We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not so nice slots!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox Tower

Save Saved
You added The Fox Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fox Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Norwich-Westerly Road, Mashantucket, CT 06338 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Mashantucket
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not so nice slots!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

There were four of us who do an overnight each summer at the Connecticut casinos. This year we we sleected the MGM Grand because of its outdoor pool. The hotel was very nice. we had two rooms, one on either side of the hoyel overlooking the entrance and the pool area. Both were newly appointed with high quality beds and bedding. The bathroom was large and had a double shower. The rate was decent and the overnight was fun.

The casino was small and there were few table games and too many penny slot machines. The machines were not kind!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    290
    110
    70
    66
See reviews for
120
448
34
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Back in 2009 I had some problems getting my charges/bill corrected. I have since stay at MGM Grand multiple time over the last two years and I have been very happy to report complete statisfaction. The rooms are clean and classy, the front desk staff is wonderful and very helpful and the check out and accuracy of charges and billing has been problem free. So, I would highly recommend staying here if you choose Foxwooods Casino as a destination.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband & I stayed at the MGM Grand at Foxwoods for our anniversary. We normally go to Las Vegas, but couldn't make it this year. But this hotel actually felt like we were in Vegas!!

We were pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel is. Check-in line was a bit long; I was suprised to see so many people checking in. The casino had a good atmosphere to it and the room was sooo nice! I loved the bathroom. The shower was awesome. I want a shower like that at home! The room was very clean and very modern with a flat screen tv. Don't even look at the mini bar or else you have to pay for it. The bed was comfy. Although, the walls are thin because our neighbors came in around 2 a.m. and continued to party in their room... > : (

The pool was pretty nice too. A little small, but nice and lots of chairs. Bar service wasn't too great... my husb had to go get our drinks himself. They should've had music playing too; and no one checked to see if we were hotel guests either. Not sure if just anyone can use the pool???

I thought the cost was kinda high though. We didn't have enough points so we got the AAA rate. This room cost me more than 3 nights at the Mirage in Vegas this past May, but it was our anniversary so why not!! Luckily, I won enough money on slots to pay the cost of the room, so I broke even there! There is also the resort fee tacked on.

I would definately stay here again though. It was a nice get away!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My Maid of Honor booked a non-smoking room at MGM for my Bachelorette party. When we arrived at the hotel, the valet line was backed up and once inside the check-in line was wrapped arount the lobby and it took us forever to get to the counter. Once at the counter, we were informed that there were no more non-smoking rooms left and that we would be placed in a smoking room. Seeing as non of us smoke and one of the girls has bad allergies, we were very disappointed. After a few minutes in the room, the phone rings from the front desk to tell us they now have a non-smoking room available, we already had a bell man at our door with our bags, so he said he'd go down and get us our new keys and be back to help us move. We had already started getting ready for the night, so while the bell man was away, we repacked our things. When he returned, he informed us that there actually are no non-smoking rooms available and it was a miscommunication. Right after he finished telling us this, the front desk calls us again saying they have a non-smoking room available. At this point we have already wasted a lot of time waiting around (almost 2 hours!) and are late for our dinner reservations, and also not too confident there is actually a room available... It was not a great start to the night (not to mention Scorpion Bar had lost our reservations, which is a whole other story...). We had originally planned on having my bachelorette at Mohegan (since I've stayed there before and enjoyed it), but chose MGM since they gave us a better deal on a hotel room; we regret the decision and do not plan on returning to MGM.

Room Tip: Confirm your reservation with a Manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The place is a little confusing upon arrival; even my GPS was confused - but the signage is pretty good. Free valet parking as a hotel guest of the MGM was great - not a usual perk at a casino. Check in was easy. Rates are pretty high on the weekends, but Fridays are much cheaper than Saturdays. I did get a room upgrade and the room was Vegas-caliber.
Although the casino complex has been added onto several times and is a labryrinth you could get lost in, the MGM portion is self-contained and there is no real reason to leave. The casino in the MGM has everything you need (smoking and non, and high limits, with all the games). My complaint about the casino is that smoking and non-smoking tables are added at the gamblers discretion, not by section; so you may be sitting right next to two smoking tables. Not great. They could easily remedy this, but seem to have no desire to. Also, the staff seems quite displeased to be MGM employees and are vocal about this. NOT my problem, and I got tired of hearing it. Hey MGM, treat these folks better! Also, table limits are never low, even in the morning - considering I'm in Connecticut, that seems a bit off. I've found better deals in Vegas. But the club card perks come quicker, so there is a trade-off.
The food in the restaurants I ate in was appropriately priced and good. Juniors for breakfast, $12 for eggs and all; Craftsteak for steak and wine, $100. Other options are available - Chinese/sushi and Italian.
One final peeve, no drinks are served until 10am in the casino, so forget about a bloody mary to cure what ails you. And when the drinks are flowing, they are very slow in coming.
Definitely not Vegas; and about all you save on is the airfare.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We booked a block of four rooms and were accommodated on the same floor and in close vicinity of each other.  Our ringleader booked through her casino  host and we were comped for few amenities including poolside cabana. 

First night's  dinner was at Al Dente's and we enjoyed it. Good food not exceptional but nice wine list by the glass and attentive service. After that we had a table reserved and Shrine which is modeled after Tao's. Bottle service with a 20 something crowd. Girls dress in skin tight mini's and stiletto's. Pack accordingly!  The next night we went to the Scorpion Bar.  The mexican restaurant was funky food and drinks were good white sangria was excellent.  Scorpion brings in a band at around 10:00 and this felt like more of a rock vibe but we left to hit the roullette wheel  The clubs were fun. Mostly on the young side.The lounge in the middle of the casino floor was jamming on Saturday night which was also fun. Btw, the food court grill makes a great bacon egg and cheese on a roll in the morning and was much cheaper than Juniors. 

The room was fairly quit for casino accommodations with all night revelers.  You aren't there for the rest. Bedding was comfy and bathroom was roomy but agree with other posters they should have a door you can shut while you are on the commode. 

The hotel staff were uniformly super friendly willing to help and eager to please.  Very nice atmosphere.  The spa was also up to a pretty high standard.  Massage was good not great. I should have gotten deep tissue because it wasn't rigorous enough for me and in fairness I should have said something but I did not.  I also had a blowout in the salon and they did a decent job but a little too much product to defrizz. Again I should have said something but I didn't.  Nice facilities with an attendant, indoor pool and a quiet terrace overlooking the hotel pool. The outdoor pool was pretty small and sort of blah. They are trying.  The cabanas are not up to opulent Vegas standards but it was very nice to have the shade and reserved space.  Unfortunately there were three bachelorette parties in a row and in the middle cabana they jammed 18 obnoxious "ladies" into space for 10. Everyone else suffered on account. Management should have stepped in but did not until there was a ruckus that got everyone riled up and our server apologizing to us for being inattentive. We were all pretty good sports about it to keep our happy mojo going for the bride. But wasn't really much fun poolside mainly because of the overcrowding.

We had a fun weekend. Good choice for a bachelorette  within driving distance of NYC.  Go with an open mind you might be surprised!        

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

my husband and i took advantage of a one day $59 room rate at the hotel. The room was spacious, clean and quite nice. The most positive aspect was the bedding and the pillows. I can't remember teh last time I was this comfortable in a hotel. Everything was just a cut above and made us feel very comfortasble

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fox Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Tower

Address: 29 Norwich-Westerly Road, Mashantucket, CT 06338 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox Tower 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Fox Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Hotel Mashantucket
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Mashantucket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.