We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Aquarium

Mystic Aquarium
55 Coogan Blvd., Mystic, CT 06355
860-572-5955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 Attractions in Mystic
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Journey into the aquatic world at this combination tourist attraction and research facility, where every underwater creature is more amazing than the last. Exhibits put you in close proximity to whales, penguins, sea lions and a 30,000-gallon tank, where exotic fish from around the world strut their stuff.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fun day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Unlike most aquariums there is a lot to see outside. The whales were very fun to watch. The inside is smaller than most aquariums but the outside attractions make up for it. Definitely worth the trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    352
    162
    46
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A waist of time and money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place was boring we left in an hour .. When you go inside of exhibit it super crowded and it's hard to find to the exit. We expected alot more for the money. There isn't a lot of space to wander inside the exhibits, because there was about 30 strollers making to hard to move around. If you have a BIG Y card you save $4.00 of admission.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My family really enjoyed this interactive aquarium. We visited from Ohio and would definitely recommend it! A bit on the pricey side, but we felt it was well worth it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not The Best Aquarium We've Ever Visited”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Our family visited the quaint seaport town of Mystic, CT over the July 4th holiday. After lunch at Mystic Pizza and walking around downtown, we decided to try the Mystic Aquarium. What a disappointment! For the money we paid to get in, I expected a lot more. Most of the aquarium was actually outside, which was not the best place to be on a hot summer day. The 4D theatre was cool and the Titanic exhibit was pretty good, but the rest of the place left a lot to be desired. I would have liked to see many more fish tanks than we saw in the one small building that housed them. The penguin exhibit was pretty small. I've been to smaller aquariums, but none that charged this much for admission. Next time we'll save our money and see a Mystic Seaport instead.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great trip back to the Aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a great time at Mystic Aquarium with our 2 teenagers & older daughter. We go to the Aquarium at least once a year & it was fun for all to try something new. We had a great time feeding The Birds of the Outback. First my teens didn't want to try it, but they were glad they did. They had fun feeding the different birds. My husband even said it was very relaxing to feed the birds. We also enjoyed watching the Sea Lion Challenge Show. It is nice that they are doing different shows for repeat visitors. We saw a Wizards of Cods show in October that was very well done. Always enjoy coming here to see what is new.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystic Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Mystic Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.