We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hell At The Holiday Inn” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2104 N. Broad Street, Meriden, CT 06450   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Meriden
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Hell At The Holiday Inn”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We thought we were going to be happy at the Holiday Inn in Meriden but it just did not happen that way. Our check in was smooth which was great after being on the road for 9 hours during the rain storm.

We proceeded to our suite to find the room to be satisfactory very roomy. We got the kids in bed because it was around 4:30am when we arrived at the Holiday Inn. We slept well no disturbance was to be found
(not until Friday night in which we would surprisingly find out)

We left the hotel later that morning to spend time with family and friends. We returned later in the day after 4pm to find our room with beds not made. There was no housekeeping service to be found which led me to make my own bed for two days while we look at our dirty towels to be picked up after Thanksgiving Day.

Front Desk was called but stated no MOD on duty, no way to reach her stated the front desk clerk. I asked for customer service # the Front Desk clerk put me on hold while she magically was able to locate the MOD after my request of customer service for Holiday Inn. Their explanation why service was missed was due to our checking in at 4am on Wednesday morning the day before Thanksgiving. Service was deemed not needed in their system told to us by MOD. I will leave that there!. Who are they to tell us when we will get service and not especially when it comes to cleaning the bathroom, making the beds, emptying the trash. They wanted to move us to another room a clean room what an inconvenience to ask me to pack up everything with our two kids and move to another room that was clean because they had no one to clean our room as well as reduce our rate by $20 a night.

Long story short, we stayed in the room took the $20 reduction but paid for it on Friday night when our neighbors from the room next to us decided to have a party with their friends. Smoke coming into our room while our two children slept and music pounding thur wall. Called the Front Desk, complained multiple times nothing was done.

We were done. We packed our bags this morning at 3:30am and we left that Hotel from Hell, excuse my language. There is no excuse for Poor staff, and poor mgt.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Kimberly S,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    35
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
44
11
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We found the hotel to be centrally located. The front desk staff were very friendly.

The breakfast area was clean and bright. The food was the generic industrial breakfast. The coffee was pretty good and there was some fresh fruit. The staff worked hard to make sure all of the stations were well stocked.

The mattress was not good. The bathroom fan was loud and quite dusty.

Wifi / internet connection was good.

Overall - ok. good value. Good staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

What more do want for a cheap stay? Big rooms, seemingly newer. No hassles at all. Bathroom fan is loud and automatic with the light, so you can't hear yourself shave when the light is on, but minor. Location is easy to find and continue on your destination. Sort of a strange strip of highway with lots of dingy hotels nearby. Don't know why there is so many, but Holiday Inn is a beacon in the drab scene.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 nights on business in late september. The hotel is very clean, rooms also very clean. Breakfast is great. I just have a couple of comments.
Firstly there is no fridge in the room and the plug in the bath is the worst i have come across in a hotel, there's no chance of a soak after work.
Would i stay again.......absolutely YES

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXMeriden, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to thank the time to thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Meriden. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and most of all for choosing our hotel for your stay while in Meriden. We hope to have you back with us again.

Thank you once again from the staff & management here at the Holiday Inn Express Meriden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while visiting friends in Middletown, CT. The room was nicely appointed and comfortable. However, when we returned from our outing on the evening of the third day (with housekeeping staff already gone), we discovered that the room had not been cleaned/tidied up that day. The desk clerk had no authority to do anything more than a possible 10% discount for that one night and give me a clean set of towels, with some soap and shampoo. I was told to speak to the desk manager the next morning. Next morning at checkout, I was told that said manager had not yet arrived (this was around 10 a.m.) and that nothing could be done without a person of authority. During the conversation, the desk manager arrived. Upon hearing of the problem, she allowed a 50% refund of the night's stay. I see that Holiday Inn does not have the policy of Hilton Brand hotels, where they refund the entire night's stay for any lack of satisfaction. This is an incentive for me to continue to stay at Hilton Hotels. In addition, the breakfast was just adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Patricia N,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the housekeeping service. Though this matter has been resolved in a timely manner, I regret this has negatively impacted your stay with us. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We needed a place to stay as a half-way point on our long drive from PA to Acadia National Park in ME. We chose Holiday Inn Express and it was a good one. The room was clean and everything relatively new. Just one slight downside - the fan in the bathroom was rather loud and really didn't clear the moisture from the mirror when you showered. All of the staff at the hotel were very friendly. The continental breakfast was a great one with both hot and cold items. Yes, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXMeriden, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear valued guest,

I want to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Meriden for your recent stay. I also want to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate and welcome all feedback as this helps us maintain a great job and utilize this information to improve our performance.

Hope to have you with us again!!!

Warm regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Needed a property to stay relatively close to the Whitney Center in Hamden, CT. We found this hotel in need of updating / upgrading everything.
Room was clean, but nothing had been done for maintenance in many years. Most of the rooms were designated as for smoking. The Oder of stale smoke permeated the entire complex.

Would I come back? No there are other locations more update than early 1980's decor.

Front Desk personnel were friendly and courteous!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXMeriden, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear valued guest,

I want to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Meriden for your recent stay. I also want to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate and welcome all feedback as this helps us maintain a great job and utilize this information to improve our performance. Hope we have you with us again and thank you once again for choosing us.

War regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden

Address: 2104 N. Broad Street, Meriden, CT 06450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand-new Holiday Inn Express conveniently located off I-91 and Route 15 in central Connecticut. Our richly appointed spacious state-of-the-art guest suites offer free Wi-Fi, wet bar with microwave and mini-fridge. The separate living area makes our suites perfect for business travelers, families, or long term assignments. Brand new 32 digital flat screen TVs are just another special touch sure to make your stay enjoyable. If traveling on business our hotel is a short drive to numerous businesses like Northeast Utilities, Aetna, Hartford Convention Center, Bristol Meyers Squibb, and other business parks on Research Parkway In Wallingford. Bradley International, Brainard, and Tweed Airports are also close by. We are situated near Wesleyan and convenient to many prestigious schools and colleges including Yale, Rosemary Choate Hall, Wesleyan, Quninnipiac and Central Connecticut State University to name a few. Leisure travelers have numerous and varied attractions to enjoy. You can catch a live concert at the Chevrolet Theatre, take a roller coaster ride at Lake Compounce, enjoy Broadway style performances at The Bushnell, see where Mark Twain lived and stroll around the botanical gardens of Hubbard park. Nearby shopping malls include Westfarms and Westfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Meriden
Holiday Inn Express Meriden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.