We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“steak house with big portions and salad bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of American Steak House

American Steak House
1170 E Main St, Meriden, CT 06450-4857
203-634-9994
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 130 Restaurants in Meriden
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“steak house with big portions and salad bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The food tasted just ok. the portions were huge. The salad bar was the best part, lots of choices both healthy and un healthy.

Do not order and side dishes because the main dish portion is big plus the salad bar has some really nice choices.

the cake icing is very deceptive looks like ice-cream.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North West Ct
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice Salad Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Ate here on a Monday between lunch and dinner. Sometimes we like to eat at a buffet. This chain offers a good Value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Quick and inexpensive meal but not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Good selection, but the quality of the food including the salad bar was not very good. My colleagues and I ended up here late after checking into the Hampton Inn which is just down the road, but wish we would have found a higher end resturant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Value, OK Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Since I live 3 blocks from here, it's only fitting that I write a review. A quick note: this is NOT a gourmet restaurant; however, for what you get, it is hard to think of a better value. I think the worst part about the place is the service: it's TOO good. Just as you're starting to eat what you got at the salad bar: your entree arrives - usually with a loud plop on the table. So you have to eat VERY quickly or it will all get cold before you're finished. The Texas toast which accompanies the entree is cold and unappetizing, but the salad bar has some surprisingly good choices.

Actually, if they would just slow down a bit, and provide a bit more of a leisurely pace, this place could be fabulous! The food and choices are nice - but the frenetic atmosphere makes it a place to wolf down a meal rather than savor it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Better than you would think”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We go because our 6 year old granddaughter like the lollipops and the salad bar, but the rib eye steak is very tasty and the saws bar is extensive. It is cheap!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Steak House also viewed

 

Been to American Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.