We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lifetime haven for anyone who loves motorcycles!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabot Trail Motorcycle Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middle River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabot Trail Motorcycle Retreat
Save
You added Cabot Trail Motorcycle Retreat to your Saves list
2716 Middle River West RD | Middle River, Middle River, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A lifetime haven for anyone who loves motorcycles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is THE place to go, but only if you appreciate quality hosts, friendly atmosphere, beautiful scenery & a place to leave the fast pace of city life far behind. Wonderful hosts who gear their day to yours, allowing you to go at the speed you're comfortable with. Yes, motorcycles are the theme in more ways than you can appreciate, but the truly special hosts are gems by themselves, intelligent conversation or relaxed chatting on the porch while you inhale the fresh air found only in the cleanest of countryside. It's a little off the beaten path, & I'm sure the pool will be great if they ever put one in. No fitness center required, hiking is available whenever you wish. We will be back. This absolutely tops my personal list!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just 3 words: we loved it !

Had the best time!!! Hosts are wonderful, down to earth, real people !

See you in August !!! Swimming in the ocean, the river, going on the barge, cooking out, as well as seeing an eagle...The Cabot Trail on motorcycle was awesome (even in the rain)!

Sitting outside just chilling and star watching and searching for falling stars.

Angela and Patrick are very easy going and laidback people. Their retreat is comfy as well as clean and full of pride that they share with their guests...It was our first time and we are going back ! Can't wait ! (I think I mentioned that already)...just was so much fun !

Kathy & Rick , NH

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, Owner at Cabot Trail Motorcycle Retreat, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Rick & Kathy,

We can't express enough how grateful we are to be in the business of attracting kindred spirits such as yourselves. The simple fact that you are friends of Wanda and Allan from New Hampshire made you an instant hit without any introduction. Having you stay with us, ride with us and share your time and stories have made us all the better people for it and hopefully better hosts because of it.

We have 3 words too... You're both terrific!

Can't wait to see this August!! All the best until then.

Angela and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fultonville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stumble across Cabot trail Motorcycle Retreat on another Cabot Trail related web site days before leaving on my first trip to Nova Scotia and Cape Breton Island in July 2012. What a jewel of a place if traveling by motorcycle or if you are interested in motorcycles. Honestly even if you had no interest in motorcycles this place can be appreciated by most people. A quiet country setting with magnificent view from the front porch. Patrick and Angela have create a comfortable environment from the first phone call for reservations. They are both avid motorcyclists and Patrick fit in a short ride on one of his favorite twisty roads. They are both passionate about Cape Breton island and can offer recomendations for places to see and where to ride. They will be offering guided tours soon and I am sure these tours will be fun rides to places many might miss. The location near Baddeck is a great base to explore all of Cape Breton Island.
Rooms..and the whole house..and the outside...are decorated with motorcycle items that keep you looking for something you might have missed. A garage to park your bike in is a nice bonus also.
I feel sorry for the Cape Breton Island visitor that stays at a generic hotel/motel and does not experience this jewel of a B&B.
I look forward to my next chance to visit my friends at the Cabot Trail Motorcycle Retreat.

Room Tip: Each room has a different motorcycle theme, you might want to pick the one that matches what you rid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, Owner at Cabot Trail Motorcycle Retreat, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome review and deciding to make us a part of your adventure. I can't stress enough how much we enjoy meeting motorcyclists from all over the world. We've been so lucky to have people like you who can appreciate the island for what it is, a magical place to ride, relax and share the fellowship of motorcycle travel.

All the best to you & yours and we look forward to having you relax with some cold ones on our porch again.

Cheers,
Angela & Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here in September 2011 and it was our favorite place to stay on our two week bike tour. We liked it so much we stayed an extra night and rode the Cabot Trail in both directions. Super friendly hosts, awesome accommodations and we loved the decor. I have recommended the Cabot Trail Motorcycle Retreat to every biker I know.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, Owner at Cabot Trail Motorcycle Retreat, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you very much for staying at our biker B&B and allowing us to make you feel at home with us. Your review gives us the confidence to continue on our journey to strive for excellence and ensure that every booking results in ultimate satisfaction.

We greatly appreciate your business, kind words and of course free advertising. :o)
Thanks for making our jobs so easy!

