We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Meriden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Meriden to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Meriden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Research Parkway, Meriden, CT 06450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Meriden
CT
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

My husband stayed at this hotel for one night to attend a seminar. He was very pleased with the customer service and the room he received. At first the room he was given was not cleaned yet so they gave him a handicapped room right near the elevator as requested. It was fine. He called the front desk to request something that was missing from the bathroom and they brought it right up. He received a complimentary cocktail for being a Starwoods member which was also nice. The hotel has room service and the restaurant was good. I found him an online discount for AAA members and he also received a full breakfast coupon (and a $20.00 additional savings). He would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    44
    25
    27
See reviews for
38
29
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

Walked in my room, smelled like damp carpet and mildew.
After a long day at a soccer tournament, my teammates and I were looking forward to a quiet night resting for the next days games. Unfortunately we walked into the hotel during the Saints and Sinners halloween ball. The event seemed innocent enough at the start, 200+ middle aged couples having a costume party with a raffle to boot! We quickly realized that this was no ordinary halloween ball... the 200+ couples were part of a larger Swingers association. We returned to our rooms to listen to the orgy on either side of the walls... left immediately and tried to find a place in the hotel to find some peace and quiet, our next mistake was entering the pool area. This was where we stumbled upon upwards of 8 couples having sex both in and on the side of the pool. While running away from the scene, we were chastised by the hotel manager for being in and around the fitness area after hours.
The only safe location to avoid this rampant party of sex addicts was the lobby...or so we thought. In only 20 minutes in the lobby, we were approached by zues, a pirate, a couple naughty nurses and at least 2 zombies asking if we wanted to join them upstairs for another "round"... needless to say the underage kids sitting with us felt very confused/uncomfortable.

Shame on you Starwood for allowing this event to occur at the hotel, especially when management was fully aware of the antics that we were forced to witnesss.
For shame.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4pointsmanager, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Meriden, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feelings regarding your October stay at the Four Points by Sheraton in Meriden. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a satisfactory experience during your visit. It is our goal to provide a safe, secure environment which caters to a variety of individuals. If you feel that we failed do to so I would welcome the oppurtunity to speak with you in person. My contact information is listed on the hotel's website. Please do not hesistate to reach out to me.

I want to ensure all readers that any events at our hotel are properly managed in the past and in the future. Any events that may be held at the hotel are contained to private function areas and guest rooms. The does not and will not ever permit and acts that would violate the trust and ethics of our guest. The hotel is committed to guest satisfaction and will always make this our top priority.

Sincerely,

Jay Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Front desk service was great. After that, everything went downhill. Beds are very uncomfortable for two people (sag in the middle). Bathroom was not clean; hair from previous occupants or cleaning staff was everywhere. Bathroom had mold in the corners. Tub would not drain. Shower was either extremely hot or cold - no in between. A/C unit was loud and smelled.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4pointsmanager, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Meriden, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

I am sorry to hear that your recent stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations and that we failed to provide you with a problem free experience. Our team works extremely hard to ensure that each guest is provided with a clean room which is free of all maintenance issues. I am extremely sorry to hear that you may have experienced otherwise and I would like to ensure you that this is not typical of our hotel and the guest experience at this hotel. I am happy however that all the items you mentioned are 100% correctable and that our team will work to identify your guest room and correct these issues so that another guest does not experience the same issues. If you would like to discuss the stay on a more personal level, please feel free to reach out to me at the hotel. Your business is very important to us and we will work extremely had to earn your trust and loyalty back.

Sincerely

Jay Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

As a Starwood property, this hotel has to be in the "extreme makeover" list. Last month, we stayed at Four Points in Leominster, MA and found the Leominster Four Points several notches above the Four Points Meriden. Even though we stayed for just one night [Sept. 3], it was not difficult to notice tell-tale signs that this hotel has seen better days. The sofa in our room was a bit worn and in the room itself, there is a strange sort of smell...not sure if it's mothballs. The carpet and elevators can use an upgrade. The one redeeming factor is that the bathroom is clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4pointsmanager, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Meriden, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

I am sorry to hear that the current condition of the hotel did not meet your expecations. However, I am happy to announce that renovations are underway! The hotel is currently in the process of repairing and repainting the facade of the property which will be followed by installation of new carpet in our public spaces. Additionally, we are in the planning process of other projects which we hope will enhance the guest experience. We are excited and plan on keeping the community posted with the various projects that will be completed.

Sincerely

Jay Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed here for business in the greater Hartford area, on a points & cash SPG award (a superb value-for-money deal).

Even though the staff member at the front desk was only on the phone for the first five seconds after I arrived, she apologized for the delay and immediately made me feel welcome. Apparently, they had some sort of promo running for SPG members, with which I won a free appetizer in the on-site restaurant, as well as some SPG points. This, of course, was very nice.

The interior of the hotel looks a bit dated, but the room itself was pretty good. I appreciated the in-room welcome letter from the manager, which included my current SPG points balance (all Starwood hotels should do this!). Had a decent night's sleep, thanks to the so-called Four Comfort bed. Outside noise was never an issue.

The swimming pool was great as well. The hotel had ample parking space as well.

All in all, a nice stay, and I would definitely not mind returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I was initially nervous about staying @ the hotel aftern reading the reviews, as we were coming in for a wedding. "As they say, you can't believe everything you read." Granted this hotel is a bit outdated, they are undergoing renovations to the exterior, However the room itself is very spacious and I had a great night sleep in my king size bed with very clean linens. I had no problems with the A/C or any noise level. The bathroom had all the amenities that you would expect and noticed updated granite counter tops. Management is doing all they can to make their guests comfortable. I would stay again @ this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Staff helpful & friendly. Rooms clean and comfortable. Price reasonable. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Meriden

Address: 275 Research Parkway, Meriden, CT 06450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Meriden 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Meriden is centrally located at the crossroads of Connecticut; we're in the middle of one of the fastest growing industrial parks in the state. Quinnipiac University, Yale University, Wesleyan University, Gouveia Vineyards, and the Chevrolet (Oakdale) Theater are all a short drive away. Meriden Connecticut is a great place to visit in the summer with Historic Hubbard Park and Mirror Lake close by. Lake Compounce Theme Park is a short drive away offering plenty of family friendly activities including the Anchor Bay Water Park. In the mood for some golf? Check out the nearby TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Connecticut. Talk about cozy. Come and relax in our comfortable guest rooms featuring the Four Points by Sheraton Four Comfort Beds, 27" televisions featuring cable, free wireless internet, individual climate control, radio/alarm clock, coffee maker and room service! In addition all guests can enjoy, our Business Center, Free parking, our luxurious, heated indoor pool, exercise room/facilities and our 100% smoke-free environment. Planning a meeting or event? We offer 18 different meeting space venues as well as audio/visual equipment and Technicians! Hang out in our newly-opened Silver City Sports Bar and Grille. Catch the game on one of 14 large or plasma screen TVs. Personal table speakers will make sure you don't miss a minute of the action. Gather your friends and family and join in the fun while enjoying a tasty treat from the family-friendly menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points Meriden Hotel Meriden
4 Points Meriden
Meriden Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Meriden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.