We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children's must do attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Aquarium

Mystic Aquarium
55 Coogan Blvd., Mystic, CT 06355
860-572-5955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 Attractions in Mystic
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Journey into the aquatic world at this combination tourist attraction and research facility, where every underwater creature is more amazing than the last. Exhibits put you in close proximity to whales, penguins, sea lions and a 30,000-gallon tank, where exotic fish from around the world strut their stuff.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Children's must do attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Unusual fish - actually saw little 'pockets' of eggs hatching, never seen this before - allowed to touch some in the large pool. Beautiful setting - penguins gorgeous

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    352
    162
    46
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Congers, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Not very worthwhile, unless you're a two-year old”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I visited the aquarium this weekend, lured by the "value" of the Mystic pass. For $51 per person, you gain entrance into both the Seaport and the Aquarium, along with some other "freebies" (water bottles, fountain drink at the Aquarium, etc). Having been to a handful of aquariums before (Boston, Chicago), this one was truly a let down.

GETTING HERE: Very conveniently located off Interstate 95 -- literally a minute from the exit, so super quick access.

THE EXHIBITS: The exhibits were extremely disapointing in their lack of variety of fish displayed. A good portion of the property is taken up by the beluga whale tank (which are beautiful, majestic creatures). The penguins have a small tank to themselves, and maybe there are about a dozen of them. The seal exhibit was okay. The indoor aquariums had tanks consisiting of a variety of sea life, but nothing really interesting - the typical jellyfish, clown fish, nurse sharks. Nothing really unusual or noteworthy. Many of the exhibits and explanations are geared towards kids, so if you have them, great. If not, there isn't enough here to captivate an adult's attention. In fact, many of the tanks and explanations are at the eye level of a toddler, really giving a clue about who the place is geared toward. The titanic exhibit was somewhat interesting, but not nearly what it could have been, given the subject matter.

VALUE: For the price of admission ($29 without the Mystic Pass, $24 for children), this was a serious disappointment. We've been to other aquariums and paid similar entrance fees, and felt like they had much more to offer. We spent a total of 2 hours here, and felt like we had seen it all.

If you have kids, this may be a good outing (albeit expensive). If you're an adult looking for a good aquarium to visit, look elsewhere.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Beach, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The beluga whales were beautiful and there was a nice sea lion show. There is staff at most of the exhibits that are there to answer any questions that you may have, except the attendent at the penquins. He really didn't want to be bothered. You can also touch some of the sea life, which the kids that were there loved. It is very clean and well kept. The price was on the high side for the number of attractions.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome... worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great place and great value. Get the Sea Everything pass! It's the most economical way to see the aquarium and the seaport.
Love the Beluga Whales and Sea Lion Show!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“The Kids will Love it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The reason i gave the aquarium 4 starts is because my kid liked it so much (are they are easy to please :-). if you ask me as an adult, i have not felt the return on investment i have made when paying for the tickets. The price is too high for the diversity (or lack thereof) of their exhibitions.
without any doubt the beluga whale exhibition is beautiful an d i found myself spending a lot of time there with the kids. Another nice attraction were the petting points allowing the kids to touch rays and such. The sea lions live show was a bit of a disappointment and so was the Titanic exhibition (don't know why i was expecting more from that one).
The restaurant inside the aquarium was better than i expected (usually they are horrible in these type of places), still don't expect gourmet food.
Pinguin exhibition --> Disappointment, very small and not impressive.
They say on their website that there is a birds` exhibition: we found the exhibition but it was empty.

Executive Summary: The kids will like it; The adults will feel ripped off.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystic Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Mystic Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.