We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional quirky ct destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winvian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Winvian to your Saves list
Winvian
155 Alain White Road, Morris, CT 06763   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morris
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Exceptional quirky ct destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We visited the winvian for the first time on a short road trip and can't wait to return. Friendly and informative reception when past the secure gates is followed by courteous explanation and tour of each unique property. Had secret society which is great with modern facilities yet unique charm and cool upstairs vaulted bedroom and massive skylight window. Dinner was exceptional and good value. All staff extremely pleasant understated and professional. Seed to table concept produced memorable quail appetizer and excellent gnocchi and lobster seconds. Cheese course excellent. Inclusive breakfast a real pleasant surprise due to the 100% home produced ingredients. Grounds of the resort pleasant and teeming with wildlife. Will return soonest.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    24
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
84
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We just spent a wonderful night at the Winvian staying in the Library cottage. The entire resort is nestled in the middle of Connecticutt near Litchfield and is very private. Our cottage was very cozy with a lovely fireplace which we used most of our waking hours. There was a Nespresso machine for coffee as well as a refrigerator stocked with sodas and water. There was also a few bottles of named brand liquor and snacks. We definitely plan to return during summer and fall to enjoy the many outdoor activities. I also had a very relaxing Swedish massage at their full service spa. Our stay included a delicious breakfast that included fresh fruit and orange juice, eggs cooked to order, oatmeal, yogurt with their homemade granola and honey from their bee hives. We highly recommend you visit this lovely retreat.

Room Tip: There are individual themed cottages (i.e. artist, golf, marine, library, tree house) that are pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We spent one night in the Library Cottage in February. The hotel is a collection of themed cottages located around a large wooded property. The range of themes is impressive and fun.Our cottage was lovely with a beautiful bathroom and living room with fireplace and comfortable bedroom. We had nice treatments at the spa which is beautiful. I guess where is lost points with us was in the details. Our rate included meals and our mini bar was stocked with beverages including some half bottles of wine, what was missing was the opener and a selection of snacks. For what we paid a small basket of snacks would have been a nice touch, particularly because the main lobby was a bit of hike away. Other details were missed like matches to start the fire in the fireplace. It's small details like this that can really disappoint when you are paying almost $2,000 a night... It's annoying to have to call for matches and a corkscrew when they have provided the wine and the wood so it's not like they didn't know they would be needed! We didn't really enjoy dinner. We are very comfortable with fine dining, but we found the selection and the quality of the food just OK..almost too precious and pretentious without an option for something less "fine". We were hungry after a long day and left still hungry after a four course meal and we aren't big eaters. I guess it would actually give it 3.5 stars if that was an option. the room was lovely and fun and would be even nicer in nicer weather but for what they charge they should be closer to the five star standard that would be fair to expect

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Being the wonderful wife I am, I surprised husband with a nite at the amazing Helicopter Cottage. Although this was man heaven (there is an actual Sikorsky Coast Guard helicopter INSIDE the cottage that you can lounge & "pilot" in, there was every comfortable amenity (jacuzzi, steam shower, luxe bed, wood burning stove, etc) for a gal. Every staff member/server we encountered was friendly & attentive to our every need, dinner in the quiet, romantic fireplace room was likely the best I've ever had, as was breakfast (truffled scrambled eggs, anyone?). Pricey for sure but worth each & every cent!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

At first blush I was pretty impressed with our "cottage". Accommodations are composed of several theme cottages. Our's was the artists cottage. Architecturally, the property is very interesting because each cottage is designed by a different architect. Unfortunately, that is where the excellence ends. My wife and I found the food to be pretentious but mediocre...especially breakfast.
The thing that really bothered me was the extra charge for delivering our dinner to the cottage because the dining room was closed for a wedding.
For the huge bucks they charge, I thought it was pretty tacky to add a surcharge. There are other top of the line places for less, giving their guests more. Mayflower Inn and Twin Farms are two suggestions. We've stayed at both places and Twin Farms still get the gold star for excellence.
I'm not saying that we didn't enjoy our stay. We did. It was just that for the incredibly expensive weekend I know we could have done a lot better.

