We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for restaurants and entertainment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox Tower

Save Saved
You added The Fox Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fox Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Norwich-Westerly Road, Mashantucket, CT 06338 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Mashantucket
Connecticut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good choice for restaurants and entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed at the MGM Grand once again and as usual had a great time. The rooms are clean and well decorated. Location is the most convenient for shows at the MGM Grand Theatre and the nightclub Shrine. There is also a good selection of restaurants.

If you are looking to gamble we prefer the Grand Pequot or Rainmaker, especially for table games. Also these casinos are less smoky and noisy. Still for some reason rooms at the MGM tend to be cheaper and the walk is not too long.

However if you are looking for a little more atmosphere combined with a younger crowd then you are in the right place.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better on weekends club can be loud. Gym is free and features a complete set of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    368
    285
    104
    69
    66
See reviews for
118
440
34
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed New Years Day night and the following night for a two day getaway.
MGM Grand is a beautiful property, and the rooms are luxurious. The showers and bathrooms are new, modern, amazing.
Mystic is a quick 10 miles away.
The day spa is $15 on the weekdays. It has a nice lap pool, and sauna.
We tried Shrine. It is really trendy and Vegas-like inside, but it is really overpriced Chinese food.
Overall: the beds are great. It's a really relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I traveled to the Foxwoods area recently for business, and given the rather isolated nature of the area, decided that I would stay at the MGM Grand casino hotel rather than a more traditional business hotel (owing primarily to the fact that there were no such hotels in the area).

First off, I should note, that I am not a gambler, so I cannot comment on the gaming facilities at the MGM or the Foxwoods resort. That being said, the hotel itself is a phenomenal property. Check-in was quick and efficient, and my room very luxurious. The European dry bath was also a very nice touch in the spacious bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and the work spaces well designed for business. All in all, as a business, rather than a gaming or vacation traveler, I found the hotel excellent.

Additionally, the gym/spa facilities are first rate. I’m sure most are used to the hotel gym being three pieces of outdated equipment and a 15 year old television. The MGM’s gym/spa facilities were simply top notch. It was essentially a miniature version of my health club at home. A few dozen pieces of modern cardio equipment, free and machine weights, and towels and water bottles at the ready throughout the facility. I got a great and refreshing workout here on three occasions during my three day stay. Additionally, the indoor pool/spa area was quiet and restful.

Finally, my interactions with the staff were limited, but I can especially call note to the MGM’s concierge. The only drawback I found of the MGM were the limited hours of the business center. After arrival my assistant emailed me a crucial document that I wanted to have printed out, rather than only accessible on my laptop. While the business center was closed at what I thought was an early hour (although remembering this is not a hotel that caters to business), the concierge immediately offered to print the document and destroy the file. It’s a simple gesture, but one I appreciated.

In the off chance I find myself in this remote part of Connecticut again, I would definitely repeat my stay at the MGM.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great place to stay and if you gamble enough comps will cover the rooms.Great venue to gamble and the restaurants are real ggod especially Juniors which give large portions at reasonable prices.During the summer the kids love the pool which is real cool and also they go too the arcade over at peoquet which they love to go to Fudruckers for burgers and dogzilla(great chili dog about $ 6.00) and you have a hard time finishing it.Concerts all the time with top billings so we give MGM 5 stars.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on forest side the Hawk shows are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you live in New England , and you're looking for a place to get away for a few days, this is it.
Nice assortment of restaurants from Dunkin Donuts, fast food, family dining, fine dining or just deserts
They have nice large clean rooms and suites, in 4 hotels.
Both indoor and outdoor pools.
Any type of gaming you desire, including a huge bingo hall.
A game room and theater for kids.
Plenty of night life.
If you should get bored??? you can take a trip to Mystic or check out Mohegan Sun (just as nice).

Room Tip: If you're younger, try the MGM. If you're older, try Grand Pequiot. The are interconnected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My fiancee & I stayed at the MGM to celebrate our engagement, upon returning from a few weeks in Hawaii. The property is beautiful and well-maintained, the rooms are spacious & the restaurants are fantastic. Susan, the chief concierge, made our stay a very special one, and we will absolutely be back within the next few months.

I highly recommend MGM!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

How exciting to have a Foxwoods deal offer for Christmas night, 125.00 plus tax and includes 50.00 in food credit. Score!

I headed down early with hopes on time to enjoy the spa, and arrived to a bustling lobby. It was nicely decorated for the holidays, and almost every check-in counter had an agent so lines moved quickly. I was greeted with a smile from an agent in a Santa Hat who promptly said 'Merry Christmas'. Check-in was quick and I was advised they had been sold out last night, and rooms were still being turned. It was about 10am, so I certainly understood that. She took my number, suggested dropping bags off at the desk, and I told her I planned on just hanging by the pool for a while. At about 1pm, the spa attendant came to advise me my room was ready. He said just leave stuff here if you like and come back, great idea!

Went down, lines were short, quickly checked in and bags from the bellman in under a minute. The room was perfect. Immaculate, large and the mountain view. It had just had a fresh dusting of light snow. Bak to enjoy the amazing spa, shower in the waterfall one and to the casino.

I have been here many times and stayed twice. Weekend prices are usually high, but for this or a quick weekday getaway kudos to everyone there for making the holidays Merry! Great service and great rooms, Santa couldn't gave brought anymore.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fox Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Tower

Address: 29 Norwich-Westerly Road, Mashantucket, CT 06338 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox Tower 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Fox Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Hotel Mashantucket
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Mashantucket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.