We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long-Term Stay is enjoyable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1151 East Main Street, Meriden, CT 06450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Meriden
Meriden, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Long-Term Stay is enjoyable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As we sold our house and our new house is not ready yet, we have been staying at the Hawthorne Suites three and a half months and plan to be here at least for another month. During this time, we have experienced nothing but the best care by the best staff ever. Each and every one of the staff is so accommodating and wonderful. Special shout out for Tanya the evening front desk person... always so friendly, fun, accommodating and professional. As with most of the staff, she has made our long-term stay very enjoyable. Another shout out to Noemi the cook, who makes you feel like you are at her home for dinner, always smiling and doing her best to make the guests happy. The staff here has become a big part of our life and sometimes we even question whether we want to go to our new house or stay here!

Room Tip: The west side of the building has the greatest sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    87
    46
    21
    19
See reviews for
96
44
29
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I travel for work spending 4-13 weeks in hotels and this is by the far the cleanest, most comfortable, and has friendly staff. Great breakfast every morning; eggs, french toast, muffins, bagels, omlets, bacon, oatmeal, yogurt, cereal...and more. Dinner Mon-Wed, cookies every night, nice workout area, free wifi and cable.....very, very pleased and will always look for a Hawthorn where I travel to next. Tania and the front desk has always been extremely helpful, bending over backwards to make sure I have what I need.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

We were very disappointed in the breakfast offered at the hotel. We came down to the front desk at 8:25 to inform the staff that our heater in the room was making loud noises and we wanted someone to inspect it. My family proceeded to have breakfast. The waffle machine was empty and there were no eggs or sausages left. The coffee machine was also empty. My family and a few other families informed the lady on staff of the situation. As we waited people who checked into the hotel the night before paying $29.00 for their rooms came to eat. They went into the kitchen area with children and began to talk to the lady on staff. At 9:55 I went to the kitchen to see how much longer she would be. She got upset, came out the kitchen and pointed to the clock to tell me breakfast was over at 9. I told her our families had been waiting since 8:30 (4) families. She walked away went into the kitchen and continued talking with the people who came to eat at 8:45. I went to the front desk explained the situation to her and she told me she would help the lady. She told us the lady was probably overwhelmed. As we went back to the breakfast area. The cook came out the kitchen with food for the people who paid $29.00 for their rooms and was smiling and talking to them as they stacked plates of food to bring to their rooms, no questions asked or problems concerning the time of their arrival for breakfast. We finally got help from the lady at the front desk and received leftovers. Staff and their families should never come before paying guests. Not recommending or using this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

I'm truly and sincerely sorry for the experience you had with us. As you can porbably tell from other reviews & our ranking that this was an anamoly, not the norm. I would like to personally talk to you and make this right for you. Please reach out to me to further discuss this.

Sincerely,

Amit
Aarora@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Excellent hotel. The staff were wonderful and the hotel was clean and well maintained. I enjoyed the breakfast and the gym. The room was a queen suite and provided the optimal space needed for the boyfriend and I to be alone while the kid was sleeping.

Room Tip: The room was wonderful and on the end towards the emergency exit with a view of the interstate but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Ms. Joanne,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of our property. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your honest review and look forward to hosting you again during your next visit with us.

A warm regards from the entire team at the Hawthorn Suites in Meriden!

Regards,

Amit
Aarora@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, Vermont
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Not enough towels when room was cleaned. Garbage not always emptied when room was cleaned. Space was nice and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

I would like to start off by apologizing for the service, or lack thereof during your stay with us. We're ranked #02 on Tripadvisor due to the fact that we take feedback from our guests and turn that in to actual results by training our staff on how to get things done the right way.

I've talked with the entire team personally to make sure this does not happen again. I hope you will give us another chance next time you're visiting Meriden, CT.

Sincerely,

Amit Arora
Aarora@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Very nice place to stay. Clean, large rooms. Ours had a huge bathroom, bedroom, living room, kitchen, office area, etc. Just like home but better. 2 flat screen TV s too. The best part about this hotel is the staff. Never met a group that loved their jobs so much! So nice and helpful. The lady that prepares breakfast spotted someone take a handful of bacon with his dirty hands instead of using the tongs so she dumped the whole tray and made fresh! My kind of germaphobe!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
Dear JosieQ87,

Thank you so much for your rave review of the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham in Meriden, CT. I hope you also got to enjoy our delicious supper nights during your stay with us. I'm happy to read that Noemi did the right thing and dumped the rest of the bacon out. We make sure that all of our food handlers have the proper certification to avoid any possible contamination or mishandling of food.

We look forward to hosting you again during your next trip to Meriden, CT!

Warm regards,

Amit Arora
Aarora@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Booked a handicap accessible suite in August. Added a day earlier arrival on December 16th - was told there was no problem. Upon arrival on the 20th, was told there was no handicap accessible suites available, nor would one be until after the first o fthe year. No adjustments were/have been made, no offer of a separate handicap accessible room for bathroom (shower) access.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
Dear Jack & Leita,

I want to start off by apologizing for your recent experience at our hotel. I understand that you had to change your arrival date with us. When we send out email confirmations confirming your room type it is usually for the arrival of that day. We do try to accommodate last minute changes but sometimes we don't have enough room types to accommodate that.

I'm sorry we failed to meet your expectations! I hope you will give us another chance during your next visit to Meriden, CT.

Sincerely,

Amit Arora
Aarora@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden

Address: 1151 East Main Street, Meriden, CT 06450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of home at our recently renovated Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden pet-friendly hotel, located off Interstate 91, in the center of the business districts of Meriden, Wallingford and Cromwell. Our Meriden, CT hotel is the best choice for extended stay travelers with convenient amenities like free Wi-Fi Internet access, fully-equipped kitchens and over-sized executive desks in every suite. We're pleased to offer our guests deluxe, newly renovated accommodations for a relaxing business trip or visit to the Hartford, CT region, as well as host three Manager Receptions every week. Break a sweat in our fitness center or enjoy free hot breakfast in our renovated breakfast room daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Meriden Hotel Meriden
Candlewood Meriden
Meriden Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.