We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I was expecting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Mistick Village

Olde Mistick Village
27 Coogan Blvd., Mystic, CT 06355
860-536-4941
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 things to do in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This recreated 18th-century New England village offers a refreshing change from shopping malls as we know them. Browse or buy in the more than 60 small shops or dine in one of this charming setting's many eateries.
Far Rockaway, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Olde Mistick Village was not what I expected. I guess I thought it would be larger and more energetic. I didn't venture into any of the stores because nothing attracted me. The location was nice for a quiet, afternoon stroll.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    241
    129
    23
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Shopping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

There are several unusual stores that make this worth a stop. I liked the Scandinavian store, and bought samples of fudge everywhere. On the whole, you'll find better shops in downtown Mystic, however.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fudge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This place has wonderful shops and Amazing fudge. We spent a couple of hours walking around the village before walking over to the aquarium.

It was very relaxing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic shops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Love the shops and the atmosphere. We love the duckpond in the middle and feeding them. You can purchase duck food at a nearby shop and all proceeds go to the humane society. A very New England feel for shopping and novelty stores. Always love to go there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Sad to see so many stores are now gone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The village was a magical place when we and our kids were younger . It's sad to see stores that were here for years were not able to remain open . Still clean and beautiful and worth a visit . We stop in whenever we are in the area which is often . Definitely a don't miss .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Mistick Village also viewed

 

Been to Olde Mistick Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Mistick Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.