We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel to visit wesleyan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Middletown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Middletown to your Saves list
Inn at Middletown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Main Street, Middletown, CT 06457   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Park City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel to visit wesleyan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Hotel excellent. Restaurant for breakfast is totally overpriced with bad food. Keep away from granola which is stale, fresh juices which were not really fresh and tasted old and weird at $6.95 each. Oh look at every glass. They had lipstick on one and my daughters had gross stuff on it and we returned and next glass was also dirty. Ended up going to kitchen to clean a glass cause none were clean. Keep away at $50 dollar breakfast for 2 people.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us. I am so sorry for the multiple incidents you experienced in our dining room as this is not how we oprate our restaurant. it will be addressed and I appreciate the comments. I am glad that your overall experience with us however was a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    61
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
71
24
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My son and I spent a comfortable pleasant night here when he we were visiting Wesleyan. The staff is very helpful, and the beds are excellent. There are many restaurants within walking distance to choose from so location is a plus as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the Inn at Middletown. The staff loves to hear those positive comments as they work so hard in exceeding every guests expectations. We hope to see you in the fall if your child decides to go to Wesleyan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I travel to CT on business and have stayed in this hotel many times and it is always nice. The bar and restaurant are terrific too. It's in a great location with many shops and restaurants within walking distance. I can park and walk everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We are so pleased at the Inn that you now have a home away from home. You are so right in that once you park your car everything you need is within walking distance. I will share your kind words with the staff as it is one of their goals to make everyone feel like they are home and part of our family. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Inn at Middletown for 3 nights starting 4/4/14. We were in town for a family wedding. Location-It is located right on Main St. In close walking distance 2 restaurants,drug store and some Main St shopping. There is also a restaurant on the property. It is right off Route 9 so easy access 2 and from the highway. Parking-There is free parking behind the movie theater which is in walking distance. However it is not something I felt comfortable doing at night by myself. You could pay to have them valet your car. There is also metered parking on Main St which is free after 6pm until 10am. So if you wanted 2 you could park there. You would just have 2 get up before 10 and move 2 avoid paying for parking and/or getting a ticket or to add money 2 the meter. Check in-went smooth. The only thing I could say is that we were not told the location of any of the amenities (pool,fitness). That wasn't a major big deal because all we had 2 do was look in the guide they had in the room. Rooms-Very nice and spacious and clean. We stayed in a room with a king bed. Super comfortable and relaxing! (Hence the reason 4 not feeling like parking in metered parking and having 2 get up in the morn before 10 2 move your car). Room came with all that we needed (ironing board,iron,plenty of toiletries). The pool and fitness room are located on the bottom floor. We did not have time 2 use those facilities but they looked clean and well kept. Also there is a back entrance so when u do park behind the movie theaters it is closer to go in that way then to come around and go through the front.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your very detailed review of your stay at the Inn at Middletown. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have many parking options as you know and we try our best to give the guest what they want when they stay with us. As for the amenities that we offer I am somewhat surprised that the front desk did not tell you about the pool and fitness center. It is part of there welcome script and I will address that with them. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

we stayed for one night while our son visited wesleyan, and we were pleasantly surprised. the staff was friendly and accomodating (we got in after midnight, and the gentleman at the desk went out of his way to welcome us), the room clean and comfortable. not a luxury hotel by any means, but much nicer than others in its category. the hotel restaurant was great, with a good menu and service.

Room Tip: next time i'd ask for a room at the front of the hotel-maybe a corner- for more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Inn at Middletown when you were in town with your son visiting the university. We are two blocks from Wesleyan so our location was perfect for your needs. I am happy that our night audit team exceeded your expectations. Our breakfast menu is alot of fun and I was glad you enjoyed it. Hopefully we will see you in the future if you choose the university for your child to attend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I was here as part of a group wedding booking. Hotel staff, including in bar/restaurant, were very nice, and the room was comfortable and immaculate. Free parking (if you want to avoid paying for valet parking) is available about a block away, but the walk is a bit deserted and dark later in the evening. Not anything I would want to do alone, not knowing the area. BUT you can park on Main Street (in front of hotel) for free after 6 pm - metered parking kicks in at 10 am. So, park your care on the street if it is late, and then move it to the parking lot before 10 am. Reception has a great little map of the parking options.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the elevators on the 2nd floor - there are two banquet rooms on the 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay at the Inn at Middletown. I was happy that the staff exceeded your expectations during your stay. Thank you for also letting everyone know about our parking options as we want our guests to have the option of either self parking or valet. Hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

An amazing hotel, all the staff went above and beyond to accommodate our needs. They really couldn't do enough. We stayed at the hotel because we needed to be near to the hospital for an unwell family member, each time we returned to the hotel, the staff showed a genuine interest on the status of our unwell family member. The comfort of the hotel made such a difference to the unpleasant reason we were there. The food was wonderful and the rooms spotless. I would love to return to this hotel in future for better reasons and enjoy it properly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Claire, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at the Inn at Middletown. I really appreciate the kind words about the staff as we really try and make every guests feel like they are home when they are with us. I hope that everything turned out well for you and your family and that your next stay with us will be a more relaxing one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middletown

Address: 70 Main Street, Middletown, CT 06457
Location: United States > Connecticut > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Middletown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened November 2003, the former National Guard Armory on historic Main Street in downtown Middletown has been transformed into a 100 room boutique hotel. The marble lobby is enhanced by a spiral staircase that goes up to the second level pre-function area. Guests can enjoy a variety of on-site amenities including the Tavern at the Armory restaurant and lounge, indoor heated pool, exercise room, and Jacuzzi. In-room dining, free high speed internet access in all rooms, and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middletown Hotel Middletown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Middletown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.