We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach House Restaurant

The Beach House Restaurant
141 Merwin Ave, Milford, CT 06460-7911
203-877-9300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 197 Restaurants in Milford
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Went to The Beach house for the first time about one year ago while preparing to move into the neighborhood. Very unassuming from the outside but once inside what a wonderful surprise. The staff was very helpful. When my wife was handed her menu she quietly mentioned to me that she had forgotten her reading glasses. Within seconds the host was there with an entire basket of reading classes. The menu is unique, the bar is awesome and the open kitchen is very "food channel" cool. It is the one restaurant were i know the food is extremly important to the chef and the server. They have an extensive wine list and more top end scotches than most restaurants. If you love great food and a top notch dining experience this place you have to try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Love the food, atmosphere, wine selection...you name it! And their Bar area is a fabulous place to hang out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good for special occassions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary here and we both agreed we chose the right venue. when we made the reservation, we were asked if we were marking a special occassion and our waitress greeted us by wishing us a Happy Anniversary. ( nice touch)

We ordered the house wine- which was very good.

Both of us enjoyed our meals- Hubby had clams for appetizers and found them to be fresh. He had the scallops as the entree. i had filet mignon- which the chef actually cooked as I requested.

This is an expensive restuarant but we both liked the food, the service and the ambience. We would recommend this for special occassions.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, nice people, great service but very noisy. I love wine on their patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Good food, nice people, great service but very noisy. I love wine on their patio. It's near the beach, just a short stroll.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Went with several friends, tried three appetizers, the fried octopus was so salty it was almost inedible and also burned, friend returned her salad it was drenched in dressing, waitress was all over us when we sat down then after we ordered rarely saw her again. Very disappointing, won't be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Beach House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.