We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal in pleasant surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plume of Feathers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Plume of Feathers to your Saves list
Plume of Feathers
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Mitchell, Mitchell TR8 5AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Mitchell B&B and Inns
Portreath
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good meal in pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Four of us had a very pleasant meal in the conservatory at the pub, we had a variety of dishes including pork, hake, plaice with italian breads, olives etc for starters, sweets, cheese and drinks. The meal could have been a little better priced but service was very good indeed. Would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    21
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
34
40
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My young family and I stayed at the Plume of Feathers for 5 nights and booked in the Tack room (5). From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a friendly smile which continued throughout our stay. The room was outstanding, plenty of space, storage and very very clean. The food is outstanding together with the service we received. Nothing was too much trouble by any of the staff. In my opinion if visiting Cornwall you would have missed out if you don't stay at the Plume of Feathers. Totally 1st class. Thank you.

Room Tip: If traveling with young children book the tack room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Myself, partner and our two dogs (boxer lab cross) have just returned from a 5 night stay at this wonderful B&B. The rooms were modern and spacious, great value and has set a new high standard for us in dog friendly accommodation.

People.
The staff were very friendly, attentive and efficient; going out of their way to give advice on best beaches and walks etc in the area. The rooms were spotless and the cleaning was to a very good standard.

Food:
Breakfasts were very good, and we were not disappointed with any of the evening meals we had. The food here is fresh, the menu varied and produced to a great standard. Whilst we ate in the bar with the dogs, the restaurant always seemed popular with an efficient turnover and plenty of happy diners.

Location:
Mitchell is very easy to get to from the A30 and has a lovely community feel. The locals were just as friendly as the staff and help to create the relaxed and friendly atmosphere in the Plume. Newquay is within easy reach and this is a fantastic location for exploring most of Cornwall.

We would definitely recommend the Plume to anyone, whether your dog is part of your family or you are pet free. Having stayed at supposed ‘pet friendly’ places in the past (as long as they are not seen!) this was a refreshing change and will be hard to beat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay. We were down from Scotland for a wedding and what a
joy after a long journey to find ourselves in a little piece of country just a slip road off the carriageway. We had a family room for 4 and a double room. Walking through the gardens to our rooms was a joy - everyone loved the hens roaming about! The rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. It was great to stay somewhere with character and charm. The breakfast
was delicious, plenty of choice and the service was second to none. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Family room was really big with a double bed, 2 singles and a very big comfy settee. The children we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield notts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just returned from our 2week holiday at The Plume.This was our 6th time staying here and we are never disapointed.Paul and is staff are wonderful,nothing is ever too much trouble and Jooles the housekeeper and her staff are brilliant at keeping everywhere spottless.Paul McKenna is a marvel in the kitchen and every meal we had there was delicious. My daughter and her husband and two grandsons also went with us this year and loved it so much that like us theyve booked again for next year. Paul was a firm favourite with the boys who really looked forward to seeing him at breakfast every morning. There arent many places left like The plume the owners should be really proud of it and their staff. See you next year.

Room Tip: We always stay in the Hen House Suite which is wonderful but any room there is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ollerton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

As the owners of a B&B we are always the most critical of guests; however our stay here was a pleasure.

Having read a couple of the feedbacks, we were a little nervous, however this was needless - and of course one should always remember that there are two sides to every story!!!

From the moment we booked the room (which was late one evening and you could here the pub was full) to check out the staff and manager could not have been more accommodating, friendly and efficient. Even down to providing suggestions for places to visit with maps.

The room (The Tack Room) was enormous, spotlessly clean and beautifully situated. The bathroom, whilst compact, was more than adequate, with shower, toilet and sink. Again this room was spotlessly clean, with nice toiletries and very soft towels.

Breakfast again was a delight, cooked to order, fresh individually made coffee and fresh local produce.

I could not recommend this highly enough, and should it be closer to our B&B, it would certainly give us a run for our money.

Room Tip: If it is available, do ask for the Tack Room. A very large family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Spent the weekend here while visiting friends nearby. Lovely rooms well appointed with comfy bed and nice fluffy towels. Terrific Cornish breakfast and very good service. Also dined there on the friday and had a wonderful meal in a very convivial atmosphere - the sardines were excellent.
The village is handy for Truro and the coast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plume of Feathers

Address: Mitchell, Mitchell TR8 5AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mitchell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plume of Feathers 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century coaching inn set in the leafy village of Mitchell, The Plume of Feathers is a destination restaurant with AA 4 star rooms. Located just off the A30 we are ideally placed for exploring Newquay, The Eden Project and Truro. Our menu takes inspiration from the great Cornish larder using fresh fish, locally reared meats and small organic suppliers.With its roaring log fires, beamed ceilings and friendly, cosy ambience on one side and a cool, contemporary conservatory space on the other, the Plume of Feathers is the ideal venue for many occasions. Why not take breakfast in the conservatory from 9am? Or pop in for lunch in the beer garden (if the weather allows!) Or how about dinner next to the warm log burner on a cold winter’s day? Serving fabulous food all-day everyday of the year, we have a space to suit your every mood.Our seasonal menu and twice daily changing specials use the very best local and organic ingredients. Head chef, Paul McKenna, has long established himself in Cornwall for cooking classic British dishes with a modern Mediterranean influence. Paul and his passionate team love using the freshest fish, traceable/properly reared meats and fine fruit and vegetables - some of which come from Mitchells’ own fruit farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Plume of Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plume Of Feathers Hotel Newquay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plume of Feathers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.