We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest thing to Vegas in CT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Fox Tower to your Saves list
The Fox Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Norwich-Westerly Road, Mashantucket, CT 06338 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Closest thing to Vegas in CT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The MGM Grand at Foxwoods is next door to its sister casinos, but getting from one property to the other without a car can be a bit of a pain. There is a shuttle that runs about every 15 minutes from certain parts of each casino, but Foxwoods does a great job of keeping this a secret so that you'll take the scenic indoor walking route through a variety of shops and restaurants. As a rule, you'll need to budget 20-30 minutes to get from MGM to the main property and back, which makes it a bit of a trek.

It's a shame, too, because the MGM is a huge upgrade in style and comfort upon the regular rooms at Foxwoods. i've stayed there several times, but the last time I splurged for the Director's Suite, which had a huge jacuzzi and great views of the forest and pool. I checked in at 3:30, a half hour before the listed time, and was told that the room wasn't ready, but the hotel took down my number and called me when my room was ready, left my keys at the VIP checkin so that I didn't have to wait on line, and then automatically arranged to send my bags up to my room. They did a great job on something hotels usually turn into a nightmare.

The room itself wasn't a huge upgrade on their standard rooms, but that's because their standard rooms are usually pretty nice to begin with -- it was essentially their standard room with a jacuzzi and a living area that wasn't really all that comfortable, a futon with a footrest. The standard rooms have nicer showers and enough of a living space that it wasn't really a noticeable difference. It's all dark decor, blacks and reds, with some of the entertainment amenities you'd hope for in nicer hotels (iPod docks, HDTV with a surprisingly large number of channels) The resort fee is $10 and included free wi-fi that worked effectively.

The problem is that it's really difficult to justify spending a ton of time in the MGM outside of your room. The casino pit is small, with only a handful of tables to go with a reasonably-sized slot area. It's smaller than any of the individual gambling spaces carved out at Foxwoods, so unless you really want to wait for a particular table, it's probably better to hop over to one of the other casinos. One nice touch was small TVs showing sports in the corner of the blackjack tables.

And the restaurant options aren't really that inspiring; as good as the service was in the hotel area, I've experienced service just as bad while trying to eat at MGM. Junior's is a branch of the Brooklyn cheesecake restaurant; my waiter actually forgot I was eating there before having me flag him down to give me the check. In the cafeteria-style Food Market, I waited literally three minutes for a dude who was grilling endless chickens to ask me what I wanted. (I wanted chicken.) Maybe i'm just forgettable. Even at Craftsteak, the signature steakhouse at MGM from Tom Colicchio, I was disappointed -- after two really nice meals there, I asked for a particular brand of steak sauce with my dinner and didn't get the requested sauce for about 15 minutes, at which point my steak was done. And the cup with the sauce in it had bubbles at the top. Steak sauce doesn't normally have bubbles. C'mon.

The hotel now has its own pool, but it's really not anything exciting -- just a hole in the ground with water without any features or accoutrements. It was heated when I went in the early evening, which was nice, and free bottles of water were available. It's just a really big above-ground pool -- if that's enough to interest you, go ahead. The gym is actually really nice, with TVs hooked up to the expansive in-house cable system in just about every machine, and it's almost always empty. I don't recall there ever being more than three people in the gym at once. The one nuisance is that you can't use the showering facilities here unless you're getting a spa treatment, so after working out and getting gross, you have to get back in the elevator and go shower in your room.

Absolutely, it's worth staying at the MGM versus any of the tired Foxwoods hotels; it's about the same price, but it's a significant upgrade in room quality and style. But when you're outside of your room, expect to spend most of your time in those tired Foxwoods hotel casinos.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    297
    115
    71
    66
See reviews for
127
464
35
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We don't gamble --- booked the MGM Foxwoods for July 4th weekend to relax by the pool at a resort I had heard wonderful things about and was not too far from home. Had no idea until we arrived, that we would not be able to use the pool on Sunday unless we paid a $20 entry fee to hear a DJ and watch hundreds or local 20 year olds get drunk. Its called Liquid Sunday and its every Sunday in July and August. To add insult to injury noone was allowed to use the pool until noon, -- they needed the morning to "set up" (they set up two bars, which took about 15 minutes to do). Pretty sleezy when you're paying $500. /night.
Everything else about this hotel is great !!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Having stayed at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas, I was expecting the MGM Grand at Foxwoods to be over-the-top for Connecticut. I was slightly disappointed. Bottom line: if you like to gamble (NB: free drinks while you're playing on the casino floor) and/or are staying at the hotel to see a performance, you will find this hotel satisfactory.

