We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“alot of money for what you get!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pequot Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Pequot Tower to your Saves list
Grand Pequot Tower
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rte. 2, Mashantucket, CT 06339   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
morristown, nj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“alot of money for what you get!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

we recently stayed at the Grand Pequot Hotel, there was 4 of us and we had 2 rooms. The rooms were very nice and it was quiet. As far as the house keeping goes, I cant say that it was the cleanest place. We found used soap the in shower, they didnt have any kleenex, all we found was an empty box. I had to shake out the sheets because of human hair I found on the sheets. The tops of the counters in the bathrooms looks like they were wiped with a cloth that had some kind of residue on it, I could write my name on it. Wouldnt spend that kind of money to stay there again!!

Room Tip: check out the room before you stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    110
    41
    15
    11
See reviews for
42
139
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a one bedroom suite on the 19th floor at the end of the hall on a Friday and Saturday night. The room was spacious and clean. If you reserve a suite you automatically check into the VIP office and not the front counter. Water and soda is free in the frig in your room. We have also stayed at the MGM director suite which was much smaller than the suite at the Grand Pequot Tower.

Room Tip: recommend a higher floor 19 or 20 at the end of the hall facing the trees, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I usually stay at the Grand Pequot once per year for a mini-vacation. As usual, when I arrived to check in my room was not ready. So this meant that I had to wander around the property for a hour or so until the front desk telephoned (at least they telephoned--on a previous trip they never did!).

I received a standard room on an upper floor. The room was impeccably clean and well-appointed. The marble bathroom was immaculate. I've always been fortunate to be placed on a quiet floor.

The best part of the hotel is the spa. In recent years it's become very pricey, but that's probably not surprising given the number of high rollers who stay at the property. My massage, sauna time, and gym time were great as always. The spa staff is always exceptionally nice.

The restaurant choices are fine. I usually eat lunch at the Festival Buffet, dinner at a steakhouse, and breakfast at the Veranda. The food and service are so-so with one exception. From time to time I'll grab a sandwich at the Carnegie Deli. I must say that the roasted turkey sandwich is the best that I've ever had!

Finally, I think that the resort does a great job of keeping the nonsmoking areas smoke free.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, CT
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I've been to Foxwoods many times, but this was the first time I stayed in the hotel. The room was spacious, clean and very quiet. Bed was comfy, and the room had a refrig and coffee set up. We went during the week so the rate was much more reasonable than on the weekend. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Unlike other reviews about the Grand Pequot tower, we did not enjoy our stay. We booked two non-smoking rooms, and I requested that they be adjacent. Upon arrival, the only adjacent rooms left were in smoking. Strike 1.

When we got into the first room, it REEKED of smoke. Obviously, a smoking room should smell like cigarettes, but this scent was fresh. Something I would imagine Selma and Patty from the Simpsons would smell like. The second room wasn't as bad, so we had our toddlers stay in that one. Unfortunately, there were cigarette burns everywhere - vandalism burns. "[--] U" burned into the over-sized bureau that housed a tv that could only be watched if sitting directly in front. It stretched out about 3" and tilted about 10*, but was still enclosed in the wooden monstrosity.

Since we had two hours before our dinner reservations, I thought I'd take our kids to the pool. Sorry, no children after 6PM, regardless if there isnt even anyone in the pool! Strike 2.

There are only a few restaurants in the GP tower, one being a bowling alley, an italian place thats not open certain days, and the other a buffet (i think). Theres a steakhouse we didnt go to, but we walked the 10 minutes to Craft Steak which was excellent. This hotel is in the middle of two resorts (two trees and the MGM grand). It's connected directly to the two trees and you'll find places to eat and shop, and there's an arcade for the kids - which closes at 10, but they won't sell any more tokens after 930 - which was a tremendous let down after promising fun-time after walking allll the way back from Craft Steak @ MGM. Strike 3.

We ditched our reservation for the next two nights and headed to Mohegan Sun.

Mohegan, on the other hand is a much nicer hotel, close to all the attractions inside and has a place called Kids Quest, which my kids absolutely loved!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
492 helpful votes 492 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were nice, not as nice MGM but nice. The pool area was lovely except that there were too many unsupervised children running around. It was hard to relax and enjoy the pool. The restaurant choices were excellent. The casino choices were great. We stayed for two days and it flew by.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford,MA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The rooms are large, it is convenient, and we did have a nice view, but it is definitely overpriced. I don't expect a carpet with several stains in a 4-diamond hotel. The complimentary in-room coffee is awful. Again, for what you pay it could be better. They are lucky that there isn't much compitition nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Pequot Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pequot Tower

Address: Rte. 2, Mashantucket, CT 06339
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pequot Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 825
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious hotel at Foxwoods Resort Casino with a health and fitness spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Pequot Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pequot Tower Hotel Mashantucket
Grand Pequot Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pequot Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.