We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Treatment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Middletown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Middletown to your Saves list
Inn at Middletown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Main Street, Middletown, CT 06457   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middletown
West Babylon, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful Treatment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

The hotel was very average, nothing special or fancy however the staff at the front desk was terrible. They were rude, sarcastic and even screwed up our checking out by charging us twice. The accomodations were nice, but not worth the cost of the stay especially when parking is not provided. I would not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you for your imput regarding your stay at the Inn. We pride ourselves on exceptional service and it appears based on your comments as if we did not meet your expectations. I will be discussing these comments with my front office team so that it does not happen again. We appreciate the feedback and can only get better from it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    55
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
64
23
6
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

This was our third stay at the Armory. We meet family from all over the US here.
Love the food, the rooms, the fitness center and the pool. Perfect for walking to dinner and convenient parking. Staff is always nice and the beds are super comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottstown
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I had a diamond necklace and cash in my wallet that were both missing when I returned to my hotel room after being out for several hoursl. I think it had to have been someone on the staff who had a key to get into my room. I spoke to the general manager who said no one entered my room. Someone had to have come in and taken my things. I think they need to investigate all their staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
I am sorry about the loss of your property during your stay at the Inn. We conducted a detailed interigation of the lock and based the time lines of when you told us you entered and exited the room our finding showed that no other key entered the room during your entire stay besides yours and the person that was staying with you. I am sorry that we could not be of better help in this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed at the Inn for 3 nights for our daughters' wedding being held in Middletown. From the moment of check-in I knew this was going to be a wonderful weekend. The staff was the most accommodating group of hard working people I have ever encountered. From the parking attendant explaining options, to the front desk making arrangements for us, I can not say a big enough THANKS to all at this marvelous facility. The staff made us feel like we were long time friends. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Hotel was very comfortable, staff was very helpful and cordial.. not stuffy.
The Tavern restaurant has very good food, a nice menu and not pretentious.
A place where it was easy to feel well taken care of.
I would recommend this great place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, CT
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

This is a truely hidden gem. If you need a place to hold small weddings (50 to 70 people) there is no place better. The staff is outstanding and the Inn is absolutely elegant. Many of the people at our wedding stated they would come back for a weekend getaway, even though some of them live less than 30 minutes away. The food was outstanding (great chef) and the rooms were great!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

For a business meeting at Wesleyan, this is the only choice in town. Thankfully, it is just fine for a night or two with business at the University (it is within walking distance, but I assume if in Middletown one would have a car).

The hotel is relatively new, but made use of two of Middletown's more historic buildings in its construction so it has a classic feel. The entryway and lobby area is very charming. The upper floors and rooms are typical of a Courtyard or Hilton Garden Inn.

I do have a few complaints. 1st, the inner handle on the toilet (inside the tank) broke the first time I attempted to flush it. I called maintenance, they sent somebody from housekeeping to take a look. He indicated that they have the piece and their maintenance would fix it shortly. Well, needless to say, I was sticking my hand in the tank to pull the cord each time I needed to flush, as it was not fixed.

Second, the hotel has no on-site parking. You either need to valet at $12 a night or park in a number of surface lots they will direct you to and walk a few blocks (I can imagine this being difficult in the middle of winter).

So all in all, if you need to spend a night in Middletown, it's a safe bet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middletown

Address: 70 Main Street, Middletown, CT 06457
Location: United States > Connecticut > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Middletown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened November 2003, the former National Guard Armory on historic Main Street in downtown Middletown has been transformed into a 100 room boutique hotel. The marble lobby is enhanced by a spiral staircase that goes up to the second level pre-function area. Guests can enjoy a variety of on-site amenities including the Tavern at the Armory restaurant and lounge, indoor heated pool, exercise room, and Jacuzzi. In-room dining, free high speed internet access in all rooms, and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middletown Hotel Middletown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Middletown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.