We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very flavorful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Typhoon Restaurant

Typhoon Restaurant
344 Main St, Middletown, CT 06457
(860) 344-9667
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 134 Restaurants in Middletown
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Bristol
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Very flavorful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I went to Typhoon for a business lunch and ordered the fresh Vietnamese rolls, coconut soup, and hot ginger tea. The soup was quite delicious with subtle hints of lime and cilantro. The Vietnamese rolls came with a sweet-spicy sauce with ground peanuts, and it was delicious. The portion size was very generous and I couldn't even finish one of the rolls. My colleague also enjoyed the dish she ordered. This was the first time I visited Typhoon and I will definitely go back not only for lunch, but I would love to try it for dinner too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I've been here many times. It's my favorite place to go for Thai food. The food is excellent. Service is friendly. And they add that extra special touch by twisting straw wrappers into roses and other designs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We recently moved from Middletown and Typhoon is the restaurant we miss most of all. Food is excellent. Service was attentive and friendly. We'd go for their lunch specials (what a deal!), dinners and private, family events. Never disappointed. We miss this place!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
1 review
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We go to Typhoon regularly and it has been wonderful every time. The food is excellent, and the staff will accommodate any adjustments you might ask for. Truly one of the best restaurants in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food Middletown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was our first trip to Middletown, found this through TripAdvisor and glad we did; very nice Thai food for a reasonable price: we had a couple of appetizers : shu mai (dumplings) + chicken satay and 3 dishes: basil beef, chicken green curry, Pad Thai: all were good. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Typhoon Restaurant also viewed

Middletown, CT
Middletown, CT
 
Middletown, CT
Middletown, CT
 

Been to Typhoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Typhoon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.