We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plume of Feathers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Plume of Feathers to your Saves list
Plume of Feathers
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Mitchell, Mitchell TR8 5AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Mitchell B&B and Inns
Iddesleigh, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have just had a wonderful few days with some very special friends at the Plume of Feathers. The accommodation was very comfortable, clean, fresh and pleasant to spend time in. Food was also very very good. As a vegetarian, who does not eat any dairy, nothing was too much trouble. The chef provided fantastic food which was delicious. I usually have problems finding somewhere that is able to provide a decent meal. All of the staff were friendly and helpful.
As this trip was a special one, it was important that the venue was right, and this one could not have been better. Another visit will definitely be planned.
Deb"PansyPotter"Walsh

Room Tip: Hen house was a lovely place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    21
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
34
40
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Paul and his team couldn't do more to make you feel welcome and provide great service. The rooms, inn and restaurant are great. An ideal spot for visiting beaches, the Plume is a real hidden gem. Breakfasts are a particular highlight - everything you might fancy from the full Cornish to baker Tom's cinnamon bread and ultra freshly squeezed orange. The scallops and pork loin were 2 of my favourites - our teenagers favoured the Plume burger and the gnocchi. Great value too, definitely recommended for couples and grown up families who enjoy fab food in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: All lovely, with beautiful iron bedsteads. The family room is my favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was a little apprehensive at first but when me and my partner arrived we were greeted by friendly staff and showed to our room which was an upgrade to our original booking. We stayed in the "Hen House" which had impeccable cleanliness , the room was very warm and cosy and the bed very comfortable , in the morning we went for our breakfast in the conservatory was given excellent choice and the food was great, we will be returning hopefully before the year is out and hopefully for a longer stay as we only had one night there due to work commitments , it is quite close to town also, im a very very fussy person when staying away from home but this place was great !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here (17/18th September). Really lovely place. Stayed in the Hen House which was amazing. Friendly staff, food delicious & very clean, comfortable accommodation. Just what was needed & would definitely return

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I would highly recommend staying here. Great accommodation, great food (breakfast and evening meal in the pub), good choice of menu, friendly, helpful and welcoming service. Staff went out of their way to make sure we git the things we needed. Will definitely stay here again when we are in this area again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

When away for a week we normally like to try different pub/restaurants. However, The Plume of Feathers was so good we visited three times.
The Plume is not prepossessing from the outside; however, inside, the main bar and restaurant areas have been furnished in contemporary style.Tables are well spaced. In addition there is a large well furnished conservatory.
We had possibly one of the best Sunday roasts we've ever had out, and two excellent evening meals.
There is an extensive menu (with different ''Specials' on each of our visits), well kept beers and a good wine list (very good quality and reasonably priced).
Food was of good quality, well presented, and good sized portions (also good to see a reasonable choice of smaller portions).
Service was friendly, attentive and efficient.
Just a shame it's 200 miles from home!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckfastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Susan and I had dinner here on our way home, Good selection of wines and beers with great decor and lovely ambiance, I had a rump steak rare, with hand cut chips and mushrooms which was excellent, Susan had a crab platter with new potatoes which she really enjoyed, all washed down with a glass or two of Merlot.
Service was excellent, polite and helpful, we will most certainly eat here again and highly recommend the Plume to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plume of Feathers

Address: Mitchell, Mitchell TR8 5AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mitchell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plume of Feathers 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century coaching inn set in the leafy village of Mitchell, The Plume of Feathers is a destination restaurant with AA 4 star rooms. Located just off the A30 we are ideally placed for exploring Newquay, The Eden Project and Truro. Our menu takes inspiration from the great Cornish larder using fresh fish, locally reared meats and small organic suppliers.With its roaring log fires, beamed ceilings and friendly, cosy ambience on one side and a cool, contemporary conservatory space on the other, the Plume of Feathers is the ideal venue for many occasions. Why not take breakfast in the conservatory from 9am? Or pop in for lunch in the beer garden (if the weather allows!) Or how about dinner next to the warm log burner on a cold winter’s day? Serving fabulous food all-day everyday of the year, we have a space to suit your every mood.Our seasonal menu and twice daily changing specials use the very best local and organic ingredients. Head chef, Paul McKenna, has long established himself in Cornwall for cooking classic British dishes with a modern Mediterranean influence. Paul and his passionate team love using the freshest fish, traceable/properly reared meats and fine fruit and vegetables - some of which come from Mitchells’ own fruit farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Plume of Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plume Of Feathers Hotel Newquay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plume of Feathers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.