We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for Nearby Attractions - OK Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Hendel Drive, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Mystic
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good Location for Nearby Attractions - OK Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hotel is at a good location for visiting the Mystic area, front desk staff was friendly and helpful (there was a problem with the room), complimentary breakfast was standard Hampton fare but staff had a difficult time keeping up with 2 bus loads of guests all dining at the same time before departing. View from the room was not great (overlooking a trailer park) and we did have a problem with the room which took quite some time to remedy (no other rooms available). Overall an average Hampton experience at this location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    210
    37
    15
    6
See reviews for
255
189
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

the hotel owners seem proud of its cleanliness, and it was indeed spotless. but i left the place feeling that it was "small": we had a 2-queen room, but i think these were two full beds, not queen-size. the room itself was more-or-less the size of the beds, with no much extra space. the pool was really tiny (and, btw, the smell of chlorine was exceptionally strong, and the water were opaque). and the dining room was way too small for all the guests, and we had to wait 15 minutes to find a table. It later turned out that there is extra sitting space elsewhere, but there was no staff member to let us know about it in the 15 minutes we were standing there, and the sign with this information was not conspicuous).
given that there are more affordable options in the area, we will not be back,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night due to its low price via AAA and its proximity to Foxwoods Casino. I was amazed to hear the hotel was opened a little over four years ago. Everything about it appears brand new. From the cleanliness of the rooms to the very personable staff everything was what you would expect from a Hampton Inn. I would definitely stay here again but only in the off season due to the amount of kids they must get here in the summer months. I stayed the night after Christmas and there were kids all over the place but I can't say anything bad about the hotel because of that, they just appeared to be families traveling for the holiday. One thing I must mention is that the complimentary breakfast was top notch. Even though there were so many people eating, the breakfast area was constantly being stocked with fresh food. Plus this was the first hotel I stayed in that had French toast sticks.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel is pretty much right off the highway (read just far enough away so road noise isn't a problem). The building itself is very clean throughout and smartly furnished. The front desk staff were friendly and they got me into my assigned room quickly. My two queen room included a flat screen TV, a writing desk, a closet with full mirror and a full bathroom (shower/tub). The room also included a coffee machine tucked under the sink. It included a mix of off-brand coffees (regular and decaf). I would have preferred to have some tea included, but couldn't complain too much as a more robust complimentary offering of coffee and teas are always available in the lobby downstairs. The hotel also offers a business center (two computers), a cozy workout room (a few machines), and an indoor pool.

The only things that bothered me during my stay was my first impressions of the duvets they have on their beds (they have these large dimples sewn into them) which gives the mistaken impression of a lumpy bed. This is not the sort of bedding I would choose for guests, but their hands may be tied by the Hilton franchise. I also found the sticky notes left on the bed indicating the sheets and duvets are washed fresh for every guest tacky (though I suspect again this is a Hilton regulation).

All-in-all this hotel should certainly be on your short-list of hotels to use when visiting Mystic.

Room Tip: This is a pet friendly hotel. You may run into leashed dogs throughout the property. If you are sens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is probably the nicest Hampton Inn we've stayed at, and we've been at very many throughout the country. The staff was very professional and helpful, and our thanks to April for upgrading us to a very nice suite. The location was perfect for visiting the sights of Mystic, as well as Stonington, CT, Westerly and Watch Hill, RI. The breakfast was the standard Hampton Inn buffet, with one unfortunate exception -- there was no fresh fruit salad. Instead, they only offered a processed fruit cup in a small plastic package that we had no appetite for. Luckily, there were some fresh bananas and apples that we were able to cut up. Hopefully, the hotel management will reconsider its offering of the prepackaged fruit cup and replace it with a fresh fruit salad like almost every other Hampton Inn provides.

Room Tip: If the hotel is not busy, ask if they will upgrade you to a suite at no extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great facilities. Front desk and housekeeping staff are competent and pleasant. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Good location to visit mystic seaport village (10 minute walk) or the seaport itself (about 10 minutes further) mini gym was updated during my stay. It was adequate before but is very comprehensive now. Good location for running. If there is an issue it would be the lack of a Laundromat however There's one about 3 minutes away (closes at 8) and another over at mystic village. This was an advantage. You could visit the shops in between washing. Right off the highway and just a few miles from crystal mall.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was a convenient place to stay right off I 95. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Room was immaculately clean, as was the fitness room and the breakfast room. Lots of choices for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic

Address: 6 Hendel Drive, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic Hotel Mystic
Hampton Inn And Suites Mystic
Hampton Inn Mystic
Hampton Inn Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.