We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too close to highway, not in great condition” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Milford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Milford to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Milford
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Plains Rd, Milford, CT 06460   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2x HHonors Points!
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Milford
GreenLeadersSilver level
Burlington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Too close to highway, not in great condition”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The previous reviews regarding the proximity and noise from the highway are spot on. I got in at 11:30pm at night and there were no rooms available on the "quiet" side. I can sleep through a lot but for anyone who is a light sleeper, good luck!

The room was really in deplorable condition. Chipped bathroom tiles, broken wall sockets, etc. very small rooms.

The girl at the front desk was not pleasant at all. I also never got water or a snack as a Hilton Gold member. (Being a Hilton honors member was the only reason I booked this in the first place.)

There are limited hotel options in the area, but I would recommend booking elsewhere or bringing your earplugs.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here get something on the side opposite I-95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKevin, General Manager at Hampton Inn Milford, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with the great experience you deserved. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your input on the look and feel of our rooms as well as the noise level from nearby traffic. Please know that we are looking into possible additional measures we can take to better soundproof our rooms in the hope of preventing similar issues in the future. Your comments on our front desk and Hhonors perks service have been shared with the team and we will work harder to ensure each of our guests’ feels valued and welcomed moving forward. We will use your comments as we continually work to improve our guest experience and we hope you will consider staying with us again and experiencing our warm Hamptonality the next time you are in the area.

Thank you,

Kevin Gosling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    106
    55
    24
    12
See reviews for
87
82
31
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel is located near highway exit and short drive from center of town. Hotel and room was clean as was the parking area. Staff was helpful and friendly. Free hot/cold breakfast,exercise room, NO pool or hot tub, laundry room on site.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Let me start by saying that I will stay 60 plus nights in a Hilton or Hampton this year. That means I see quite a few and can easily say this is the worst Hampton that I have ever stayed at. As a Gold or Diamond Hilton Honors member I get to see the best service that a property has to offer. So, in this case, I was quite surprised when I opened my first floor room to find a small single bed, cheap well worn furniture and a noisy heater. It was late so I didn't go back to the front desk and ask for a different room and then things got worse.

After settling in I walked into the small bathroom and, ugh, the tile floor was sticky on my barefeet. GROSS. The sleep was tough in the single bed and the hall on the first floor didn't have a door from the main lobby so besides the noise, by 6am I was awakened by the strong smell of burnt toast coming from the breakfast bar.

No, I would never stay there again despite my loyalty to the Hampton chain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for one night while on a New England vacation. The bed and room amenities were typical Hampton and quite comfortable. The location is right on I95, but the drone of traffic is not terrible. If you have a choice, a room on the parking lot side would be preferable. Laundry facilities are nice but inconveniently located. The breakfast is good but the dining area is inadequate with large furniture. Unless you want to eat at a communal table in the middle of the room, you end up sitting on sofa style seating that is not very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The staff are great. The rooms are old and used. The bed is good and of expected Hampton standard and there are flat screen TV's. The rest of the fittings and finish are not as good as any other Hampton i have stayed in over the last 12 months.

Ask for a room on the side of the hotel which has the parking lot, there is quite a lot of traffic noise on the road side. Does not bother me but i know some of you are picky.

Breakfast is pretty good. Internet is free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here over 15 months ago and sorry to say this Hampton is not what it was !! place needs an update, although this is not the fault of the staff. Rooms clean and functional, but now dated. When in Milford prefer the Hilton Garden Inn. Point of note to mention is that I-95 roars past hotel and very noisy, so ask for room on the other side of the hotel. We have stayed here on many occasions over the past 15 years and were saddened to see its current state. Needs some TLC.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing I-95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for ten days in July 2012 and would do so again. The staff was very helpful, from checking in to housekeeping. Also the young lady that manages the breakfast area was really sweet, breakfast was very good and well supplied. The room was clean, spacious and well appointed, the beds and linens was also clean and very comfortable. The a/c unit was a bit noisy but I'm a deep sleeper so that did not bother me. I asked for a refridgerator and got it which was quite useful for a long stay. The grounds of this hotel was well kept and the location for me was perfect. I could walk to a real nice Italian resturant in the evenings for dinner and a nearby liquor store to pick up a nice bottle of wine to take back to my room. I had a lovely stay, thanks to the friendly and helpful staffs. I had only one mishap, and it is that I requested a wake up call as I had a early flight in the morning, but it never came in. I missed my flight and had to stay two extra days to get another flight. Over-all, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Milford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Milford

Address: 129 Plains Rd, Milford, CT 06460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Milford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Milford
#5 Business Hotel in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Milford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Milford, an inlet for culture, business, history, and entertainment. You'll find the historic and charming seaside town of Milford offers dozens of activities for business travelers, families, and groups. Many of the town's most popular destinations are just minutes from the Hampton Inn(R) hotel in Milford. Set sail on Long Island Sound and navigate through the coves and islands that Captain Kidd sailed in 1699. While you're here you'll be near Yale University, University of Bridgeport, Sacred Heart University, University of New Haven, and Southern Connecticut State University. When you're looking for entertainment and nightlife the area features many opportunities from off Broadway shows to live concerts. Take a train into NYC on Metro North. The hotel is 1 mile from the train station. Looking for something to do in the area? Our staff will be glad to help guide you to your next destination for adventure all just a short drive from the Hampton Inn Milford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Milford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Milford Hotel Milford
Milford Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Milford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.