We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Quirky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whitehall Mansion Inn

Save Saved
You added Whitehall Mansion Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitehall Mansion Inn
42 Whitehall Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Mystic B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Charming & Quirky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

So, the Inn is actually part of the Marriott Residence Inn complex and pretty much is in the parking lot. Not a great sign as we drove up, but overall it was pretty positive.

The man who was working check-in was a little impatient and rude, especially after we pointed out that he hadn't quoted us the appropriate discount rate for the wedding we were attending. But he did explain all the Marriott facilities we had access to (pool, vending, breakfast & coffee) so that was good.

The room itself was adorable - old fashioned and definitely designed for romantic couples time with a fireplace & jacuzzi tub. The bed was fine & the room seemed clean, although it had a different feeling than the antiseptic clean of normal hotels. I think there are 6 or 8 rooms in the place and a common room with another fireplace (and wine & cheese nightly). Everyone staying there on this particular weekend are old friends, so it was almost like being in the dorm together again but I wonder if it might be a little too close & cozy if it was full of strangers.

Like you'd expect with a historic property, there were some glitches - like a huge gap between my room door and the floorboards & the front door swelling up with rain making it hard to open or shut firmly and very little bathroom counter space. The A/C was a little overbearing, but then again thank god there's A/C in a 300 year old building.

One weird & annoying thing is that they didn't have any kind of Do Not Disturb sign so the housekeeper loudly and insistently woke me up after a long cross-country flight.

Definitely a super cute option if you want to go for the full on old-school New England feel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The historic building appears to be somewhat neglected and forlorn. The website makes it look like it's on a beautiful property. It's really in the middle of a parking lot. Our bathroom had crumbling drywall, and a somewhat dated looking jacuzzi tub, with one of the control knobs broken. There was an abundance of cobwebs and dust behind every door and under the loveseat. I really have to question how often and how thoroughly they clean the rooms here. Do they own a vacuum cleaner with a floor brush attachment?? There is no proprietor on sight, so you have to check in at the Residence Inn down the street. While free, the breakfast there ranged from only adequate to barely edible. The continental breakfast and wine/cheese "reception"there consisted of a cheap bottle of wine being placed in the common area of the inn... Not sure why they call this a "reception." There was no free wi-fi available in our room.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Lucy" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is not what I would consider a Bed and Breakfast. While it is described as historic, there is no proprietor on site to welcome you or answer any questions about its history. Apparently, the house was moved from its original location and now sits in the parking lot of a Marriott Residence Inn. After my husband and I walked around the entire Whitehall Mansion trying to find a way in and finding every door locked, we noticed a phone with instructions to dial 0 for information and that is how we found out we needed to go into the Marriott to check in and receive a key to Whitehall. Needless to say, this right away ruined the ambiance for us. The Marriott did give us a bottle of wine for our first night, but they also handed us a garbage bag filled with ice which we had to schlep back across the parking lot and up the stairs to our room at Whitehall. We did find the room itself charming and loved the bed, but the bathroom fixtures were oddly modern, again distracting from the ambiance of the mansion itself. The whirlpool tub looked discolored and uninviting (how about a nice big clawfoot tub instead). I read online that the mansion is supposed to be haunted by 2 ghosts, but I think they may have decided to go into the light after all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

The Whitehall Mansion Inn is a beautifully restored 1700s house with five rooms all with private baths currently owned and operated by the Marriot Residence resorts. On the grounds with their modern Residence Inn they also rent rooms in this historic house. We had one of the first floor units. Both consisted of a large bedroom with an operating fireplace and two stuffed chairs, a sink room and a separate room with a whirlpool tub and toilet. Our room opened up to a large common livingroom with a big gas fireplace, tables, couches, sink and coffee area. The entire building is restored and decorated to the late 1700s - early 1800s with unfinished wide pine plank floors (very uneven) period trimwork, paneling and panel doors. If you like old style buildings this is nicely done but be aware it includes uneven floors and doors and old windows that are probably drafty. The place has forced air heat (was comfortable)(and presumably air conditioning) that is pushed with a fan that runs 24/7. This fan provides background white noise that drowned out the fact that you are close to a busy highway and we heard very little from the other four guest rooms. We had no trouble adjusting and sleeping with this fan background noise. The rooms were clean and the sheets were exquisite. Our tub had some loose tiles. Wifi worked well. This was an anniversary trip and we found the working fireplaces made for a romantic setting.

They brought coffee, fruit, yogurt and muffins to the common livingroom in the morning and we had the ability to go to the main dining area for a free large hot breakfast if we chose. In the afternoon they brought free wine and cheese and crackers. The wine was nothing special - we had to ask them to chill the chardonnay as they didn't seem to know anything about wine serving temperature. The staff was very accommodating. All in all it was a great value as we did a two day package for $239 that also came with two tickets to Mystic Seaport and the Mystic Aquarium (worth $100).

Two other sites to see would be the Stonington Borough and the Pequot Native American Museum at Foxwoods. The museum requires at least 5 hours as it is huge.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

This is actually a property of the Residence Inn located on the same property. Therefore we were allowed to eat breakfast and use the facilities of the Inn or just eat the breakfast provided to us at the Inn itself.
Pros: The weekend at Sea Package was well worth the price (check the website for details)
The Sarah Sheldon Room was large and as all the rooms it had a working fireplace and a regular sized tub but with jets. House was built around 1770 and it still had its original windows and wide floor boards.
Cons: If one is worried about cleanliness, the floors really can't be scrubbed due to their age. No wall to wall carpets and floors are very uneven. A few nails in the floor boards need attention.

Room Tip: Ask for theSarah Room; avoid the Woodbridge Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

We stayed at the Mansion, a bed-and-breakfast for 3 days. It was described by the AAA as having king-sized beds and whirlpool baths. The Mansion is now in the parking lot of the Marriott Residence and check-in and other services are provided by the Marriott. This is a historic property and is decorated in keeping with the age of the property. However, the bed was not a king, but a queen. The whirlpool bath is there, but does not work. The room was quite dusty, with dusty wooden blinds hiding an assortment of dead bugs on the window sill. You could see where the dust mop went around the room, but not near the corners which were piled high. There was even a pair of men's underwear in the corner closest to the TV! We picked that up with the fireplace tongs. This property has great potential, but needs maintenance. The "breakfast" part of the b&b consisted of fresh fruits, donuts or muffins, and coffee delivered each morning to the parlor. At no extra charge one can have an excellent hot breakfast in the Marriott dining area. Also included in the amenities is wine and cheese delivered to the b&b parlor each evening -- but only after we called and requested it each evening. Come, stay, but bring a dust mop!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whitehall Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehall Mansion Inn

Address: 42 Whitehall Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whitehall Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehall Mansion Hotel Mystic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitehall Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.