We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull time ,Great rooms, service and food was amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plume of Feathers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Plume of Feathers to your Saves list
Plume of Feathers
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Mitchell, Mitchell TR8 5AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Mitchell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfull time ,Great rooms, service and food was amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I booked this break via late rooms. The trip was myself and my mum for a bit of relaxation, pampering and eat some good food. We had a lovely room (the hen house) which was decorated well and most secluded with lots of space. The bed was big and the shower was powerful!
We ate here for both evenings as the food was so good, the portions are generous and the price is fair. The food is all local produce and organic of which you can tell, we seen the chefs picking herbs for our dinner from their herb garden. Breakfast is amazing and is a lot of choice, they have picked good quality tea and fresh juice and this really makes the difference. The conservatory area is lovely to eat in and as we were so lucky with the weather, it made the experience more enjoyable.
The staff are all friendly, welcoming and without pestering you.
Overall i cannot fault anything, we had a truely wonderful time and will deffintly be back to try out a roast dinner soon, Thank you!

Room Tip: The hen house is the most remote! worth the extra money :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    27
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
45
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We followed a calf down a small country lane and found this gem. Rooms were charming and formed from the original outbuildings of the pub. The restaurant food was so good we made sure we were back from the beach each day for our evening meal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We found the Plume via the internet and were attracted by the rooms, the food and the very friendly responses to our emails. Reality did not disappoint - we enjoyed 2 very pleasant nights at the Plume of Feathers and some excellent food - the Full Cornish breakfast is a bit of a handful to finish but I managed. The room was fresh, clean and welcoming and all of the staff we met treated us with courtesy and a friendly but professional approach. The Conseravtory provides a super place for dinner despite the awful weather we suffered and the bar serves Doom Bar so who cares about the rain! Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: The Superior doubles are well worth the extra - quiet and well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We were recommended The Plume by some close friends who had stayed there previously and we were not disappointed. Our room was beautifully decorated, clean and the linen was fresh. The service was friendly and the food was delicious, probably the best breakfasts we've ever had.
Convenient & central location for touring Cornwall. Will recommend The Plume without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wescliff-on-Sea, Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We found this restaurant whilst staying at a nearby holiday cottage in St Newlyn East and enjoyed our meal so much that we returned again two days later. Food was lovely, all piping hot and freshly cooked. Staff were very attentive, however on our second trip it appeared that they were slighly under-staffed, although thankfully it was not too busy and therefore didn't affect the overall experience too much. I preferred sitting in the old part of the restaurant as I felt it had a more cosy feel, as opposed to the new part which was situated in a very large, modern conservatory area. Our daugher, a rather fussy eater, said the fish goujons were the best she had ever had. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We visited for lunch yesterday, on out way back from a long weekend in Cornwall to Bucks. This was a return visit, having had quite a good experience the first time. This time, the service was friendly but very slow, although the place was almost empty. We ordered the same dish - a special of the day. When the plates arrived - "whole plaice with roasted potatoes", the plaice were really small and the potatoes were seriously under-cooked. Paying the bill then turned out to be "challenging" as the waitress was too busy and there was no-one at the bar. It felt like the establishement was seriously under-staffed. The bill was expensive for what we had. I doubt we will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Couldn't have wished for a better place for to stay and explore the area. It over exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plume of Feathers

Address: Mitchell, Mitchell TR8 5AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mitchell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plume of Feathers 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century coaching inn set in the leafy village of Mitchell, The Plume of Feathers is a destination restaurant with AA 4 star rooms. Located just off the A30 we are ideally placed for exploring Newquay, The Eden Project and Truro. Our menu takes inspiration from the great Cornish larder using fresh fish, locally reared meats and small organic suppliers.With its roaring log fires, beamed ceilings and friendly, cosy ambience on one side and a cool, contemporary conservatory space on the other, the Plume of Feathers is the ideal venue for many occasions. Why not take breakfast in the conservatory from 9am? Or pop in for lunch in the beer garden (if the weather allows!) Or how about dinner next to the warm log burner on a cold winter's day? Serving fabulous food all-day everyday of the year, we have a space to suit your every mood.Our seasonal menu and twice daily changing specials use the very best local and organic ingredients. Head chef, Rich Humphries, has long established himself in Cornwall for cooking classic British dishes with a modern influence. Rich and his passionate team love using the freshest fish, traceable/properly reared meats and fine fruit and vegetables - some of which come from Mitchells' own fruit farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Plume of Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plume Of Feathers Hotel Newquay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plume of Feathers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.