We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've stayed at nicer Springhill Suites this one was disappointing!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Milford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Milford to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Milford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Rowe Ave, Milford, CT 06460   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I've stayed at nicer Springhill Suites this one was disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We were visiting family in CT and thought this hotel would be perfect as it stated easy on off 95. I should have known it would literally be right on top of Interstate 95! Very loud at night all I heard were the tractor trailor trucks zooming by on the highway all night long. The room was smaller than other Springhill Suites I've stayed at and they only had 1 TV per room??? Other's offer 1 in the living area and 1 in the bedroom. This one did not have that. We also got locked out of our room and got blamed for it stating we had our credit card next to our room key only to find out the hotel did not have us down for the correct number of nights stay. The front desk clerk was kind of rude and not apologetic at all. Not sure I'd stay at this Springhill Suites again.

Room Tip: Not all hotels are alike even if they are the same name. Ask before you book your room about any de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_Management, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Milford, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments with me about your recent stay in Milford. Your feedback is important to me as we continue to look to exceed our guests expectations. I am sorry that you did not enjoy a restful night of sleep. Being warm & hospitable and responsive is something we excel at on a regular basis, I apologize that we did not during your visit. I will be sharing your comments with my front office team to ensure we do. I am sorry that this visit to SpringHill Suites was not as enjoyable as others.

Sincerely,
Michael Hamilton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    67
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
74
44
9
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My family and I decided to stay in this hotel to try something new and We've heard that the beaches in the area were nice and quiet not to crowded. The stay in the hotel was ok the lobby is nice and service is good. But the room’s need a lot of updating the bathroom is a bit different then normal bathrooms the sink is not attached to the tub area. On top of it there's a carpet in the sink area instead of tile floors causing it to smell like mildew from water spills overtime. The tub kept getting clogged even when we would only turn on the showerhead the tub kept filling up with water from the pipes... Ewww!! Dirty water rising from the pipes. Not very sanitary. The rooms had a mildew and cigarette smell to them over all the rooms need A LOT of updating. They really need to do something about that sink and tub. Very nasty.. I'm not too picky but when dirty water rises up from the tub and the sink doesn't have a covered drain where you can see all the guck build up.. Uggggg... it would turn any ones stomach.. The service is good. But they have some major renovations to do.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_Management, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Milford, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments with me about your recent stay in Milford. Your feedback is important to us as we continue to look to exceed our guests expectations. We do have a detailed preventative maintenance program in place to ensure that our product does not appear dated and worn. On property level we will revisit this program to see what modifications need to take place to ensure the property looks crisp and inviting until our property goes through a renovation. Additionally I will speak with our housekeeping & maintenance teams to ensure we take proactive measures to ensure we remedy a potential service challenge prior to a guest check in.

