We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing birthday for my mother!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox Tower

Save Saved
You added The Fox Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fox Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Norwich-Westerly Road, Mashantucket, CT 06338 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Mashantucket
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing birthday for my mother!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at the MGM the weekend of DEC 7-9 with my family for my mom's 60th birthday party. We wanted to make it special and thought Foxwoods would be a perfect place to celebrate! I was hoping to get an upgrade on our room to make it special for my mom, so I wrote to them explaining that it was her 60th birthday. Right away I got a response and they were able to upgrade us to a beautiful suite with a separate sleeping area and living room. I got in contact with Susan A. Evarts who seems to do all the planning for these type of things. Susan was amazing, she responded quickly to all my emails, and went out of her way to make this trip truly wonderful. She beautifully decorated the room, with a welcome birthday sign, window decorating, and even flower petals on the over-sized king size bed. I could tell that making us happy was her number one priority. She also can help with dinner reservations, suggestions, shows, activities, etc. After our most recent stay I would recommend this hotel to anybody, and advise you to contact Susan if you want someone to make your experience one to remember. I plan on coming back sometime in the near future for another big anniversary, birthday, or event. 5 stars!!

Room Tip: Suites are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefCon1, Chef Concierge at The Fox Tower, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, Ms.P I am very proud to be a part of a team that is committed to exceeding our guest's expectations. We are thrilled to have worked with you to make your mom's 60th birthday "GRAND". I look forward to the opportunity to have you and your family return to MGM and Foxwoods in the near future.

In the Spirit of Hospitality~
Susan Evarts
Chef Concierge
MGM Grand at Foxwoods
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    285
    103
    69
    66
See reviews for
116
438
34
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The rooms at the MGM Foxwood casino are large and comfortable. The bathroom is a standout. A walk in shower and large bathroom with all conveniences make it a lovely place to rest after see a show or gambling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed at the MGM in November. Rooms were very clean and spacious. The rooms are pricey, but definitely worth it. Staff was very accommodating; i would definitely stay here again!
Went to Shrine which is right down stairs for the rooms. It was nice to have a very short walk to our room after a long night of dancing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night and got a great rate! The hotel is modern and bicely appointed. We asked for and received a room on a high floor, (27). The room was small but serviceable. the bathroom was large and the water pressure was great. we had a wonderful view of the forest and the sunset was magnificent.

The casino was smokey but fun and the cocktail service was frequent and pleasant. We even won our $$ back!

The club at Foxwoods had a fun house band, good drinks and a dancing crowd. We stayed out much later than we should have but we had fun!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've now stayed here and down the road at the Mohegan Sun. (Never stayed at the 'original' Foxwoods or any of the other properties.) MGM rooms were roughly equivalent to Mohegan Sun, and more expensive. Where they win out, however, was the hotel seems better run. For instance, we had a reservation for 3 rooms and they were easily able to give us 3 rooms right next to each other. Had an ordeal down the road a few months back trying to achieve the identical thing. Maybe it was a slow week-end, who knows...?

Crowd here was also somewhat more well-heeled than down the road (which actually made the casino LESS fun IMHO.) Dining choices are OK, but also more limited here. There are 3 steakhouses on the property, but not ONE seafood place. They must realize this, and it's something they should fix.

The biggest drawback is one of the rooms reeked badly of smoke. The other 2 were fine. (I thought they had great sprays/technologies to deodorize rooms these days...definitely not the case here...)

Is it worth the premium price? Probably only if you plan on getting drunk (which is a valid enough reason.) Otherwise there are plenty of good options (national chains, etc.) 10-15 minutes away.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room with a view of the woods. Otherwise, you'll have a view of the roof of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, CT
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

So it was our second stay here to attend a concert. Valet parking available but if you choose the self parking option (park at the opposite end that you came in to use the stairs that drop you to the immediate front desk area, as the elevators are at the opposite end, but drop you into a corridor that empty's to the casino and shops making you walk that much further to get to the front desk). In the grand lobby you'll find the concierge, bellman and front desk. The line appears long for check-in, but moves quickly. We were given a room on the 22nd floor, facing west (even side). This appears to be the better view, as it overlooks the rolling hills and forests/reservation. The east side (odd rooms) face the roofs, parking garage and route 2. The room reserved was a king bed (which we look forward to as it is very comfortable) with a moderate sized flat screen tv (with excellent channel selection with pay channel options). A desk and upright chair was nearby. A keypad combo lock is installed in a nightstand drawer. HVAC is easy to use and set. The bathroom is inviting with a large sliding barn style door separating the bathroom from the rest of the room. Well lit mirrored sink area and large tiled shower with fancy glass door. A toilet nearby with a telephone, but no door or even a pocket door separating the toilet from the rest of the bathroom. Room service available. A hairdryer is offered.

There aren't many choices for dining on the ground floor of the MGM Grand, as you'd have to walk over to the Grand Pequot Tower or Great Cedar area for more choices for any meal.

In the warmer months, MGM Grand does have a nice outdoor pool (see other reviews), but this being the winter months, our only choice was the indoor pool located on the 3rd floor in the spa (as told to by Maria when I phoned the resort). The pool/spa is open from 630 AM to 1000 PM, but as I attempted to use the pool in the morning, I was told by the Spa staff at their desk that I need to provide a photo ID & $25 for spa usage. Now this didn't include any spa services (massage, pedicure), just what ever is on the Spa floor, what a crock. Don't intend on staying here with your family in the winter months hoping for a little get away with indoor pool usage. Maybe try the Grand Pequot for their indoor pool on the rooftop level that was free the last time we stayed there.

Room Tip: The higher always the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My cousin and I went for the weekend. There were a few good restaruants and the spa was decent. However, we don't smoke and therefore spent very little time in the casinos.
The hotel was very clean and the employees very friendly. The rooms were nicely sized.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fox Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Tower

Address: 29 Norwich-Westerly Road, Mashantucket, CT 06338 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox Tower 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Fox Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Hotel Mashantucket
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Mashantucket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.