We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anniversary gone bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Fox Tower to your Saves list
The Fox Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Norwich-Westerly Road, Mashantucket, CT 06338 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
North Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“anniversary gone bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

10/16/2012
Me and my wife went there over night for our anniversary and stayed in a suite ,the room seemed clean enough till i really looked the jacuzzi had hairs and scum in it and some mold around the outside wall ,they put out a robe at night when i opened it it had a brown stain in it where there shouldn't be one also we pulled down the sheets to get inot bed and there was a stain on them and black lint underneath,also in the living room area didn't look like they vaccumed dirt on the floor to not ruin our anniversary i did not complain at that time sent a message when i got home not looking for anything in return but an appology over a week later no reply spending a night in a suite at mgm and eating drinking and gambling for two days is not cheap and to just cast aside a problem is bad business especially with new casino's beeing put up in mass. and ri.Next time i will go to mohegan and stay friends say its a better experience over all so thak you for nothing foxwoods

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    297
    115
    71
    66
See reviews for
127
463
35
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Revere, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel since it opened and have always been treated well by staff,in my dozens of stays here.The Hotel and Casino have Vegas styling and class,access to Foxwoods is a short trip by foot or shuttle. The M.G.M Theater is an almost incomparable venue ,comfort, sightlines,and acoustics are fantastic ,perfect size 4k for any event,every seat is a good one .I always look forward to returning. You will be pleased.

Room Tip: Poolside upper floors for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at MGM Foxwoods on a Sunday night back in September. Overall it was a great experience. The room was large, clean and beautiful, the beds were SO comfy, everyone was really helpful and there are a ton of food options. We ate at The Scorpion bar for dinner (amazing! The waitress was one of the best I've ever had and the food was out of this world) and we had Junior's for breakfast the next morning (pretty good, nothing spectacular).

My only complaint would be about the blackjack dealers. Although we had a couple of really great ones, there were 2 male dealers that made my friend and I pretty uncomfortable. It started out joking and laughing but then they said a few things that crossed the line. I understand they need to flirt and banter with the guests to keep them at the tables and having a good time but saying inappropriate things isn't necessary. For that reason alone I gave the hotel a 3 rating rather than a 5.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed at the MGM Grand at Foxwoods with my family (wife and 2 kids) while on the way to a football game in foxboro. On the positive side, the hotel is large and reasonably clean. There are a large number of restaurants and stores in the lobby and in the nearby foxwoods resort that are easy to get to (less than a 10 min walk). On the negative side, there is a faint smell of smoke near the casino and in the hotel lobby. The service is also mixed with large lines for checking or to speak with someone. We stayed in a directors suite. It was OK, but was the smallest suite that I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wattsburg
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Foxwoods Grand Pequot Tower that is within the massive Foxwoods resort. The room/accomadations were Very Nice! The staff and employees very helpful and pleasant. Lots to see and do while staying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Love the hotel, the room was very clean and modern, a little small but still great, the only down side was the view, but a great experience in general. I have a marvelous time at The Shrine restaurant/Night club, a little pricey but you get what you pay for... quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The rooms at the MGM are very clean and modern. Not huge, but not small either. Plenty of places to eat & drink at the MGM and foxwoods in general. Free parking. Room service was very fast and food was great.

LONG line when checking in!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fox Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Tower

Address: 29 Norwich-Westerly Road, Mashantucket, CT 06338 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 826
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fox Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Hotel Mashantucket
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Mashantucket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.