We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pasta night at $ 9.99” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fratelli's

Fratelli's
248 New Haven Avenue, Milford, CT 06460
203-877-1170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 222 Restaurants in Milford
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
US
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Pasta night at $ 9.99”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

A great little neighborhood restaurant with wonderful food at reasonable prices. We went there for the first time a week ago and will go back again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Nello's is small so you need to make reservations. The food is well worth it! We were a party of six and we each had something different and we each loved what we had. The tomato sauce had flavor. This was made there with GOOD, FRESH ingredients, not from a can like some other places.
The Owner/Chef came out and talked with us and played with my mom who's 88 and VERY hard to please. She loved her spaghetti with meat sauce. She ate 1/2 and brought the rest to her husband who also loved it.
The waiter was very good.
We will be going back very soon.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Italian Dining with Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Nello's can be found in a little strip mall on New Haven Avenue in Milford. It's tucked in the corner of the building so you might miss it if you didn't know where it is. But it's well worth seeking out for it's great Italian food at very reasonable prices. Once inside the Cantina you will feel like you're in quaint restaurant rather than a big chain where you are just one of the masses passing through. Great service accompanies the great food. Lots of specials during the week too like $10 dinners. Highly recommend this local eatery.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Seen better days”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We are not very happy with our visit today at Nello's. We used to enjoy our night out but not today. The Hostess needs some training. When you make reservations you don't seat them at the worst table you have by the door and the hostess station, especially when you have open tables elsewhere. Our waitress was very pleasant and knew her job. But because she was the only waitress on the floor she was overwhelmed hence she made a mistake on our bill. She didn't add it correctly which she apologized profusely. The Carbonara though tasty seemed too starchy ( the sauce) and was gritty. Chicken Parmesan wasn't that good either. The sauce had a burnt taste to it. Would you like some salad with your dressing? The bean and escarole soup had no taste. Over all, not pleasant experience. We want the old Nello's back. Or at least, our old experience..

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

Great food, great service, mostly an older crowd so it's not to noisy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fratelli's also viewed

 

Been to Fratelli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fratelli's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.