We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steamboat Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Steamboat Inn to your Saves list
Steamboat Inn
73 Steamboat Wharf, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Cozy and Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

We stayed in the off season but had a lovely view of the river and the holiday lights across the river. It was nice to have a wood burning fire place. There were a few rooms available and we chose ours but all of the rooms we looked at were fairly large. All of the rooms that we saw had a nice sitting area by the fire place. It was nicely decorated. A generous continental breakfast was provided--including delicious cranberry muffins. The inn could not be more centrally located. It is right in the center of town next to the drawbridge. We walked everywhere--including to Mystic Seaport.

  • Liked — Charm and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    78
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
246
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

We just went to the Steamboat Inn on Dec. 7 of this year, it was our 8th time there. We love the Inn and love Mystic CT. Every time we go it's an incredible experience, the rooms are lovely, the view of the river is amazing, and all the shopping and dining, so much to do. We have stayed at other Inns in the area and were really disappointed (The Whalers Inn) The Steamboat Inn will not disappoint. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean, and the breakfast is good (Muffins,cereal,toast,bagels,fresh fruit) We have already booked for Feb 08.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2007

I am a repeat customer at Steamboat Inn. This year, I booked a room but got very sick and could not go. I called to cancel 3 days in advance, and was told that their cancellation policy requires at least 5 days. I got no refund, and the owners refused to even let me rebook for another date or give me discount towards next stay. Very unfair and a bad way to do business, especially for a luxury boutique hotel! The "deposit" they charged me was full rate for the stay

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KABLOCK, Innkeeper/Manager at Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2007
We have a strict five (5) day cancellation policy that is posted on our web site. We take the first night as a deposit, two months prior to the arrival date. As long as we are notified five days prior to the date of arrival our guests may cancel or change their reservation without any penalty and will receive a full refund of their deposit. All of this is explained in detail over the phone at the time of booking. We then email or mail a written confirmation clearly stating the policy along with other pertinent information for the guests' upcoming stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

The room was lovely and romantic. Breakfast was simple, but good, and the staff all very friendly. Perfect location for walking to shops and restaurants.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

Wow, what a great place to stay in Mystic, CT. The help was friendly, the food and service provided for breakfast sets themselves far better than most national hotel chains.

The room had a king sized bed with new sheets, bedspread, lots of pillows and was comfortably set in front of an entertainment center that held a TV and DVD player. But those items weren't the best things in the room. It was the real wood fireplace and view out the window to a large Christmas tree decorated for the holidays that really set this location apart from anything else we had seen in Mystic.

When traveling we rarely consider going to the same place twice since their are so many great places to see. We will return to the Steamboat Inn at Mystic, CT it made all of the difference.

  • Liked — The view from the room overlooking the harbor and the real wood fireplace.
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was a great place.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, UT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

My spouse and I stayed for three nights and tried out three rooms (our choice). The location is ideal for the surrounding shopping, dining, museums, and water attractions (the draw bridge right outside the back door was intriguing).

Two of the three rooms exceeded my expectations, with fantastic views of the river, cozy yet well laid out rooms, and clean quarters. Of these two, we most enjoyed the Annie Wilcox room, followed by the Summer Girl room. And don't let the names throw you. They are names of boats that have docked at the Steamboat Inn.

The third room (Valiant), which was significantly smaller with fewer amenities than the other two (no tub, no fireplace), was priced as high as the better rooms. The jetted shower was awkward and leaked through the door. This room needs to be improved or priced appropriately.

The staff was quite accommodating and responsive to our requests. The dining area is clean and comfortable, with tasty continental breakfast pastries and drinks. It is open 24-7 with drinks and cookies.

If you plan a trip to Connecticut or Rhode Island, and want some quiet, comfortable time with your significant other in a beautiful location, I highly recommend the Steamboat Inn in Mystic.

  • Liked — River vista
  • Disliked — Internet service never worked.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

We recently stayed at the Steamboat Inn for a long weekend and I can't believe how wonderful it was. The location is perfect...located right downtown near all the shops and restaurants and it is the only property right on the water. The views were so pretty. We stayed in Room #7 and Room #2 (Room #7 wasn't available for our 3rd night there). Room#7 was huge. If you want a lot of space, I would definitely recommend this room. Room#2 was smaller than Room#7, but was my favorite of the 2 because of the decor and views (It is on the 2nd Floor). We originally had reservations at another property in Mystic, but after reading reviews about this place, we made reservations here and I'm so happy we did. The staff here was really courteous and polite and made us feel at home. We were concerned about the noise from the drawbridge, which is right around the corner, but we didn't notice it after the first time. Also, the coffee in the morning in the common room is really good :)
I would definitely recommend staying at the Steamboat Inn and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Address: 73 Steamboat Wharf, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steamboat Inn, offers eleven elegant rooms overlooking the beautiful Mystic River. Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Mystic, Steamboat Inn is just steps from fabulous shopping and fine dining; just minutes away are The Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, Foxwoods Resort, Mohegan Sun plus four wineries within 15 minutes of the Inn. Each of our rooms are uniquely decorated with antiques and individually climate controlled. The rooms have private baths with single or double whirlpool tubs. Six of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces. Enjoy breathtaking river views from ten of our rooms. Complimentary wireless internet is offered throughout the Inn. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning in our common room or stop by in the evening for our delicious cookies and sherry! Awarded "most unique setting" two years in a row by Llannier Bed and Breakfast - chosen by the guests of over 8,500 B&B's worldwide. Be among the guests who visit Steamboat year after year, what are you waiting for come explore Steamboat Inn today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Steamboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Mystic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steamboat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.