May the wind always be at your back,
Patrick and Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stumbled onto the Cabot Trail Retreat the first year they had opened. That was the summer of 2008. We were on a motorcycle vacation to Nova Scotia from New Hampshire, there were 2 bikes traveling and 3 people. We never plan our trips we just take to the open road and book places to stay as we go along. We stopped at the Information Center after you cross the causeway heading into Cape Breton. We found the advertisement for the Cabot Trail Retreat in the information magazine at the information center. The fact the ad mentioned they were a motorcycle retreat catering to motorcyclists caught our eye. The Information center called and booked the Cabot Trail Retreat for us I believe for 2 nights. When we arrived Patrick was waiting outside for us and welcomed us to Nova Scotia. We put our bikes into the garage and Patrick and Angela welcomed us into their home, showed us around and to our rooms so we could settled in. Those were the best 2 nights of our trip all week long. They were the most pleasant couple we could have ever met. Loving, caring, kind, passionate, genuine people. Well needless to say we have now returned to the Cabot Trail Retreat a total of 4 times. This past summer we brought a new couple with us for our 4th time, and they can not stop talking about what a wonderful time they had and can not wait to go back. The area is so beautiful with so much to offer. The scenery, the rides, the beaches, the river,the people, the tours etc...... You could be there for two weeks and never get bored with so much to do. Sit outside at night and enjoy the peace and quiet of nature and watch the starry skys, and we were lucky enough to have a meteor shower one year. The rooms are comfy, beds are VERY comfy,they take pride in their home. You can tell walking thru the house how much this place means to Patrick and Angela. They have put there heart and soul into this place the passion they have for their home, the area and new friends they meet shows in everyway. They enjoy sharing their home, stories and life with their guests. I would HIGHLY with no doubt recommend and pomote the Cabot Trail Motorcycle Retreat to anyone traveling in the area. You will not be disappointed in anyway. I think our history tells it all like I mentioned we have been back 4 times and plan on another trip this summer. Ride Like the Wind, Live each day like it is your last. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: They offer 3 rooms, any anyone one of them rate equally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, Owner at Cabot Trail Motorcycle Retreat, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much to our "New Hampshire Crew" for the glowing review, repeat business and giving us the opportunity to share our island community with you time and again. It is always our great pleasure to be hosts to such friendly, kind and generous people like yourselves.

Being the best at what we do is something we always strive for so when we have guests that make it a privilege to share space, stories and time together it feels more like being with friends.
Thank you for making our job like a vacation.

As always looking forward to your next visit and our next adventure with you all.

All the best to our American cousins,
Patrick and Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This is not the date we went and it was their first year open. We were one of the first guests.

We didn't know what to expect when we arrived at the driveway and saw the bikes for the driveway marker. My husband said "what have you gotten us into now" thinking bikes, gangs, transients. I said it was all goo and I had had wonderful contact with the owners. What a pleasant surprise.

Not only were they the nicest people. They were very kind and genuine. They were just starting out. The rooms were both ours. The story of how they got there and their plans for the future were wonderful to hear about. My 9 year old loved it and next time we will do the walks.

I promote this retreat all the time and I hear they have been making their dream come true. I can't wait to return for another Cape Breton adventure.

Some day I will put my photos in.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick L, Owner at Cabot Trail Motorcycle Retreat, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words and giving our retreat the opportunity to make you feel comfortable and welcomed. We still have photo's of your boy on the 1953 BSA c11 and it always bring a smile to our faces.

We constantly strive to improve our business practice in order to ensure our guests experience the friendly and personal touch that makes every visit special.

All the best to your family and we hope to see you again.
Patrick & Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabot Trail Motorcycle Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Trail Motorcycle Retreat

Address: 2716 Middle River West RD | Middle River, Middle River, Nova Scotia B0E 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Middle River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Middle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabot Trail Motorcycle Retreat is designed to be a motorcycle travelers haven, your home away from home, owned and operated by motorcyclists for motorcyclists. In the historic village of Middle River, our location is perfect for those wanting the tranquility of natural surroundings within minutes of all amenities. We are within 15 minutes from the beautiful village of Baddeck and only a 8KM stretch from the beginning of the world famous Cabot Trail. Middle River is known for its fishing, swimming and kayaking. The fresh water river runs into the island's in land sea, the Bras d’Or Lakes and less than 5km from our door. If you’ve never been to Cape Breton you will surely fall in love with all the island has to offer especially the breath taking scenic drives. When planning your motorcycle touring adventure contact us about the various packages we offer, including motorcycle guided tours for on and off road experiences. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabot Trail Motorcycle Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.