We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, comfortable room that you won't spend much time in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Fox Tower to your Saves list
The Fox Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Norwich-Westerly Road, Mashantucket, CT 06338 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Beverly, MA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Modern, comfortable room that you won't spend much time in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The rooms were very nicely appointed and the bed was super comfortable. It's that type of bed that you stay in right up until 20 min. til checkout time. The bathroom is nice, though they could use a few more hooks for towels, clothing... but otherwise very luxurious feel. I stayed on the 14th floor Saturday to Sunday while attending a bachelor party. It was a great place to crash after a night of dinner, bar-hopping, and a comedy show. Don't like that they charge for wifi after, I think, one free day. They make enough money at Foxwoods that they should give this to their guests for free like most others.

Room Tip: You want an even numbered room in order to have the better of the views available. HIgher up the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    297
    115
    71
    66
See reviews for
127
463
35
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I were going to a concert last Saturday Night at the Foxwoods MGM Casino Theater so we decided to stay on the grounds at Foxwoods and got a room discount since we were attending the show.

We had a spotless room on the 29th floor that was so quiet you would never know you were atop a casino and in a hotel full of bachelor and bachelorette parties.

Valet Service and Check-In / Check Out were smooth and trouble-free. Would stay again (although not at $450 per night).

Room Tip: Go for the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I took my girlfriend to the Fox Tower for our 3 year anniversary and honestly had the best time in months. We are semi-regulars to the casino so we knew what to expect. Since we live relatively close by, I never spend the night unless I am there on business, so this is the first time I have really spent for pleasure.

Do to the fact I had made a last minute reservation and I was trying to do some extra things for our anniversary, I contacted management to make some custom arrangements. I got a response immediately and was helped even BEYOND what I had asked for. The staff from regular employees to concierge to management to the spa employees... EVERYONE... was FANTASTIC.

Thank you guys for helping make my anniversary the best one yet!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

this is hardly the hotel you are looking for if the review says 4 diamond AAA...not much going on in the MGM grand either, although i love Juniors......The rooms were dusty, and our room still had food crumbs on the furniture.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory M, Front Office Manager at The Fox Tower, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Good afternoon franktheturtle! Thank you for taking time to post your feedback. Please accept my apology for the condition you found your room in. I will address your concerns directly with the Housekeeping Management team. If at anytime you find your room unsatisfactory there is someone here around the clock to assist you or we can move you to another room. If I can be of further assistance please contact me directly and I will be happy to assist.

Cory Merriman
Front Office Manager
The Fox Tower
(860)312-8759
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and kids planned a trip to the Casino and we usually stay at the Great Cedar or the Grand Pequot Hotels but they did not have a Suite available for 2 nights in a row so the first night we had to stay at the newly named Fox Tower. We stayed in a Producers Suite on the 25th floor. It is an open floor plan meaning the bedroom and living room are connected so you have no privacy when you go to bed. If the kids want to stay up while you want to go to bed you are basically forced to stay up also....this was out first and last time staying at the Fox Tower. We will continue to stay at our normal suites at the Great Cedar or the Grand Pequot which we stay at normally once a month. I do have to say the quality of the room was nice but there definitely needs to be some type of divider between the bedroom and the living room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory M, Front Office Manager at The Fox Tower, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Good afternoon country860! I`m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in our Producers Suite. I hope this doesn`t deter you from staying with us again as we do have Suites to fit your request. Our Directors Suites are set up with a dividing wall between the bedroom and living room and would be perfect for your family visit. If I can be of assistance with any of your future reservations please don`t hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you for taking time to post your feedback.

Cory Merriman
Front Office Manager
The Fox Tower
(860)312-8759
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Check in was a breeze and the staff let us check in early!! Thebes was so soft and the room was very comfy! Lived the bathroom! The pool was beautiful! The water was so warm and clean! Go early to secure a chair!!! Overall a great stay!! The only thing to keep in mind is it is a little further away from the main part of the casino!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked two rooms for the purpose of attending a wedding, reception being held at The Lake of Isles. They were suppose to be adjoining and on a non-smoking floor (the Brides family saved severely rooms for this event) Upon arrival not only were the rooms not together but my children had the unfortunate experience of being placed in a smelly smoking room. It was awful and the purpose of securing a reservation well in advance is to make sure something like this doesn't happen the person checking us is was of no assistance and all managers were unavailable(we were already delayed for the reception because of this incident. One of my children left and drove home that evening due to the odor. I was very disappointed and although the wedding was beautiful this put a big damper on our evening.

Room Tip: whats the point of a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory M, Front Office Manager at The Fox Tower, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Good afternoon Meg M! Thank you for taking time to post your feedback. I would first like to apologize for the unfortunate situation you were put in. when booking a reservation please know that your room type preference is request not a guarentee. We do our best to get everyone into their preferred room type. In the future I would suggest booking online and looking into our EStandby options. They offer some options that might assist you in avoiding this uncomfortable situation. If I can be of assistance with any of your future reservations please don`t hesitate to contact me.

Cory Merriman
Front Office Manager
The Fox Tower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fox Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Tower

Address: 29 Norwich-Westerly Road, Mashantucket, CT 06338 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 826
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fox Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Hotel Mashantucket
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Mashantucket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.