We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean, comfy place close to Wesleyan University.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   31 Meriden Road, Middlefield, CT 06455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Middlefield
Biarritz
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A clean, comfy place close to Wesleyan University.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in this smal motel mant times since our daughter started at Wesleyan. While it doesn't have what the big hotel do (breakfast, lounge, restaurant, pool) It is very adequate and the Patel Family are wonderful hosts. And the price is definitely right!!
Terri, SF

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
Couples
0
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just back from an Eclectic reunion at Wesleyan. We needed several rooms for two nights -- and I was pleased to find this steal of a deal. Nothing fancy mind you, but the rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable, the price was right, and Jay -- the manager -- was wonderful. He had great suggestions for dining and was very helpful in general. There was a slight odor to the room, but once we had the air conditioning going -- that subsided.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My Mom stayed at this hotel while visiting me. The room was adequate, but what was totally unacceptable, unprofessional and rotten were the people who worked there. They could not speak English and refused to put any calls through to her room. Even when I spelled out her name they said there was no one there by that name. I gave them her room number another time and they said it was too late to put a call through at 9 p.m.!! I tried yet another time in the morning before she checked out. They said she was already gone. She was not gone! We will never use this hotel again. My Mom is elderly and does not have a cell phone and I needed to be able to get in touch with her using the hotel phone. Horrible place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalluP, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you experienced such an event. This is unacceptable at any hotel. However, we feel that you may have mixed up the hotel you actually stayed with. All of the individuals working at our hotel are fluent in English. We also have an auto-attendant which answers all phone calls. The auto-attendant allows our customers' friends or relatives to directly dial into the guest's room. We hope that you will give us a try the next time you are in the Middletown, CT area. I will make it my personal goal to make your or your family's stay a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at this motel while visiting Wesleyan University. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and despite facing out onto the highway it was quiet. The staff was very friendly and had great suggestions for dining in nearby Middleton. The location is so/so, about 15 minutes from downtown Middletown, but the reasonable price more than compensates for the short drive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalluP, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to keep our property clean and comfortable as well as accommodate our guests' requests. I thank you for taking time out of your day to post a response and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Staying at this motel for a couple of weeks. Rooms are very clean people are very friendly and the area is great. If I had to stay at a motel again this would be the place I would stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

On a stop over to N.H. we stayed here. Very clean, fridge in room, great beds, all facilities in very good shape! It was quiet, and easy to find with my GPS.
The office staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would stay here again without hesitation.
I used a coupon that I got at a local rest stop, since it was a last minute check-in, it was accepted immediately.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

To be honest my hopes were not set to high, but it well exceededour expectation on all levels. Comparing apples to apples...this is not a hilton..

Rooms - CLEAN. Bright. no musty smell. There are not too many ammenities but you do get a Mini fridge with a microwave. There is a major grocery store half mile down the street, as well as a huge variety of restarants from fast food, diners, pizza chinese and sit downs. There is HIGH SPEED internet [5mb down and up] as well as direct tv. great place for the money..

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 31 Meriden Road, Middlefield, CT 06455
Location: United States > Connecticut > Middlefield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Middlefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn is located in the heart of beautiful Middletown, Connecticut. Our one floor outside corridor facility offers 20 spacious guest rooms. All our guest rooms are furnished with complimentary high-speed wireless internet access, microwave and mini-fridge are available upon request, cable TV with HBO, and AM-FM clock radio. We also have a barbecue area. We have 24 hour security and our front desk is staffed 24 hours. We are confident you will find your stay with us a very enjoyable experience. Middletown is located in Middlesex County, Connecticut, along the Connecticut River, in the south-central part of the state, a short distance south of Hartford. It features the best of urban, suburban, and rural New England. Middletown has big resources from high tech medical services at Middlesex Hospital, to top-rated education at Wesleyan University. The city has a historic downtown, Main St. reveals a dynamic and diverse mix of people working, playing, shopping, dining, celebrating, entertaining, and visiting. Middletown has several restaurants that are known statewide, large parks, and many recreational opportunities. Some must see area attractions -Downtown Hartford, Pratt and Whitney Aircraft, Aetna, The Connecticut Convention Center, The Mark Twain House - Museum, Six Flags New England, Mohegan Sun Casino Hotel and Live Entertainment, Mystic Aquarium and Institute for Exploration, Foxwoods Resort Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.