We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly highly disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Whitehall Mansion Inn

Save Saved
You added Whitehall Mansion Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitehall Mansion Inn
42 Whitehall Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Mystic B&B and Inns
West Islip, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Highly highly disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

It was in the parking lot of a Residence Inn and didn’t have an inn keeper. We had to walk to the actual hotel every time we needed something. This was not apparent on their website. You also can't tell from their website that the place looks and feels like a haunted house.

The rooms smelled horribly like the fireplace that was in it. There were stains on our sheets and comforter. The bed shirt had clumps of dust and hair on it from not being washed in who knows how long. The floors were old, extremely creaky and warped, and the finish was worn away. The TV had only about 5-10 channels and the “couch” was big enough for one person. And don’t get me started on the bathroom.

The breakfast consisted of 2 apples, 2 muffins and some granola bars left on a table in the main living room for the residents of the entire house to share. We walked to the hotel each day to get a real breakfast.

That’s just part of our compalins… and we had to wait 3 days before we were even able to talk to a manager about the problem. He was however, extremely nice, very apologetic and gave us a discount.

But needless to say we tried to stay about from the room as much as possible and only went back to sleep. It ruined our weekend away since we weren’t able to relax comfortably after being out sightseeing all day.

Room Tip: Stay at a regular hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

It was in the parking lot of a Residence Inn. the airconditioning did not work - No ice - No breakfast - nothing Actually cancelled reservation after one night and left and found another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whgecomm, General Manager at Whitehall Mansion Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear KFabre:
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to the Whitehall Mansion. I'm sorry to read it wasn't what you expected. The Whitehall Mansion dates back to 1771 and is now a fully restored, five bedroom New England inn.

Upon check-in, guests receive a complimentary bottle of wine from a local winery along with a cheese platter. A complimentary continental breakfast is also served each morning in the common area of the Mansion. Guests of the Whitehall Mansion also get the full benefits of the Marriott Residence Inn amenities, including a full complimentary breakfast buffet, evening social dinners, indoor pool, fitness facilities, outdoor patio, and game room.

The Whitehall Mansion is not your typical hotel and is not suitable for children. However, if you are looking to stay in a quaint New England inn we hope our Tripadvisor community would consider the Whitehall Mansion.

Thank you again for your feedback

Scott Barlow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

It was an interesting place to stay. The room was spacious and interestingly decorated but I think it has been a victim of some neglect. First off, it's an old mansion so it has a lot of loose floorboards but the bathroom needed a lot of work; it was updated and retrofitted so I wasn't expecting the best but the tiles needed to be cleaned and the grout was black in places. The shower curtain was covered in mildew and soap scum. The bath/shower/whirlpool tub was in bad shape. The whirlpool worked but the button was missing to activate the jets. I think it is time to put some tile in there because water dripping on wooden floor made the bathroom smell like it was decaying. It's connected to the Residence Inn and the staff there were not very helpful that night but they did offer a discount when we complained. The night we stayed their hotel pool/whirlpool heater was not working; although we asked on the phone if it was. We were given a free night so I am going to just write this off as one bad night for them and hope for the best next time. They might want to get a psychic too in there because the place was a paranormal circus..but that of course is not the hotels fault.

Room Tip: you might want to see the room before you stay in the mansion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whgecomm, General Manager at Whitehall Mansion Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Nullion12:
I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I apologize that we fell short and did not meet your expectations. The Whitehall Mansion is over 240 years old, and our guests will experience some creaking in the floors, from time to time. Your feedback is valued and I will share your comments with our Staff. I will review the areas mentioned where we fell short; specifically with our Maintenance and Housekeeping Departments.

Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you return to Mystic. I would like to make sure your next visit is exceptional.

Scott Barlow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightstown, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The website would have you believe this is a quaint B&B found inm much of Mystic, not an older house in the middle of a parking lot. The building itself was OK, the tile by the tub was in horrible dissarray and moldy; the worst part of it was that we were quoted $71 per night, they charged us over $90 per night. NEVER going back...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

Although the property is gorgeous on its own the surrounding businesses take away from its natural beauty! The plus side about it is we git to have breakfast at the hotel and use the amenities. The free bottle of wine is great. We sat by the fireplace and talked during the night.its so peacuful the house is definetely a treasure on its own. They might want to invest in putting mini fridges in the room because the ice machine in the living area doesn't work and they had to deliver ice each time. This place is for someone who appreciates the beauty of history and will appreciate the quiet. I loved it

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

So, the Inn is actually part of the Marriott Residence Inn complex and pretty much is in the parking lot. Not a great sign as we drove up, but overall it was pretty positive.

The man who was working check-in was a little impatient and rude, especially after we pointed out that he hadn't quoted us the appropriate discount rate for the wedding we were attending. But he did explain all the Marriott facilities we had access to (pool, vending, breakfast & coffee) so that was good.

The room itself was adorable - old fashioned and definitely designed for romantic couples time with a fireplace & jacuzzi tub. The bed was fine & the room seemed clean, although it had a different feeling than the antiseptic clean of normal hotels. I think there are 6 or 8 rooms in the place and a common room with another fireplace (and wine & cheese nightly). Everyone staying there on this particular weekend are old friends, so it was almost like being in the dorm together again but I wonder if it might be a little too close & cozy if it was full of strangers.

Like you'd expect with a historic property, there were some glitches - like a huge gap between my room door and the floorboards & the front door swelling up with rain making it hard to open or shut firmly and very little bathroom counter space. The A/C was a little overbearing, but then again thank god there's A/C in a 300 year old building.

One weird & annoying thing is that they didn't have any kind of Do Not Disturb sign so the housekeeper loudly and insistently woke me up after a long cross-country flight.

Definitely a super cute option if you want to go for the full on old-school New England feel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The historic building appears to be somewhat neglected and forlorn. The website makes it look like it's on a beautiful property. It's really in the middle of a parking lot. Our bathroom had crumbling drywall, and a somewhat dated looking jacuzzi tub, with one of the control knobs broken. There was an abundance of cobwebs and dust behind every door and under the loveseat. I really have to question how often and how thoroughly they clean the rooms here. Do they own a vacuum cleaner with a floor brush attachment?? There is no proprietor on sight, so you have to check in at the Residence Inn down the street. While free, the breakfast there ranged from only adequate to barely edible. The continental breakfast and wine/cheese "reception"there consisted of a cheap bottle of wine being placed in the common area of the inn... Not sure why they call this a "reception." There was no free wi-fi available in our room.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Lucy" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whitehall Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehall Mansion Inn

Address: 42 Whitehall Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whitehall Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehall Mansion Hotel Mystic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitehall Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.