We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1151 East Main Street, Meriden, CT 06450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Meriden
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    95
    49
    22
    19
See reviews for
102
44
33
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fishkill, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

i was so surprized by the quality of this place, i have stayed at many hotels but the beds and pillows were the best i ever used so much so i had to buy them for my home .... the hotel is clean very updated and a great management and staff, it dose not matter if its rated 2 stars or 4 this is a 5 star place with a great location, thanks for making my weekend there a pleasure
elliott

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Elliot,

Thank you for your recent review about your stay at the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham in Meriden, CT. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We're now fully renovated with all new amenities and features. From our guest rooms to public areas everything is fresh and new. We look forward to hosting you again during your next stay with us.

Regards,
Amit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The room lighting, including the bathroom is quite inadequate and uncomfortable to use. No table or floor lamps. Wall lamps are positioned poorly. The lamps on only one side of bed and difficult to reach to turn light on & off. Wall lamps near table give insufficient lighting. Bathroom lighting primarily comes from behind mirror and is inadequate. The room was nice and clean, bed comfortable, but temp controls unit difficult & awkward to use. I had an adequate breakfast Sat morning but on Sun. morning, early, at 7am, orange juice was not available and only one type of muffin was available. Staff stated that it was not possible to get to where they were stored because of the renovations going on in the hotel. In general, fairly disappointed and not at all what I was led to expect when I made my reservation via the on-line ad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa B, Operations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback we get because it helps us know what the guests wants and needs. I am sorry that you did not find the lighting and breakfast to fit your expectations. The lighting is designed to give ample lighting but keep the room inviting and comfortable. And you are correct that we experienced a problem with the breakfast on Sunday morning. Due to the carpet being replaced on the first floor our contractors mistakenly put our vending machines in front of our storage room and were unable to move it until the work was complete. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but I hope you will come back to try out our new hot breakfast we will be starting very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I didn't know that the hotel was under construction when I booked. The lobby is in a hotel room and the entire first floor was torn up or dust covered. The room I stayed in appeared to be remodeled. Kitchenette. Very efficient room space. One double bed. Clean. OK for short term stay.

Room Tip: Ask if remodeling is complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa B, Operations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, we value all feedback that we get from our guests. We are undergoing renovations on the first floor at this time and trying to keep up with any dust or debri that is left behind so it does not impact our guest. I am glad that you found the room and amenities to be satisfactory. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden

Address: 1151 East Main Street, Meriden, CT 06450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of home at our recently renovated Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden pet-friendly hotel, located off Interstate 91, in the center of the business districts of Meriden, Wallingford and Cromwell. Our Meriden, CT hotel is the best choice for extended stay travelers with convenient amenities like free Wi-Fi Internet access, fully-equipped kitchens and over-sized executive desks in every suite. We're pleased to offer our guests deluxe, newly renovated accommodations for a relaxing business trip or visit to the Hartford, CT region, as well as host three Manager Receptions every week. Break a sweat in our fitness center or enjoy free hot breakfast in our renovated breakfast room daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Meriden Hotel Meriden
Candlewood Meriden
Meriden Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.