We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel on my North East trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden

Save Saved
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1151 East Main Street, Meriden, CT 06450 (Formerly Candlewood Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Meriden
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Hotel on my North East trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was very clean and nice. Under $100 for a place this nice is a steal. Had business in Hartford but didn't want to pay Hartford prices. I can't say enough great things about this place. It felt safe, the free parking, internet and breakfast were great!! Go eat dinner at Lidos right around the corner for great Italian food!! Will stay here again and again when I'm in the area!! Never stayed at Hawthorne suites before so it was a great discovery!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Dante,

This is nothing better on a Friday as we get ready for the weekend to kick it off with a great review like yours. Seeing that you're a senior contributor adds that extra cherry on top as we were able to get a 5 star review from you. Thank you so much for that! You're correct about Lido's too, they have really good food. I love their pizzas. Our staff will be able to assist you with some great local suggestions for things to do and places to eat at next time you're in town. I'll be sure to share this with my team and remind them to keep providing that great service that has brought us on the top of every travelers list.

Sincerely,

Amit Arora
Aarora@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    73
    41
    16
    16
See reviews for
74
30
20
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was pleased to discover that this hotel that i enjoyed staying at for business was centrally located to most of the accounts that I had in the area. The rooms are spacious and comfortable.with an ice maker in the fridge. Hot breakfast with a decent variety is a plus.The staff is helpful and go the extra mile to ensure your comfort. 3 major highways are nearby. a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Reginald,

I would like to start off by thanking you for your continuous use of our hotel. It's always a pleasure getting reviews from our repeat guests. Thank you again for the glowing review and we're looking forward to welcoming you during your next trip to Meriden.

Warmest regards,

Amit Arora
Aarora@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel for work and pleasure. This was mixed trip with the family. This place fit the bill. The staff is excellent. Specifically, Dominique (who worked in the breakfast area) We had a minor incident on the first trip. General Manager took care of it immediately. Dominique went over and above. Those are the little things that make customer service. Tanya was also great on the overnight shift.
Room- clean. Could use a tiny bit of maintenance in restrooms. Overall had everything we needed.
Hotel- had some renovations. Understand they are changing the carpet which will work wonders. The management has a little "get to know the quest" events on Wednesday...very charming. Gives a intimate "bed and breakfast" feel to this large chain.

We have already been back twice on this trip and will make this a stop over anytime we are travelling up the 91@ exit 16.

Room Tip: Rooms are Queen (suites) fold out beds. Make sure you ask for sheets for the fold out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Buddieb,

What a great review you wrote for us. I'm happy to see the staff names being mentioned as I'm sure they'll be equally excited to read this review as well. I'm glad you got to join us for the Weekly manager's reception. We look forward to those fun evenings where we get to interact with our guests and learn a little bit more about them. Be sure to drop in and say hi to your extended family next time you're passing by Meriden! Breakfast is on us.

Warm regards,

Amit Arora
Aarora@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very pleased with the quality of the room and the location. We only needed a one night stay. Seems above average for Hawthorn, probably because it used to be Candlewood. We will stay again if we are near the area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear TraveLarry55354,

Thank you so much for your kind words and great review. Getting stellar reviews from seasoned travelers such as yours is confirmation for us that we're doing it right! The entire team at the Hawthorn Suites will be eagerly awaiting your return next time you're in the Meriden area.

Yours truly,

Team Hawthorn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden

Address: 1151 East Main Street, Meriden, CT 06450 (Formerly Candlewood Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection.The Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden is located in the business district of Meriden-Wallingford-Cromwell. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Earn Priority Club points for each qualifying stay. Relax in the new overstuffed leather recliner while you enjoy the CD player and DVD/VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We offer complimentary use of our washers and dryers in our on-site laundry facilities. We are a pet friendly hotel, pets allowed with a non refundable fee based on length of stay. Ideal for relocation conveniently located off Interstate 91, we are in proximity of great attractions such as Lake Compounce Theme Park, Bradley International Airport, Oakdale Theatre, Mohegan Sun Casino, Foxwoods Casino and Yale University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Meriden Hotel Meriden
Candlewood Meriden
Meriden Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.