We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & atmosphere, but very pricy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at Winvian

The Restaurant at Winvian
155 Alain White Rd, Morris, CT 06763
8605679600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Winvian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Morris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: AAA 5-Diamond rate restaurant, Relais & Chateaux memberSeasonal, organic and sustainable garden grown directly on our grounds produces the freshest local ingredients for Executive Chef Chris Eddy's culinary masterpieces. Experience Chef's "seed to table" menus and explore his epicurean delights.
Morris, Connecticut
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good food & atmosphere, but very pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Went for our anniversary; food was very good, however selection was a little bit run of the mill, not particularly innovative; service was good although I found it a little too rushed; atmosphere is lovely. Good wine list, but be prepared: it is focused on high end wines, not many at "average" prices.
EXTREMELY PRICY all around . Last time we were there was over a year ago; probably will not return for at least that long...perhaps for another special occasion, although there are other local options that might be half the price for food just as good or better. The value here for me, are the beautiful surroundings, grounds, facilities, architectural details, elegance.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    5
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Deserves its 5 Diamonds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This place is spectacular, in every way imaginable. Food was some of the most delicious I've ever had (and I live in NYC and get to eat out a lot), service was befitting of a 5-star property, and ambiance was perfectly romantic. Menu is somewhat limited but is refreshed daily, and many of the ingredients are grown organically right on the property. Best of all, if you're staying at the Winvian resort, you never have to leave the property if you don't want to!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I thought I was eating a Michelin rated restaurant in NYC or Vegas.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gastronomic treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I took 5 quests to dinner at the Winvian restaurant including a graduate of the culinary institute of America. We were all delighted and impressed. The service was impeccable and the surroundings most charming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A perfect dinner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My family tried this restaurant for the first time for a special occasion. It was one of the best and most memorable meals ever and everything was just perfect. They offered three course fixed price menus. The food was amazing with a large variety, very fresh, and many unique and surprising flavors in each dish very artistically prepared. Small 'palate cleansing' courses were served between each of the main courses. The service was outstanding, polite and professional, attentive without being intrusive, and all of the courses were spaced just right, nothing ever rushed. The atmosphere was very elegant and cozy at the same time, with seating in small, tastefully decorated rooms with gentle lighting and fires going in the fireplaces. A very special evening, highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Winvian also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Winvian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at Winvian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.