We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to highway, good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Milford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Milford to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Milford
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Plains Rd, Milford, CT 06460   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2x HHonors Points!
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Milford
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Close to highway, good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Good location easy on/off from 95. Has all of the Hampton Inn usuals, including the buffet breakfast in the am. Staff very helpful and friendly. Had two rooms here for our large family in December 2012 and have stayed here in the past as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKevin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Milford, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you found our location convenient and we appreciate your input on our amenities. We look forward to seeing you back the next time you visit the area, we'd love to have you!

Thank you,

Kevin Gosling
General Manager
Hampton Inn Milford CT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    106
    55
    24
    12
See reviews for
87
82
31
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Mid trip stop right off Route 95. Good location for shopping and eating too. Warmly greeted by Denise and the positive, pleasant atmosphere continued through breakfast. Jacqui does a great job smiling and talking to everyone. Excellent room....love the washed duvet on a very comfortable bed. We would definitely stop at this Hampton Inn again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel is immediately off the exit ramp of I-95, so it is easy to get to and from, although not too scenic. The room had all you could ask for - plenty of storage space for clothes, including a wardrobe with an ironing board and iron, as well as a comfy chair and a nice desk chair on wheels. The breakfast was one of the better ones for this chain. Even though it was probably previously frozen and cooked, there was fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, waffles, interesting pastries - even a croissant, yogurt, etc, and two types of coffee as well as decaff. It was staffed by a helpful person who kept everything full. The front desk was pleasant. The king mattress was a little too soft for me, but some people might like it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hoel is very close to highway, and just like other reviewers said :Ask for quiet side! We did not know, and indeed noise from highway is rather loud. The amenities are not the fancy one, however, it is clean. Sheets are freshly laundered and staff is very helpful.
They offer a full breakfast in the morning, much better selection than other hotels! I really loved people that work there. They made sure, we had no reason for complains. They are very genuine, and made us feel welcome. I would consider staying there again.
It is 2 miles away from Westfield Mall, and close to New Haven. Their price is fair, and you get what you pay for, unless you expects Four Seasons. Good choice for the families on the budget(ask for quiet side rooms!)

Room Tip: Room away from highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The previous reviews regarding the proximity and noise from the highway are spot on. I got in at 11:30pm at night and there were no rooms available on the "quiet" side. I can sleep through a lot but for anyone who is a light sleeper, good luck!

The room was really in deplorable condition. Chipped bathroom tiles, broken wall sockets, etc. very small rooms.

The girl at the front desk was not pleasant at all. I also never got water or a snack as a Hilton Gold member. (Being a Hilton honors member was the only reason I booked this in the first place.)

There are limited hotel options in the area, but I would recommend booking elsewhere or bringing your earplugs.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here get something on the side opposite I-95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKevin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Milford, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with the great experience you deserved. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your input on the look and feel of our rooms as well as the noise level from nearby traffic. Please know that we are looking into possible additional measures we can take to better soundproof our rooms in the hope of preventing similar issues in the future. Your comments on our front desk and Hhonors perks service have been shared with the team and we will work harder to ensure each of our guests’ feels valued and welcomed moving forward. We will use your comments as we continually work to improve our guest experience and we hope you will consider staying with us again and experiencing our warm Hamptonality the next time you are in the area.

Thank you,

Kevin Gosling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel is located near highway exit and short drive from center of town. Hotel and room was clean as was the parking area. Staff was helpful and friendly. Free hot/cold breakfast,exercise room, NO pool or hot tub, laundry room on site.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Let me start by saying that I will stay 60 plus nights in a Hilton or Hampton this year. That means I see quite a few and can easily say this is the worst Hampton that I have ever stayed at. As a Gold or Diamond Hilton Honors member I get to see the best service that a property has to offer. So, in this case, I was quite surprised when I opened my first floor room to find a small single bed, cheap well worn furniture and a noisy heater. It was late so I didn't go back to the front desk and ask for a different room and then things got worse.

After settling in I walked into the small bathroom and, ugh, the tile floor was sticky on my barefeet. GROSS. The sleep was tough in the single bed and the hall on the first floor didn't have a door from the main lobby so besides the noise, by 6am I was awakened by the strong smell of burnt toast coming from the breakfast bar.

No, I would never stay there again despite my loyalty to the Hampton chain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Milford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Milford

Address: 129 Plains Rd, Milford, CT 06460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Milford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Milford
#5 Business Hotel in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Milford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Milford, an inlet for culture, business, history, and entertainment. You'll find the historic and charming seaside town of Milford offers dozens of activities for business travelers, families, and groups. Many of the town's most popular destinations are just minutes from the Hampton Inn(R) hotel in Milford. Set sail on Long Island Sound and navigate through the coves and islands that Captain Kidd sailed in 1699. While you're here you'll be near Yale University, University of Bridgeport, Sacred Heart University, University of New Haven, and Southern Connecticut State University. When you're looking for entertainment and nightlife the area features many opportunities from off Broadway shows to live concerts. Take a train into NYC on Metro North. The hotel is 1 mile from the train station. Looking for something to do in the area? Our staff will be glad to help guide you to your next destination for adventure all just a short drive from the Hampton Inn Milford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Milford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Milford Hotel Milford
Milford Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Milford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.