Room Tip: Ask about the cottage themes and choose one that you can relate to. For example, if you go with kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My BF and I spent one night here (we wish we could had stayed two) in the middle of november 2013. We're from NYC and didn't think there would be enough to do to keep us entertained for two night three days but were totally wrong and wished we would have booked that additional night!

When we first arrived to check in we were given general info about the property and then were led to our cottage. they even came inside to show us how things work ... (such as TV, Heated floors, Surround sound, etc) It was extremely helpful and made it easy for us to do basic things.

We stayed at the Golf cottage... It was amazing. This is such a treat especially if you are a golfer. we really enjoyed the old fashion putters and golf balls in the room and the carpet was shaped like different putting greens so you could hit the balls around.

The bathroom was my favorite.. it was huge with a jet tub and extremely well maintained (as was the entire cottage). My BF loved the TV that in fact raised from the foot of the bed.. haha.

Spa was fantastic.. we did the couples hot stone massage and both felt great after. It was performed in what I think was the couples room.. It had a great fireplace but unfortunately towards the second half of our treatment the fire started making VERY loud crackling noises. I really know nothing about fires or how long they are supposed to last but we both agreed that it really took away from the "relaxation" aspect or our treatments.... but I guess that's nature? I highly recommend to request no fire during your treatment (ours was 80 minutes) because it was just so darn loud lol! I guess it's normal because our masseuses did not say anything. We did have about 20 minutes to enjoy some snacks and drinks at the end of our treatments which we did enjoy glancing at the fire for. BF was upset that were wasn't a steam room.. but there was a very small co-ed sauna.

Restaurant was good. everyone was really nice. I did wish they had a few more options though... They didn't have a chicken or steak option the night we stayed there.. I believe from what I remember they only had animals like duck and possibly deer... not my thing. hopefully the menu has changed to accommodate . I did enjoy our dessert very very much!!!

this was literally the quietest place in the world by the way.


Overall great experience and plenty to do !!!

Room Tip: Golf cottage was great!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My daughers arranged for a car to pick me up at work for a very secretive surprise for my birthday. I had no idea where I was going or what I was in for - and I don't like surprises. A little tense, I chatted with my driver - and I am not a chatter or enjoy being in the back seat - except for NYC taxis... Well, as soon as we pulled into Winvian I started to unwind. The property is beautiful - and not in a formal or pretentious way! Checking in at reception rather than the Spa, they happily greeted me, and knowing about my special day, directed me along a beautiful walkway to the Spa. I had an incredible spa experience - with special attention given to my tight neck and back. I ordinarily don't like a lot of fuss - but I was caving in to the experience - and totally caved when they informed me my surprise included a spa lunch. In the beautiful, serene Spa space, I was served a farm-fresh green salad and cheese plate, along with a half-bottle of a wonderful Sancerre. The cheese selection was world-class. Totally relaxed from my treatments, I thoroughly enjoyed and lingered over my lunch. I felt like I was a million miles from work. Unfortunately, and cruelly, the driver was there to bring me back. A day later, I still feel the relaxative and therapeutic effects of my short time at Winvian. I will plan another visit soon, and bring my beautiful and thoughtful daughters with me! We hope to explore more Winvian. The apple tart with birthday candle was so delicious and special, too!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Winvian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winvian

Address: 155 Alain White Road, Morris, CT 06763
Location: United States > Connecticut > Morris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Litchfield Hills lies a quiet getaway; Winvian. Set amidst 113-acres and bordering extensive woods and lakes, Winvian was created to recharge and indulge. No less than fifteen architects have designed 18 individualized cottages that combine the whimsical with the traditional, the modern with the historical. Each has enough surprises to lure and charm without detracting from the views, the surrounding nature and the comforts that allow guests to relax and rejuvenate. ~18 individual, custom designed cottages and one (1) master suite~Cottage sizes range from 950 to 1,250 square feet~5,000 full service Spa with 6 individual treatment rooms~Executive Boardroom will full IT and conferencing capability~Celebrations, weddings, parties, events, etc in our Gordon Brown house~AAA 5-Diamond rated restaurant ~AAA 5-Diamond rated hotel~Member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux society~Conde Nast Top 30 US Small Resort~Surrounded by 4,000 acres of the White Memorial Preserve~Privately owned and fully confidential property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Winvian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winvian Hotel Morris
Winvian Resort Morris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winvian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.