Sincerely,
Michael Hamilton,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We chose to stay here after reading all the positive reviews. Although the lobby was bright and cheerful, this atmosphere didn't extend to the breakfast staff, who never made any eye contact, and gave the strong impression that they wanted everyone to just go away. Likewise, the housekeeping staff, unlike other Marriott properties, would consistently look away when approached by guests, and appeared to be unhappy to be there. Our room was missing a closet door, a chair was stained, and debris was found under the air conditioning unit. The room was long and narrow, with the one TV situated between the entrance and the sleeping area, making it very difficult to see from one of the beds. A door shelf was missing from the very small minifridge, which emitted an annoying high-pitched sound. The Direct TV cable failed and rebooted 5 times one night, and the wireless internet was likewise spotty and slow. When we called the desk sfter check-in to ask for extra towels,we were told that they would "leave a note for housekeeping". Not the response we expected.The pool was recently renovated and, while small, was very clean and sparkling, as was the hot tub. The hotel's one elevator, meanwhile, was extremely slow, with several guests reporting that it was quicker to walk to the third floor than to wait. Another guest told us that the elevator door had stuck and scared them. The elevator sounded horrible and you wondered if you would make a safe trip, a feeling reinforced by the 1 month overdue elevator inspection certificate on the wall. The elevator was scheduled for repair on our second day, after which we didn't notice any difference.
The breakfasts were particularly disappointing and parsimonious.
The batter for the waffles was so watered down that it was virtually impossible to cook on the griddle! We watched one poor fellow try 4 times to make his waffle, each try ending with a result so thin and burnt that he was unable to remove it. The entire breakfast area had a total of 1 salt and 1 pepper shaker, which was empty. When we asked for pepper, we were told that they were out of pepper. The food was tired and bland. Breakfast ended promptly at 9AM, with the staff quick to remove everything and cast disapproving glances to those guests who finished their breakfasts a few minutes after 9.
Unlike our many enjoyable stays at other Marriott properties, this one was a big disappointment.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_Management, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Milford, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments with us about your recent stay in Milford. Your feedback is important to us as we continue to look to exceed our guests expectations. At our daily service meeting we talk about the importance of greeting our guests prior to them greeting you. I will reinforce the importance of these efforts as two areas of the property; housekeeping & breakfast failed during your visit.
Your comments about the staff will be read at tomorrow’s daily meeting. We will revisit the service training with our breakfast attendants to ensure their interaction with our customers is friendly & inviting. We do have a detailed preventative maintenance & housekeeping inspection program in place to ensure that our product does not appear dated or worn and is crisp, clean & inviting at check in. On property level we will revisit this programs to see what modifications need to take place to ensure we are exceeding our guests expectations. Safety and security of our guests is our number one priority. In reviewing our maintenance records, preventative maintenance on our elevator is current as is the elevator certificate on file, due to expire in June, 2012.

Sincerely,
Michael Hamilton,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My son and I stayed here for a Lacrosse Tournament. which was in New Haven (9 Miles away) The staff is effiecient and courteous. The rooms and whole hotel are very clean which is important to me as I cannot stay in a dirty hotel. The free Breakfast is great and with free parking and internet why would you stay anywhere else.? Hotels in New Haven charge more, DO NOT have free internet , breakfast and they DO charge for parking. We stayed here last year when our group stayed elsewhere. Needless to say We were comfortable and happy , they were NOT !! My advice is if you have to travel within 15 miles of this area , STAY HERE !!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

A big thank you to the SpringHill Suites at Milford, CT for fantastic service and friendliness. The front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful. The rooms were very clean and serviced promptly. Breakfast was good and well maintained and the breakfast room was clean. Overall, I would highly recommend a stay here. Better than other more costly hotel chains.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

This was a very nice hotel for us.
The ease of check-in/out was a breeze
The staff was very friendly and responded promptly to our needs.
The indoor pool and jacuzzi was a plus
The free Breakfast was EXCELLENT
The room was very nice and accommodated our family of 5 comfortably.

The only issue that I had was some dirty linen for the pull-out sofa that was quickly replaced and the blond hairs in the shower that had not been cleaned.

But those were minor issues and overall we had an excellent, comfortable stay and SpringHill Suites. We would highly recommend and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Extended family of 10 stayed for one night for Yale graduation. Very clean, not far from New Haven, and the free breakfast was a plus. Each room had a regrigerator , which was helpful for the kids. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Milford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Milford

Address: 50 Rowe Ave, Milford, CT 06460
Location: United States > Connecticut > Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Milford 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step through our doors, you'll feel the energy of our eclectic lobby and the warming fireplace glow, assuring you that you made the right choice in accommodations by staying with us at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott in Milford CT. Whether you choose a Double-Double Suite, a King Suite or a King Spa Suite, you'll find our well-appointed accommodations make it easy to enjoy your stay here. Join us for our complimentary breakfast buffet or choose from to-go items at the 24-hour food market. Internet throughout the hotel helps you stay connected, while the fascinating location offers you many reasons to explore. Whether here for business or pleasure, SpringHill Suites Milford has all you need to make the most of your stay. Our fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool provide a relaxing way to spend your free time between business and the many pleasures that surround our hotel. And after an eventful day, our stylish Bar & Lounge make for an inviting nightcap. SpringHill Suites Milford offers hassle-free complimentary onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Milford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Milford Hotel Milford
Milford Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Milford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.