PROS
- decent getaway from New York City
- spacious, clean rooms
- nice selection of restaurants on-site (although Tom Colicchio's Craft restaurant is definitely overrated)

CONS
- MGM Grand is awkwardly connected to the main Foxwoods site. Seriously, it's a long walk between the two buildings.
- there is not much else to do in the general area. However, if you have a car there is a luxury outlet mall that is a short drive away.
- drinks stop at midnight or 1am -- which is crazy for a casino.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Great place to stay!

Notes: rooms are very nice; are clean and upscale; you can buy a bottle of vodka from the room tray if you need it when they stop serving drinks at 1230am or 130am on weekends (CT law); elevators are fast and efficient; convenient places to eat at all $$ levels from the food court to Juniors to a great Italian restaurant; the outdoor pool was great (note Sundays and evenings are adults only) - they need more shade though (and I am not talking about the cabana rentals available at $600-1,000)

The one negative I have - the casino in this tower of the Foxwoods resort has a limited selection of games relative to the rest of the place (specifically no Let It Ride); this is somewhat annoying that I have to walk the semi-long walk over to the rest of the non-MGM related resort to get a decent selection of games/tables/limits, etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, CT
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Check in is 4 PM, but checking in at 3 PM was no problem, or earlier if available, they'll give it to you. Ask for a room facing the pool area, since you'll overlook the woods, pool and sunsets. Naturally, you have to walk thru the casino to get to the hotel elevators, where kind security checks for room keys to keep the neer-do-wells out. The bathroom is nice and inviting (take a long shower, enjoy the usual complementary shampoos, conditioner, shower gel, mouthwash and hairdryer) but don't dawdle on the toilet, since you have to share it with the rest of the bathroom (why wasn't a pocket door and wall added?). One of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in, with plenty of pillows to chose from. In room safe in the nightstand drawer. Good television channel selection. Watch out for the motion sensitive items in the fridge and atop the fridge which are ridiculously expensive. The outdoor pool was especially attractive this time of year as the weather was sunny and 80, and everyone knew it. Available chairs were hard to come by (like Christmas at the mall parking lot, you watch for people leaving to take their spot). Waitress service is a welcome treat. Cabana's are available for rental at steep rates. As another reviewer wrote, there is a pool charge (on Sundays only), as they have celebrity pool parties to the likes of Rehab at the Hard Rock hotel-Las Vegas. The heated pool wasn't deep, but was inviting and warm making an easy entry. There are two hottubs, and all are open until 9PM. It's a walk to anything away from the MGM side (10 minutes +/-) to the buffett/bingo area. Check out was flawless (check out on the tv). Call ahead for your car instead of waiting downstairs. $7 resort fee for gym, 2 bottles of water, wi-fi & local paper.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view and high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Coming from the New York City area, I thought the trip to Foxwoods would be a good overnight distraction. Outside of significant traffic on the way, up I found the environment a good break from the pressures of the big city. The MGM Grand was excellent in all ways outside of a long line to check in. The bathroom in the room was particular nice. The decor is elegant but understated, very classy. Make sure to use their web calendar which shows the prices for the rooms by day. We found the difference between our Thursday stay and the Friday cost to be more than $200. Although Thursday was probably a bit more sedate, it was crowded enough but gave a lot of extra room to walk and relax through the casino/restaurant areas that are adjoined by four hotels.

Room Tip: Make sure to use their web calendar with rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Recently had a 5 day business conference at the MGM Grand at Foxwoods. I LOVED IT! I am not a casino fan in general BUT...this was more than a casino. The complex had great restaurants, shopping and of course...people watching. The bed was TO DIE FOR...the bathroom was very clean and the shower was A DREAM. Had a blast. I am looking forward to going back for a leisure trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fox Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Tower

Address: 29 Norwich-Westerly Road, Mashantucket, CT 06338 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 826
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fox Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Hotel Mashantucket
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Mashantucket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.